Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by family personx

Good place

Posted Jun 17, 2013 on Orbitz
Great location near the ocean. The place was about 8 years old and certainly looked like it had carpet and beds, couches that needed to be replaced.
5 out of 5
by LiSharp

Beautiful condo

Posted Apr 21, 2013 on Orbitz
Huge great space. Luxurious condo. Great comfortable beds.
5 out of 5
by Hugomungo

Super Kolea at Waikoloa Beach

Posted Mar 27, 2012 on HotelClub
We booked a condo at Kolea, Waikola Beach resort and were not sure what to expect not having stayed in a condo before. We were not disappointed, it was set in the most beautiful grounds, with every convenience we could require including a washing machine and a BBQ on the beautiful balcony. The pool was a few minutes walk as were shops and cafes/restaurants. The beach too was clean and great for snorkelling - we saw turtles. Our friends stayed at 2 very expensive hotels along the coast, but wished they had booked at Kolea once they saw our place. I can definately recommend Kolea and would return in a heart beat.
4 out of 5
by ippon72

Great for families

Posted Feb 16, 2012 on Orbitz
Room is big enough for six. Sandwiched between the Marriott and Hilton Waikoloa Village. #1. Beds feel like Heavenly beds. Slept comfortably. Couches not so great however. It kept shedding feathers. #2. We could walk to Kings or Queens Shopping Center. Tip however is one should stock up at Costco and save $$$. Merrimans, Romanos Marcaroni Grill and Roys for a nice night out. #3. Full Kitchen with granite countertops and BBQ in Lanai! Pack some spices in your suitcase; none stocked. #4. A Bay Beach and pool within walking distance. #5. Short drive to Hapuna State Beach which is a must and room is stocked with ice cooler, beach chairs and beach towels. Overall, would stay again w/o hesitation.
4 out of 5
by Karen E

Good value

Posted Jan 1, 2012 on Orbitz
We stayed last week of Dec 2011 in unit 9E. The condo is in a perfect location. It is literally on A-Bay beach and next to 2 shopping malls and many restaurants. The unit is nicely furnished and we love the convenience of the kitchen and the washer/dryer. The only complaint is that the pool is not heated and everyone entering the pool complained about how cold the water is. Also there is only one pool and hot tub on the property and it gets crowded. My unit was managed by Outrigger Condo and I am surprised that there is no daily housekeeping service. I was told that housekeeping would come every 7 days! So you need to make your own bed and clean up after yourself.
5 out of 5
by bdbox

First class property in great location

Posted Jun 20, 2011 on Orbitz
We had a first-class unit during our week-long stay. The property is in a prim Waikoloa location and the grounds and amenities are exceptionally well-maintained. While we prefer a full-service hotel over condos, it's hard to do better than this while staying in condos.
4 out of 5
by Joe Sage

Kolea Condos - Pretty Nice Place to Stay

Posted Mar 6, 2011 on Orbitz
We stayed at Kolea and found a room [...] at what was a decent rate. This property is a condo - each unit is different in many respects, but all are quite nice. We had family and friends staying in three other units as well.This place is super-posh and compared to hotels it is really hard to say it isn't an excellent value, even if it isn't inexpensive. Check-in was a bit esoteric - We needed to pick up the keys from a management company tucked away at Kings' Mall. They closed before our arrival, but my sister was able to get the keys. There is a lock box, but we would have had no idea as to the combination without calling someone. It would be nice if the check-in procedure were better communicated.I've said the most important thing about a room when traveling is that it has a decent shower and I get a good night's sleep. The shower was very good - HUGE, marble, plenty of water pressure. The pillow-top king-sized bed (Simmons Beautyrest) in the master suite, on the other hand, was a bit too soft for my liking, and the pillows a bit too firm. My sister's unit had a very firm (too firm for them) queen bed. The other critical factor in a good night's sleep is climate control. Our a/c unit struck me as over matched for our two-bedroom unit. It would get too warm, then blow icy air, then get too warm again. We slept best with it set at 74. The ideal solution would probably be to set it at 68 degrees and pile on the covers, but that isn't very eco-friendly, and there weren't any extra blankets in the unit. A good climate control system should be almost invisible, this one was quite apparent. We did try a couple nights with the windows open, but it was just too warm and a bit noisy with the sprinklers cycling at night and travelers in neighboring units setting out for golf at 5:30 a.m.Everything about Kolea is very high quality, almost to excess - the appliances are Viking or high-end KitchenAid and apparently hardly ever used. We did use the toaster oven and we grilled on the lanai every other night. I, for one, was disturbed by the excess: lavish African Mahogany cabinetry and trim (having traveled extensively in West and Central Africa, I doubt it was FSC certified), overly complicated lighting systems, spare refrigerators on the lanais, lush landscaping on the desert side of the island, etc. It seems the place could have a bit more conscience and still be just as nice. Our unit was listed on Orbitz as having dial-up (using guest's service!) Internet. There was a router in our unit, but apparently service had been discontinued. This didn't matter as we were able to select from several unsecured wi-fi offerings from our neighbors. The grounds are very well-maintained and there are some shops and restaurants within walking distance. Our daughter really enjoyed the hula lessons and hula shows at the Queens' Market which was a nice ten minute walk from our unit.Restaurants at Queens' and Kings' are decent. We found the Merriman's acceptable for salads only, and Sensei a decent value if you get the early-bird special. We also enjoyed getting away for lunch and found the seafood very good at Cafe Pesto, a few miles up the beach. The wine list at Sensei was decent, and there is a lot of good wine available on the island at the Gourmet Market at Queens' and at an excellent wine shop in Kailua-Kona across from Target.The Kolea pool was really nice, maybe a bit small, but it was never very crowded. The water temperature was fine and the chlorine wasn't oppressive. The beach is a short walk from the pool, though we weren't that impressed by A-Bay. When we first arrived, the water was quite green with lots of algae (phosphorus run-off from the landscaping?) but after a nice storm it cleared out a bit. For swimming it is risky as there are a lot of coral in the sand making it too easy to cut your foot. Snorkeling was decent, but the water was a bit cloudy.Highway access is excellent, and getting to/from the a...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Serious ant problem in the kitchen

Posted Aug 8, 2008
The condo was beautiful and well-furnished. However, there was a severe ant problem that prevented us from being able to use the kitchen very much because we were constantly killing ants and wiping them up. It was too bad because otherwise, the condo was perfect.