Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great condos near town

Posted Jan 14, 2017
This was our 5th stay at the Kona Reef and it was excellent as usual. Great ocean view condos with a pool and just a short walk to town make the Kona Reef our go to place in Kailua-Kona. We'll be back!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Condo was not the one shown online when we booked.

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: The condo has an awesome location. Short walk to downtown Kona, pool area is not extravagant but nice, and the beach is right next to the condo.
Cons: In extreme need of a renovation. The furniture, fixtures, and flooring were years past needing replaced. Not up to hotel standards of clean.
Location: As stated in what we liked, the location is great.
The condo we were given was not the one pictured. We would not have booked it if they had been. Condos should be listed individually so people know what they are committing to. We were there at a high travel time, and no other condos were available. We had to make do. The room has a physical key, but the lock is old and flimsy. You do NOT get a key to the dead bolt. Room security feels inadequate. There were maintenance issues that are easily fixed, but not addressed. The back of the toilet is broken and glued back together, the washing machine sounds like it is going to come through the wall on rinse cycle, racks in the dishwasher need replaced, fixtures were worn out. There is a Home Depot in town, really no excuse for any of this. The furniture in the entire condo was tired, sagging, and bruised. The carpet was stained and needed shampooing. The doors on the bedroom closet did not stay on the tracks. That said the patio was a great place to hang out and eat meals, and the overall location is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Kona Reef

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Location. Room was nice and clean.
Cons: Don't let a few rude people ruin other people's time at the hotel.
Nice during the day, people respectful and quiet. At night however, there were a bunch of younger people who were loud and obnoxious after the quiet hours. Would have been nice if there were security around....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: It's an older resort but they are trying to keep it up with fresh paint and nice landscaping. Easy walk into the town for happy hours and dinner, so could drink and NOT drive.
Cons: It's an older resort. Cushions on chairs on the lanai need replacing, buy new mattresses instead of adding cushions. (but the bed was comfy) In general, buy new silverware, matching glasses, etc in bulk and put them in all rooms. But, everything was ok and had extras like beach equipment and coolers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Hot room in a great-location condo showing its age

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: location, patio was spectacular, spacious living room area, they let us check in a little early
Cons: Bathroom needs a face-lift, new towels and sheets, new mattress on the bed, AC in the bedroom, upgrade/refresh cooking/flatware
Location: Not in on the strip but a short walk to the central Kona area restaurants, bars, etc. Beach nearby with rough serf for boogie-boarding.
We booked this because it was reasonably priced, near town, and had beach-front rooms. The condo was sort of shared between residents, time-share rentals, and hotel rentals. The unit we had was definitely showing its age: extremely soft and hard to sleep on mattress, really thin towels and sheets, sliding patio door that didn't lock. The worst part was the bedroom in the back didn't have an AC and was too far from the living room's AC or the trade breezes to keep cool. There was a thermometer in the room and it was regularly 80+ degrees which is fine for us in the day but not while sleeping. The condo staff was mostly nice. We didn't utilize the cleaning staff because the brochure was unclear whether we'd be charged an additional amount per day for this service. Internet was also an extra charge (charge for internet what century is this?). Long story short - we probably wouldn't stay here again (certainly not for a special occasion like a honeymoon) but if you're looking for a good value hotel that is nearby the town with a nice oceanfront patio, this might suffice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Close to amenities and restaurants.

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Pros: Nice spacious room. After many "standard" hotels nice to have a separate lounge and bed. Short stroll to shops/restaurants.
Cons: I don't know if it is even possible, but cool the pool down. The pool felt like a bath. Doubly frustrating with no calm/kid friendly beaches closeby.
Location: Nicely located on the edge of Kailua-Kona. Easy stroll out to get meals or have a wander in town.
Nice spot. We got some pretty crazy weather so we probably didn't get out as much in the area as we'd have liked. Great to wander out by the shoreline and watch just sealife in the little rock pools. Convenient to wander out and get meals (if you don't want to take a car out constantly)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Posted Aug 25, 2015
The staff was wonderful and upgraded us to a beautiful room right on the water! coilsnt ask for anything more!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sodhi

Nice resort right on ocean

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Sunset view and cruise ships view from our Lanai was excellent. Resort is very good location walking distance to oceanfront restaurants
Cons: Longer office hours, Long distance phone calls to Canada.
easy check-in as we were there when office was still open, Oceanfront room was very clean and comfortable.Well maintained grounds. Pool is little small but was good for our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hilo hawaii

Great location

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Walking distance to beach , shops and restuaunts. Great pool. Very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, nice facilaties

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Location: 5 minute walk to the Royal Kona, Huggo's, and an ABC store. Great location!
Unit D38 was a 2 bedroom 2 bath corner unit on the top floor with amazing ocean views. Check in after 5:00 pm requires you to call someone who will give you a code to a lockbox for your room key but this went smoothly. The parking and pool area are great. The unit was large and well laid out with everything we needed but felt very dated and a bit dingy. I would recommend Kona Reef again but hope they will update this unit as it desperately needs some paint, new flooring and furnishings. Comfortable but old.