Ratings based on 1,488 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

HUGE FACILITIES. No VALET PAID = No service

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Rooms
Cons: -More parking access or golf cart access (for free). Train and boat shuttle not efficient. If you don't take VALET service, you are treated like shit.
Location: Near Spencer Beach, whale watching
Negative: Be ready to walk. You car will be far. Remote parking. On site, train or boat shuttle. Great concept but frequency is low. Need to wait for a long time and sometimes, need to stand up because too full. Very expensive for drinks, sports on site, food, Valet services, daily charges+ tax. Breakfast buffet's food is mediocre and expensive (orange juice diluted, eggs with no taste) We do not recommend if you are active, if you want to go to your car. Need to walk with kids or with heavy bags to go snorkeling to the beach!!! think twice. Parking is FAR. Note: If you don't take VALET service, you are treated like shit at the Hotel entrance. You need to disappear fast. Positive: Room cleanliness, room comfort. Hotel looks great. Love to swim with the turtles in the lagoon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Off the charts

Posted Feb 21, 2017
What an amazing resort. So many things to do right on site. Or if you just want to relax the views are spectacular.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maui, HI

Left feeling more exhausted than how I came in.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Gorgeous grounds
Cons: Stop jack hammering in the morning! Fix your tram. Inform guests the real prices of the valet parking.
I wish this experience was better, as I was really counting on it. We were so excited for our stay as several people recommended this resort to us. When we arrived we were told that valet parking was only $5, so we laughed and said "why not"... upon re-examination of my statement after arriving at home, I learned that it was $36 or $37 PER DAY. Big surprise! Throughout our stay I could not stand to even be inside the room as there was (actually) jack hammering going on outside my window from early morning till the afternoon. I sought to get out of there each morning as soon as I could! The tram broke down in the middle of our stay, leading me to have to haul the luggage across the entire resort for half an hour to the front. Valet took 40 minutes to retrieve the car. I ended up missing my flight due to these resort related unforeseen circumstances. I didn't think I would need over an hour just to get out! I was infuriated and exhausted. Had to arrange to have a few more days off from work as I was feeling worse after my stay at Hilton. Unfortunate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, MI

nice hotel for family with young kids

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: pool and view
Cons: staff needs to be friendly and helpful.
Location: location is just good for stay hotel and have fun with kids in the pools
it has nice and big pool and Jacuzzi. close to beach(sea, these is no sand beach) . the staff is not really helpfully(I try to upgrade my room, staff told me it is not available, but online booking still is available. And I checked out and left hotel, I found the name on my bill is not right, I try to change the name on my bill, staff first told me I can not do it , I had to go back hotel to do it. Anyway, the view is very good , pool is large and nice, food is just ok and $$.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

It is a nice for young.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Nice view of the ocean
Cons: The cold water was really warm no matter how long you set it run. We had to buy water to drink.
Location: We took the helicopter ride. It was great.
It is nice for younger people. Not much for seniors. The food was Very expensive. The tram was a nice way to get around when it was working. It was out of order for two days. Very nice art work all around the place.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short staff

Posted Feb 18, 2017
In spite of 50 minutes of waiting and 3 empty promises, no noe ever came to help our luggages. We almost missed our flight.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hilo

Appreciated the partial ocean view

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Hotel staff were all top-notch! However, I went to the hotel on purpose to WORK during the weekend. The lights were so dim in the room that I could not work. If the hotel wasn't so beautiful, I would say that it was a complete waste of my time. I spent 2x as much as I normally do for the room, and couldn't do what I went out to do. Very disappointing! But your staff -- THEY made it worh while.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Not Really Paradise!

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: the scenery
Cons: the transportation around the hotel! the running of the TRAM!! Always broken down...
Location: the shops off the resort were decent.
The food was not Good at all --at the hotel!! The staff moved real slow --no consideration for the tourist which are their "Bread & Butter"!! If it wasn't for the tourist staying at the Hotel --there's no money to be made at the Big Island... Simply very displeased!! Meehan Family
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

Terrible resort.Should be classified as good hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Beautiful landscape and its surroundings
Cons: At least they have to make sure to provide the basic amenities to the rooms (WIFI) or transportation for their custormers
Location: Mai grille is very good restaurant Imari restaurant in the HWV is mediocre. The food court in the Queen's market place is reasonably good and cheap.
Hilton Waikoloa Village (HWV) is a beautiful place with no doubt about it. However, it is not a good resort and it should be classified as good hotel. Here is why: 1) It is very inconvenient. From the lobby to my room (in Ocean View tower), I had to take a tram or boat to get to my room. Then the tram was out of service and only boat service was available. People had to scramble to get into the boat to get to their rooms (either in Palace Tower, Ocean View Tower or Lagoon Tower). I had to wait for 30-45 minutes and still couldn't get in. I had to walk back to my room and it was inconvenient when I had to carry my stuffs. luggage, especially when people checked out and had to drag their luggage to the main lobby. 2) For room amenities: there was no internet service or wifi service even though they said there was free wifi in the room. I called the IT service and their answer was they would check back with the company (AT&T) as there was "something wrong with the setting" and they couldn't fix it but they politely said they would let the department know about the issue and the wifi was never fixed. It was frustrating when I needed the internet to search for restaurants or tours but couldn't do so. With 2 basic amenities, the hotel was not able to provide it for the customers and how can it be classified a resort? Even the cheap hotels (for example, Day Inns, Holiday Inns they do have the wifi service and not like this HWV. I will not come back to HWV and not recommend it also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Volcano, Hawaii

Despite high occupancy rate, hospitality was great

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Although the staff was busy checking people in and out of the hotel, they did a great job of talking to guests, answering questions and serving guest.
Location: There are many things to do and see. Swimming at the various locations. Shopping very near by. Dining at the hotel and nearby locations.
Hawaii Island is our home. It is wonderful to take a small vacation on the West Side of the island. Although the Hilton Waikoloa was fully booked, the hotel staff made us feel that we were the only guests in the hotel. Everything was handled professionally with warm aloha. The room was beautiful. The view was the best we've ever had. Although the tram was not working part of the time, we welcomed the opportunity to exercise as we moved from our room to the various places on the hotel campus. I think that most of the guests felt the same way as smiles were exchanged on the walks to and fro.