Ratings based on 1,156 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Beautiful hotel! The staff was very friendly and welcoming. We added the breakfast buffet to our trip and we absolutely enjoyed every aspect of it. We had a georgous view of the ocean from our king suite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Claremont. CA

Nice hotel next to the beach

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Location, good food, good price.
Location: 30 min drive to downtown Kona. 30 min drive north to King Kamehameha Statue and small towns.
We stayed at this hotel 4 years ago and we restated this year. The hotel is as clean as befoe with good maintenance. The ocean front room has a wonderful view. The restaurant Coastal Grill is as wonderful as before. Compared with other hotels in this area, the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel has more value since the cost of stay is much less. We are looking forward to next visit! This hotel is very friendly to families. The eternity pool is wonderful!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

TOURIST BEACH BULLIES TRAUMATIZE 80 YEAR OLD WIDOW

Posted Jan 4, 2017
My mother became a widow in 2016. After 55 years of marriage, the only trip that she ever truly dreamed of taking was to Hawaii. We planned a trip to Hawaii for her first Christmas without her husband, to still try and give her something to celebrate. On Christmas Day, a couple of females approached her on the beach and told her to move from where she was sitting. The resort has guidelines in place stating that no beach chairs can be reserved, yet these people insisted that she was in their chair. They proceeded to call her rude and ignorant. One of the males in this group called my mother a B****. This went on for over half an hour. Finally, my mother came and got me so that we could leave the beach. She is so soft-hearted, and she was so upset by this episode, that she started refusing to leave the hotel room. We finally ended up spending almost $1000 extra to change our flights and fly home a week sooner than we planned. After 10 hours of travel, she finally began to relax again. This was my mother's only trip to Hawaii. Many of the hotel staff were sympathetic, yet manager "Josh" undid all of their hospitality by refusing to address the offending guests. When I approached the offensive group, one of the women came at me as if to hit me. I see no reason to spend a vacation in Hawaii at a beach-side resort when beach bullies are allowed to rule the beach. This was an EXPENSIVE lesson learned. We will not be back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worse hotel I have ever had

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Nothing!!!
Cons: A lot!!! Explained above
The pool bar messed up my credit card when I paid and it took me 2 days to sort it out, the shower and tub had black fish smell spitting up, the staff were very rude and the hotel Cafe' triple charged my Visa as she swiped my credit card 3 times. That issue took me 2 days to sort out also. Worst say ever. I spent most of my vacation sorting out credit card and billing issues. There is some sort of scam going on at this hotel. Don't use your credit card and keep an eye on your account
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

The Best of the Big Islands

Posted Dec 31, 2016
We spent a wonderful week at the Hapuna Beach Prince leading to Christmas Day. The beach was unforgettable both for its beauty and wonderful waves for boogy boarding. The Room was spacious, clean with picture perfect views of the Gardens, Pool, Beach, Restaurants and sunsets. The Breakfast was sumptuous and hotel and restaurant staff splendid and attentive. A MUST TO SEE AND VISIT.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great resort!

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Hapuna Prince is a beautiful property with perfect beach access, nice pool area, plenty of dining options including at the Mauna Kea resort next door, spacious rooms and excellent service. We had a peaceful, relaxing holiday. Recommend it for both couples and families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a town of 1000 in N. CA

What a great view from the lanai!

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: View from the lanai, sandy beach, pool, high school singing group performance, lots of comfy chairs to sit in scattered around the hotel
Cons: By 8 am each morning, all the chairs on the beach were "reserved" with towels, but unattended. Ice machine would be nice
Location: 2 miles north, the temple of the whale....really cool. We also,saw whale spouts and flukes!
Our family of four stayed for six nights before Christmas. We were located in the fifth tower, yet still had an incredible view from our lanai each day. Staff was friendly and helpful. Don't look for an ice machine, you have to ask for it, or the maid will refill your ice bucket while cleaning the room. Beautiful beach and pool. Restaurants were quite pricey....buy groceries in Kona before you head north. This year I bought a "travel" blender from Amazon and was able to make my own pina coladas and other drinks in the room....any way to save money. As a farmers, we enjoyed looking at the gardens of eggplant, bok choi, peppers, beans, and papayas. We have stayed at three other resorts on the Kohala coast, each with its own special charm. We were not disappointed with the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel. I wish we were still there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Pleasanton, CA

A week on the Big Island

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Its immediate proximity to one of the best beaches on the Big Island is a plus, especially if you enjoy "boarding".
Cons: The weight room at the work out facility was way too small and it was crowded with just a few people working out.
Location: As mentioned, the hotel is a bit remote from night life but I would suggest visiting Hawa and Waimea. There is also a grocery in Waimea.
We visited the hotel the week before Christmas (2016) and enjoyed the hotel considerably. We had a package through Expedia and it included an ocean front room which was very close to the beach. The waves at Hapuna Beach can be ferocious this time of year but the soundproofing of the windows in the hotel muffled the sound very well. The pool was very warm and possibly because lots of folks went to the beach, whenever we wanted to use the pool there were plenty of lounges. The food at the Ocean Terrace and Coast Grille was well prepared (even if a bit pricey). The hotel has a "sister" resort at the Mauna Kea, just down the road, and there is an evening shuttle. The restaurants at the Mauna Kea are also very nice but also pricey. The hotel is 30 or so miles from Kona so the restaurant options are a bit limited, although we did find good restaurants in Hawa and Waimea, both of which are about 10 miles from the hotel. My only complaint about the hotel is the ridiculous resort fee, notwithstanding that it did cover the self parking charge. We would go back but limit our stay to three or four days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We had a great experience!

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Hotel property was very well maintained, pool and beach staff were very helpful. Food was amazing! A hui hou Hapun Beach Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from northern ca

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Location, beach and ability to use tennis courts at mana kea.
We stayed for 10 days with an ocean view. Room was comfortable and we had great sunsets. The pool staff wasn't consistent with giving out snorkel equipment. My husband resolved issue after speaking with a manager.