Ratings based on 1,721 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Very nice resort on beach adjacent to golf course

Posted Dec 7, 2016
I stayed here ten days just to relax. While expensive (all of Hawaii is), it delivered what I wanted.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with beach

Posted Dec 4, 2016
TV had to be replaced twice. The front desk people-not all-were rude and not helpful. Golf shop was not accommodating. Smoking chair broke and not replaced. Too much tipping for getting our car since we paid $20 a day for parking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX

Perfect location. One of the best beaches in HI.

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Staff was great! I had a room with an ocean view, and the scenery was breathtaking. I left the patio door open with the screen closed at night to hear the ocean waves all night. The pool was nice too, with a bar and restaurant near to grab a bite and beverage easily. The breakfast buffet was great with a wide range of dishes to choose from. I will most definitely stay at Hapuna again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Decent hotel next to the beach

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Nothing amazing about this hotel except for the staff. It's decent for the price, but don't expect any amazing amenities. I'm not a golfer but the golf course seemed pretty impressive. Be advised your about 45 minutes from Kona, 2 hrs to Hilo, 2.5 hours to the volcano, and about 20 minutes to a grocery store or shopping plaza. If you like seclusion this place woule be good for you. If you like to do things I would suggest something else. You are always having to drive Long distances to do anything. AC wouldn't go below 70 so sleeping was uncomfortable for us every night. We tried opening the slider to let cool air in, but you could hear people working or guests talking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京都

清潔感があり、いいホテルでした。

Posted Nov 30, 2016
素敵なホテルで、プールもプライベートビーチもきれいでしたが、個人旅行でしたので、交通手段がないのに閉口しました。 ネットで予約していきましたが、乗り合いタクシーでも、1人5,000から6,000円かかるのです。 各ホテルを回るシャトルバスがあるといいなと思いました。そこさえ解決すれば、是非また行きたいと思います。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great beach and great staff!!!

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: We especially enjoy the entire staff, but particularly the lifeguards, pool staff, the servers at the Beach Bar restaurant, and massage therapist.
Cons: Really just great as is. Hopefully, the staff whom we've gotten to know, remains because they really make the place great.
Location: Beautiful beach great for swimming and snorkeling, nice restaurants nearby - Cafe Pesto and Merrimans, also trips to Hilo, Volcano and Observatory.
We have been going to this hotel for the past 6 years, usually once or twice a year. We love the proximity to the beach, which is a beautiful, long sandy beach good for swimming and snorkeling, and our 5 year old son loves the pool. We also love the Hawaiian culture represented by the staff which is genuinely warm and friendly and we love exposing our son to the aloha spirit and ohana culture and values.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Picturesque view from our deluxe room, quiet, serene, setting took us to another world. The resort provided us the perfect amenities to fit various lifestyles. We enjoyed the clear blue waters of the beach for snorkeling. We even swam with turtles! On a calm day, snorkelers can see plenty of fish just ashore. The pool, spa, fitness center and the Grab-and-Go Cafe met our needs. The location is also close to smaller communities. I'd come back again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Rooms are good
Cons: Pool and dining
Location: On a great beach
Great location and beach, close to local restarants
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aurora, United States of America

Great beach. A little dated. Huge resort.

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Beach. Good food.
Good experience. Great access to beach. Good restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Understated. nice resort, nice beach

Posted Nov 22, 2016
We received an upgraded room. There are few sandy beaches on the Big Island it this is likely one of the finest. Very good value with modest extra charges.