Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Not too far from good restaurants and Volcano Park
Very small room with low ceilings ( can hit your head even if you are under 6 feet), the building is old and musty smelling. A bit misleading as it was an expensive hostel type room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice Hotel near the Valcano National Park

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the Volcano National Park
This hotel was very close to the Volcano National Park entrance. If you plan on going to Jaggar Museum in the night, then this is a perfect place to do so. The room was very neat and we had a shared full kitchen and dining area. The shared bathrooms were very neat as well. Please plan on going to the hotel in day light, it is very difficult to find the hotel in dark. We collected the keys when there was still day light but we had to go to different building and it was a little difficult to find the address in dark. The volcano village is a cute small place. The rainforest was a different experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Nice stay but

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Nice hotel, nice room. But wifi was very awful ("Premium Wifi" was described but there was no "Premium Wifi, only one Wifi" said the manager)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kona, Hi

Close to the volcano

Posted Dec 10, 2016
It is close to the volcano and priced well. I do wish the check in was on site though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean, cozy stopover.

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Friendly, Clean, Convenient
Cons: None
Location: Volcano National Park and Thai restaurant. Try the "Lava Flow" Pina Colada.
This was a nice, clean, cozy stopover. Very conveniently located next to the volcano national park.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Rooms look like they could really do with some renovations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 12, 2016
I love the room we had and the house overall. Just that the staff I talked with over the phone and met was not very friendly..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful!

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: So close to the Volcano park, plus Volcano is a cute town! The room was clean and lovely, sleeping in the rain forest was a pleasure. Hotel staff was friendly and told us about the local winery, a great stop! I would come back and stay with them. Lovely grounds and a spa as well. Great job!
Cons: I liked everything about this property. Staff was nice, room was clean, it was close to the park.
Location: Farmer's market, artist, winery, AND Volcanoes National Park!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laurel, United States of America

Picturesque, comfortable place to stay.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Easy to visit with other travelers. Close to Volcanoes National Park. It was like renting a room in a house, because that was what it was. The room was spacious and comfortable (thought the TV was a bit small). We had shared access to a full kitchen and living and dining room.
Cons: The house we were staying in was NOT where the office was. That meant having to drive a bit to interact with the staff (and for my wife to get free coffee).
Location: The biggest plus was proximity to Volcanoes National Park. You are about 2 miles from the park entrance and 4 from the Jaggar Museum.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good enough for the money but get rid of roaches.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Affordable and use of group kitchen and quiet location with nice plants around building.
Cons: Too large a bed for small room and squishy mattress. Saw a few small roaches in bathroom, kitchen, room which is a turnoff.
Location: Close to volcano national park and dining when you have a car.