Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hou

My room is quite small

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Living room and patio are good equipped with nice furniture. Nice view from room.
Cons: Mattress is uncomfortable, decoration old and need to be improved. My room is small.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel on top of hill

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Over looks Hilo waterfront and airport. We had the room with balcony. Best lightning storm ever. Sat on balcony and enjoyed the show. The place is a little old, but so am I. Had a pleasant stay. Get the balcony suite.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yuma, AZ

Peaceful and enjoyable people

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: It was quiet and peaceful.
Cons: More fans in the rooms
Location: We enjoyed looking from the top of the hill to the waterfront. The greenery was a god sent to us as we came from Yuma, AZ.
Even though my daughter and I did not have a car, we enjoyed our stay at the vacation hotel. It was quiet and peaceful. The hotel staff was very accommodating when we needed fresh linens or when we requested out room to be cleaned. They were very comfortable to be around when we spent some time on the back porch talking and enjoying the scenery. We would recommend this vacation hotel to anyone. If you don't like to walk to town each day you might want to rent a vehicle though.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

A Nightmare Hotel in Middle of the Paradise

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: The white cat living on the property
Cons: It is hard to find something that does not require improvement.
Location: The hotel is located in Hilo, HI, close to the Volcano national park. The world famous botanical garden is also located in the outskirt of Hilo.
It was a bad luck to reserve this hotel for our Honeymoon. I can explain why. The travelers may like this hotel on conditions if: 1) they are not sensitive to the heat and like to sweat all the time like in sauna (meaning: "no air conditioner") 2) they are not going crazy being boxed in a 7' by 7' by 7' dimension room 3) they have a weak eyesight allowing them not to see the dirt and dust on the windows 4) two are slim enough to pass each other between the bed and the table 5) they do not mind to sink down the floor while in bed and they never turn over because, if so, the fitting sheet will roll over them 6) they do not mind to take a shower in the bathroom with a big window open to a view from the nearby hill 7) they are balanced enough not to slide down the outside stairs covered with moss and mold 8) they have a degree in biology and wish to investigate the abundant bacteria life in the backyard pond of the emerald color 9) they enjoy sitting in a very "soft" moldy outdoor chair 10) they are not sensitive to smelly towels that are as "gentle" as a sandpaper 11) they have a weak hearing and cannot hear frog bands wild music all night long while the room windows are open Unfortunately, we were not in the described category of the guests. A fan purchased at the Wall Mart did not help either. We had to leave after just three days (they will be always in my memory) with no refund whatsoever and look for a place to spend the remaining 7 days of the "Honeymoon in Paradise"
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Pleasant accommodation. Convenient for Hilo town.

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: The location was good as I did not hire a car but was able to walk down into Hilo.
Cons: A minor detail in that there was no teaspoon on the refreshments tray for stirring coffee etc.
Location: Hilo has many places of interest especially the museum and Tsunami museum. Rainbow falls is also worth a visit. Plenty of good places to eat.
I stayed in the accommodation on my second visit to Hilo for my daughters wedding. The room was comfortable and clean. with lovely views of the garden and Hilo itself. I only saw one member of staff once during my stay, who was very helpful, providing clean towels and toilet rolls.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Terry from Portland OR

Disappointing. Not as pictured.

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
The "hotel" is an old dilapidated house. The owner is working hard to make needed repairs but can hardly keep up. The room was small and bare, but very clean. It had a huge tv, and a very nice all-tile bathroom.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A


Posted May 20, 2016
チェックインに行くと誰もいなくて鍵がかかっていましま。たまたま、知り合いになった日本女性に電話してもらい繋がったのですが、一人ならどうしていいのか不安でたまらなかった。 家は素晴らしいけど冷蔵庫はこわれていたし、コーヒーのサイフォンもコードが短くてつかいにくかった。何か聞きたくても出てきてくれない事が不親切だと思いました。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

top of the hill in Hilo Hi

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: I liked the fact that is was close to Hilo Hi. we could drive just 5 min and be at a waterfall or in town for breakfast.
Cons: the cleanliness of the bathroom and the musty pillows. the tv screen and some ear plugs for the frogs if the noise keeps you awake.
Location: close to all little downtown Hilo has to offer. As well as cool waterfall very close.
we stayed the week, good price. Super Loud Frogs all night. no detail in the room on how to work the Pocket door, the bathroom shower could have been cleaner. The home is beautiful. Our pillows had a musty odor so we bought new ones. there was no refill on coffee, so we had that the first day. I asked for more, no response. the master has the balcony and it is nice. The gutter is disabled just outside the door so the rain with the broken gutter was too loud. the TV has three dark lines going down one side of the screen all the time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2016
Staff was very friendly. Jade recommended some good places to eat.