Ratings based on 2,386 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Lot's to do at this hotel!

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: KPC restaurant has the best views of the ocean. Very romantic place for dinner.
Cons: The restaurants are expensive and I find them limited. We loved the Chinese restaurant that is no longer there. Imari is good but expensive.
Location: Although this property has ocean views there is no beach access. The beach is a short drive away.
This facility is huge and there are lots of things to do. The pools are nice, the lagoon is really cool and dolphins are always fun to watch. This is a family friendly hotel so its not a great place for a honeymoon or time together with your spouse.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, huge, tropical resort

Posted Feb 23, 2017
We loved taking our baby moon at this resort. It's beautiful and there are so many fun things to do on the 60+ acres. You could spend a whole week exploring all this resort has to offer. I would say the only downfall is how expensive all the food was and the daily resort fees. We chose to go to Costco and Target to get snacks and lunch food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice mega resort with a lot of options.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The Hilton Waikoloa Village had many fun things to do. I enjoyed the different restaurants and the great choices of beer and mixed drinks.
Cons: The breakfast buffet could have been a lot better. I think better food quality and more selection would have made it worth the price. Add waffles too.
Location: Drive, drive, drive!!! There is not much to do nearby unless you want to shop at the 2 malls. Everything else is a 30 to 45 minute drive to Kona.
This mega resort has a lot of options to appeal to many different types of travelers. While everyone will find something to like, this resort is best suited for families. Everything a family could want to do is located on the grounds. The pools, slides, the lagoon, and the dolphin adventure are a big draw for children. I would definitely recommend staying in the lagoon tower, since most of the things to do and see are nearby. Yes they do have a monorail, but it was broke down the morning I had to check out! About the only thing not near the lagoon tower are dining choices of the Boat Landing Cantina, Imari, and Dona's and Tony's Pizza. These 3 restaurants are near the monorail stops. The Hilton Waikoloa Village is nice, but many travelers have stayed in far nicer hotels. And even though the resort is very large, it can be very crowded at times. I remember seeing over a 30 minute wait for ice cream at Shaka Cones. The food in the restaurants is above average for a large resort. The prices for everything is what you would expect from a large resort in Hawaii. At first, I didn't care much for a crowded resort showing some signs of wear and located 30 minutes from Kona, but after seeing the other choices while in Kona, maybe the Hilton Waikoloa Village is the best choice on the big island. The choices in Kona were near all of the excursions with tour provider pickups (often not the case with the Hilton), but they were all 3+ star hotels with few amenities.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

HUGE FACILITIES. No VALET PAID = No service

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Rooms
Cons: -More parking access or golf cart access (for free). Train and boat shuttle not efficient. If you don't take VALET service, you are treated like shit.
Location: Near Spencer Beach, whale watching
Negative: Be ready to walk. You car will be far. Remote parking. On site, train or boat shuttle. Great concept but frequency is low. Need to wait for a long time and sometimes, need to stand up because too full. Very expensive for drinks, sports on site, food, Valet services, daily charges+ tax. Breakfast buffet's food is mediocre and expensive (orange juice diluted, eggs with no taste) We do not recommend if you are active, if you want to go to your car. Need to walk with kids or with heavy bags to go snorkeling to the beach!!! think twice. Parking is FAR. Note: If you don't take VALET service, you are treated like shit at the Hotel entrance. You need to disappear fast. Positive: Room cleanliness, room comfort. Hotel looks great. Love to swim with the turtles in the lagoon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Off the charts

Posted Feb 21, 2017
What an amazing resort. So many things to do right on site. Or if you just want to relax the views are spectacular.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Huge overcrowded resort, minuscule parking

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Beautiful grounds and decor.
Cons: More parking!!!
Location: Try to do everything outside of this complex!
To start, the hotel grounds are beautiful, wonderful decorations and well kept overall. That said, the complex is huge and seemed over-capacity. Line-ups just to have breakfast, no real beach access - so you have to time it right to get the few chairs around the lagoon or contend with the pool. The restaurants aren't very good for the price so the best option is to go out - the issue, and perhaps planned out that way to keep you on the property, is that this resort is really the size of 3 distinct hotels and their parking lot is relatively tiny! You already pay the price as if parking in Manhattan, but have to get creative on where to put your car! Of course, they'll then offer valet parking for extra $... Getting around is tedious as well as there is only 1 main exit - why not have exits at each complex? You have to walk what feels like an eternity to get to the car - although there is a train, if in function, that can take you as well but just as slowly... Finally, "cherry on the sundae" was when all we wanted was to have late check out in order to enjoy a bit of the sun/swim before a late flight. Was denied just this and then charged 20$ to use the showers after checkout... Would defnitely never return here and not recommend this resort.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maui, HI

Left feeling more exhausted than how I came in.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Gorgeous grounds
Cons: Stop jack hammering in the morning! Fix your tram. Inform guests the real prices of the valet parking.
I wish this experience was better, as I was really counting on it. We were so excited for our stay as several people recommended this resort to us. When we arrived we were told that valet parking was only $5, so we laughed and said "why not"... upon re-examination of my statement after arriving at home, I learned that it was $36 or $37 PER DAY. Big surprise! Throughout our stay I could not stand to even be inside the room as there was (actually) jack hammering going on outside my window from early morning till the afternoon. I sought to get out of there each morning as soon as I could! The tram broke down in the middle of our stay, leading me to have to haul the luggage across the entire resort for half an hour to the front. Valet took 40 minutes to retrieve the car. I ended up missing my flight due to these resort related unforeseen circumstances. I didn't think I would need over an hour just to get out! I was infuriated and exhausted. Had to arrange to have a few more days off from work as I was feeling worse after my stay at Hilton. Unfortunate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, MI

nice hotel for family with young kids

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: pool and view
Cons: staff needs to be friendly and helpful.
Location: location is just good for stay hotel and have fun with kids in the pools
it has nice and big pool and Jacuzzi. close to beach(sea, these is no sand beach) . the staff is not really helpfully(I try to upgrade my room, staff told me it is not available, but online booking still is available. And I checked out and left hotel, I found the name on my bill is not right, I try to change the name on my bill, staff first told me I can not do it , I had to go back hotel to do it. Anyway, the view is very good , pool is large and nice, food is just ok and $$.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

It is a nice for young.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Nice view of the ocean
Cons: The cold water was really warm no matter how long you set it run. We had to buy water to drink.
Location: We took the helicopter ride. It was great.
It is nice for younger people. Not much for seniors. The food was Very expensive. The tram was a nice way to get around when it was working. It was out of order for two days. Very nice art work all around the place.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short staff

Posted Feb 18, 2017
In spite of 50 minutes of waiting and 3 empty promises, no noe ever came to help our luggages. We almost missed our flight.