Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting and wonderful service

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: It was very intimate and relaxed.
Everyone there was very friendly and helpful. It was a very relaxing stay as opposed to the large resorts.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beach front cottage

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful location. The noise from restaurant was a little loud at night. Beach not as private as described. People walking by all day and setting up in front of cottage blocking view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Can't wait to return!

Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Hotels
The cottages are awesome! Everything you need and just a few steps from the beach with a covered deck to relax and enjoy the ocean views. The location is quiet and you can easily enjoy the restaurant on property which has nightly entertainment or the restaurants at other resort hotels and nearby shopping villages. Definitely would love to return someday!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Paradise!

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: What's not to like? We loved everything: location (on the beach, close to shopping & restaurants), decor, service, view, bedding.... everything.
Location: Close to shopping & restaurants. About 17 miles from the Kona airport. The hotel has stand up paddle boards available for use (FREE!). Lots to do!
WOW!!! Right on the beach you have your own private cottage. The decor is beach comfort and homey. They stock the mini fridge with breakfast snacks, water & soda. The bathroom is large, but what makes it is the outdoor shower!! The bedding was so comfy and from the bed you can see the water. All of the staff are so friendly & helpful. Every evening around 5:00 they bring "amenities": a little appetizer & adult beverage. So yummy! We were spoiled here. Absolutely did NOT want to go home!!
5 out of 5
by Shem from salt lake city

Book this cottage now

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
This place is a getaway paradise. Stop thinking and book this room. My wife and I spent two fabulous nights here and loved every moment. They are meticulous in the care they provide from the free paddle boards, the outdoor lava rock shower, to the hammock for two overlooking the beach. Snacks and drinks were stocked in your fridge daily. I will be back to this amazing cottage for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
by corinne from Boulder CO

Tropical Hideaway Treasure

Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
This gem of a place is a unique and excellent way to enjoy the Big Island without dealing with the mega hotels. The Lava Lava Beach Club is a popular restaurant and bar (have the Mai Tais!) right on a sweet beach and within walking distance to one of the most beautiful beaches on the whole island. They have live music at night, hula, very lively crowd, but it shuts down by about 10-- perfect. There are just four cottages available for rent spread out on the beach too, not far (but not too close) from the bar/restaurant. Our cottage (Hale Moana) was clean, very comfortable, with a great private outdoor shower (indoor too, but we didn't use it), a small kitchenette, couch/daybed and king bed. The covered porch, complete with a huge bunch of bananas on a hook (very Gilligan's Island!) looked right at the water and really you could just stay there all day and be happy. But there's a lot of fun to be had nearby. While we were there, at 5pm everyday someone from the restaurant came by with a couple of cocktails and a snack-- that was great! If you are looking for resort amenities (pools and spas, etc.), this is not the place. If you are looking for a place for a great private adventure, in an elegant but low key environment with friendly people-- look no further.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great cottage right on beach.

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: they bring you drinks and hors d'oevres at 5 each afternoon
Cons: they could add an informal continental breakfast package
Location: wonderful beaches and a lovely island to tour.
Attractive setting, friendly staff, informal atmosphere, good restaurant. You have to like music since it is very close.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 28, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by つーさん from 日本

海亀と泳げた

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels
プライベートビーチという他ない独り占めのビーチ。レストランが経営してるんですが、美味いのでめっちゃ客がいますがコテージは唯我独尊。何もしない休日をどうぞ。                                              海亀見に行ってください。コナ地区はワイキキよりかっらとした上質な晴天率が高いそうです。
5 out of 5
by Rick from Orange County, CA

30th Wedding Anniversary

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels
We were in the 4th Cottage from the Lava Lava Beach Club, 30 feet from the beach and it was wonderful. The staff were incredibly helpful regarding the best snorkeling spots and generally things to do. They also helped us with our ALS - Ice Bucket challenge. The mornings listening to the birds and the surf, afternoons snorkeling in the ocean with the sea turtles and fish, and the evenings listening to the mellow music from the Club and watching the amazing sunset made for our best vacation ever.