Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

best relaxation ever

Posted Jan 31, 2011
This place is not cutting edge fancy, but that almost seems sacrilege to say. The ultra-low density, individual units, mellow staff, lack of TVs/phones/AC makes this the calmest, most relaxing place I have ever been. Yes, the rooms need some updating, but that still does not drop my opinion of them from the very top. We were the only people at the resort, it seemed, who had been there fewer than 10 times; some were on their 40th visit or more. I hope to become one of them and plan to go back at least annually. Food is among the best I've had in Hawaii. Beach activites are wonderful. But the real genius of the place is that the tone is so darn tranquil you can't help but unwind and feel better.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just okay...

Posted Dec 23, 2010 on Hotels
The setting of this resort is exceptional and beautiful: Polynesian bungalows, black sand beach with clear water to enjoy activities such as paddling, canoeing,...The atmosphere was relaxed (no electronic devices allowed on site) and there were many beautiful birds everywhere. The only downside was a few moody ladies at the reception (which we tried to avoid as much as we could), the food quality (expensive, small portion, and not very good overall), and the lack of privacy with the bathroom in our bungalow (only a short wall separates it from the room). I would not go back to this resort because it felt too much like a vacation village for large wealthy families, it was too isolated (which makes it nearly impossible to avoid the on site food), and the quality-price was not justified.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from München

Das Hotel liegt nur ein paar km vom Flughafen Kona entfernt.

Posted Dec 12, 2010
In diesem Hotel findet man noch typisch hawaiianische Unterkünfte, schön gelegene Restaurants und Bars und eine Black Sand Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carla from Mission Viejo, CA

Got what I wanted!

Posted Sep 23, 2010
I needed to 'un-plug'...and I did. My son, five, also managed to do fine without the electronic gizmos that are part of our home life. I love the hale concept, the all-inclusiveness, especially the snorkel shack. Hawaii, the Big Island, and the Kona Village is not for everybody. But it was perfect for me. I got back to nature, made friends, and made memories for a lifetime. To grow on: lot of walking, not the shiniest granite countertop (although I HATE granite countertops), the room safe I could not figure out how to work. This may bother some travelers... Where they excelled: snorkle, food, atmosphere, luau, and first-aid. My son got a lava cut. Everyone was amazing, and 'Uncle Jim' even had sandwich for us when we came home from E.R. after kitchen was closed. Keiki program was good, too. Aloha nui loa. Mahalo Kona Village.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sherman Oaks, CA

Not for everyone.....

Posted Aug 30, 2010
This IS a special "location" - all the bungalows are within earshot of the ocean surf and the breezes are truly a hawaiian dream - however, not only are the rooms in serious need of updating (looks like all the furniture was purchased from a hotel clearance auction or yard sales - or it has been there since the 80's), cleanliness was a real issue - we found rodent feces on our bathroom counter, dried vomit on the toilet seat hardware, and rust/mold in the shower (seriously needed to be torn out) - the wallpaper is peeling/stained everywhere and the occasional lizard can be found darting around the room. If things like this do not bother you then this resort is still a great place to unwind and enjoy the simple/charming Hawaii. The food was good and plentiful. The sport shack/activity center was great - very knowledgeable staff and good service. The price.....well.....compared to what other resorts are offering in terms of room comfort, cleanliness and location - i'd go elsewhere next time. I'm sure this resort was beautiful when it first opened - just needs to be updated and cleaned much better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angelas

counting the days until we can return!

Posted Aug 25, 2010
Do yourself a favor and go to this resort. We flew direct to Kona and then took a taxi 6 miles to the Village. We never left once we were there...no reason too. Snorkeling right there was amazing, turtles swimming everywhere...manta rays right there, hammocks outside of every Hale, coconuts galore......the real deal. This is a true Polynesion resort and the most relaxing vacation I have ever had. Equally great for kids and teens. The all inclusive deal is very worthwhile and food is great. The staff was friendly and very helpful and polite.......especially Chad the bartender at Talk-Story Bar! I cannot say enough about this place and I have traveled and vacationed in alot of places. This will now be a yearly tradition.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego

We'll be back! Great escape to relax and unplug.

Posted Aug 4, 2010
We enjoyed our chance to escape and get away. Kona Resort was just that. Our private Hale was comfortable even without air conditioning. The full breakfast overlooking the water was a great way to start each morning. The on site luau was worth the money. The surf shack was helpful with terrific snorkeling suggestions. We had a great escape for romance, but we'll return another time with our boys.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from charleston, sc

hawaiin paradise

Posted Jul 14, 2010
everything is perfect about this place. drinks are not included so be aware, but i assume that is to keep spring breakers away and to keep the atmosphere perfect. you might want to do some shopping for necessities and luxuries outside of the village shop as things are pretty inflated but the place is great. we went for 4 days of our honeymoon and thought that was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Redmond,WA

Unique Experience

Posted Jun 21, 2010
Kona Village is quite different compared to other resorts and we had a great experience. The staff is very friendly and the resort is very well maintained. There are no hidden charges like parking fee etc..and the package we booked has breakfast included which is pretty good. One thing that might surprise you is you are given an option to sign up for tip amount for food and baggage service. Please note that the the rooms do not have air conditioning. We were initially surprised and bit worried as it was pretty hot when we checked it but later realized that the thatched huts keep the room cool and AC is not really required.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fredericksburg, VA

Koa Villiage Exceeded Expectations

Posted Jun 16, 2010
Went there for our honeymoon and can't wait to get back out there.