Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Super cozy B&B

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Like staying at someone's home with yummy breakfast and friendly hosts!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Outstanding - treated as part of the family

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: - outstanding staff reading every wish from your lips - many recommendations for sightseeing, hikes and tours - good, diverse breakfast
Location: - close the "Volcano National Park" offering a lot of great hikes, gorgeous scenery an informative museums (visitor center) - Hilo, rain fores
I spend five nights in the “Wild Ginger” room in the “Lava Pond Lodge” in December 2016. The whole stay could be described using simply one word. Fantastic!! I felt like home and being integrated in the family. The housekeepers Regina and Darius are gorgeous. You could expect a great breakfast with fresh fruits and special items every day and on top of that good chats disclosing many secrets of the island regardless if you need information about tours, sightseeing, restaurants or want to now facts about big island. The room is well equipped (fire place, large bathroom, large closet, TV and entertainment system as well as access to a fridge with complementary beverages). The atmosphere is very welcoming and even expected difficulties with late arriving (I arrived late, after 9:00 pm) were no problem at all. I could completely recommend the lodge. Besides you will be located close to the “Volcano National park” offering great hikes, museums and astonishing sceneries. Furthermore, Hilo and great nature sceneries (lush rain forest with spectacular waterfalls, old plantation land, and different natural beaches (black or even one green sand beach) are in the vicinity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellevue,WA

Good location next to Volcano NP

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Great place only 10 minutes drive from Volcano NP Wonderful host and breakfast! Minor little things to imprudent in the room: no curtains or flaps or sin was waking up very early because of the light The room is a little cold would appreciate additional blanket.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quiet and near the national park

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Regina was awesome! She had a ton of great suggestions. Very knowledgeable and breakfast was great!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Don't miss out on this B&B

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: The hosts are fabulous. The house is clean and comfortable and is minutes from Volcanoes National Park. Our room looked out into the rain forest. Breakfast was delicious and a great time to discuss trips and get ideas and recommendations.
Cons: The short check-in window is challenging but the hosts work to accommodate late arrivals.
Location: The B&B is minutes from Volcanoes National Park. Hilo, Mauna Kea and the observatories, and South Point are all within an hour's drive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gateway to the National Park

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Regina makes Lava Pond Lodge the perfect place to stay when visiting the National Park. We stayed 5 nights and it was a highlight of our time in the Hawaiian Islands. Our room, Kipuka, was quiet, cozy, bed comfortable, bathroom spotless and we enjoyed using our own verandah. We had the use of a bar fridge, local guidebook, umbrella (it did rain) and very large common areas if we chose to. Breakfast was delicious with a large variety of foods and a very special time where we talked with other guests and got great tips for our days activities from Regina. We loved being so close to the national park and we made good use of our $20 entry (keep the receipt to show at the entry gate as it is valid for 7 days) by visiting the park every day and returning at night for the Kilauea lava spectacle. The Thai restaurant is a great place to eat in or takeaway with very reasonable prices, extensive menu and delicious hot food. I unreservedly recommend Lava Pond Lodge to other travellers as it was perfect.
Cons: It was perfect and we were very pleased with our 5 night stay.
Location: Perfect location for visiting the National Park
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Beautiful Bed & Breakfast

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Large comfortable room. We were a family of three and had plenty of room. Wonderful breakfast.
Cons: It was great as it was.
Location: The B&B is near Volcano National Park with many hiking trails and the active caldera.
This is a lovely place with large rooms and beautiful decorations. Our room had a balcony that overlooked the rainforest type garden. It is very close to the Volcano National Park. We had a wonderful choice of foods for breakfast including a half of a mango with chopped strawberries and bananas inside. It was delicious! The proprietor was friendly and knowledgeable regarding the area. I would definitely recommend this place as a base to enjoy the park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SK, Canada

Perfect B&B

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: Beautiful location and setting - loved sitting on the deck having a glass of cab sav. Papaya boats are awesome!
Location: Nice restaurants in the village of Volcano. Very close to Volcanoes National Park - just a 5 minute drive. Also close to the Pahoa area.
This was a perfect B&B for visiting the Volcanoes National Park - the facilities are excellent. Randal is a fantastic host - his knowledge of the area is invaluable. He does a pretty good breakfast too, the papaya boats were a highlight. Would recommend sticking to the 4pm - 6pm check in time, it could be tricky finding the place at night for the first time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice B&B, Great Staff.

Posted Apr 25, 2016
This is very near the Volcano. Room and house was clean and comfortable. Randall was a great easy going host who had a nice breakfast ready every morning and gave great travel plan ideas. Great stay overall. Thanks for everything Randall!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Good to be close to the park

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: proximity to the park, good local restaurants and peaceful setting
Cons: one comfortable chair for bedroom to sit in.
Location: 3 miles from National park entrance, close to Volcano, small town with excellent restaurants.
The cottage was quiet , excellent breakfasts, innkeeper very good in providing information on where to go and how to get there. Offered loan of good guidebook .