Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

One night stay for two-day golf tournament

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Beautiful, quiet room, overlooking first tee at Mauna Kea Golf Course. Expedia price for round trip air fare, one night stay, and a rental car, was steep...overpriced. Next time I'll shop more carefully.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2016
This was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. That staff was extremely nice and the rooms were extremely clean. It had the best beach on the island.
5 out of 5
by Kate from San Francisco, CA

Best Hotel on the Big Island

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful oasis. The hotel staff are amazingly kind. The rooms are modern and luxurious. The coffee/tea in room is amazing and feels decadent. We stayed for a long weekend with 2 adults, 2 kids in one room looking out over the beach. The weather was perfect- much nicer than at the Hilton in Waikaloa, and we would go to sleep and wake up to the sound of the waves. It was truly divine. The hotel has a light on the water for Manta Ray sightings at night. Really, everything about the hotel was perfect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unexpected amazement

Posted Apr 16, 2016
We originally stayed at the Hilton Waikoloa village and were scheduled for 10nights. However upon arrival we were unimpressed and had a depressing feeling due to the run down nature of the hotel. It's hard to put a finger on it but felt like an old amusement park. My wife and I decided to tour other resorts. We drove to the Fairmont and we loved it. We also looked at the HapunaPrince and didn't really like it much. We switched our reservation to Fairmont and cancelled the remaining stay at the Hilton. We loved it!! However we were informed that Expedia made a mistake and we had to checkout early. Expedia did give us a free night at the Fairmont so we weren't too upset. We looked at reviews and booked the Mauna Kea. When we arrived we were FLOORED! The setting is magical. This is the Hawaiian vacation we had been looking for. We wish we had come straight to the Mauna Kea. We booked a golf view room and it was the lowest grade room and still it was better than any of the other resorts. The beach is absolutely the best beach I or my wife have been to and we travel ALOT!! The only negative we had was the lady in the tennis center. We needed to borrow tennis shoes and she was unhappy about that. She made snappy comments throughout the checkin/checkout process. Her name was Maria or Mariann or something. If you are working in a resort and customer facing there is no room for rudeness. Everyone else was super nice though.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Wonderful hotel, couldn't have been happier with our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

4.5 star hotel not in my opinion!!

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Bathing suit ruined in over chlorinated pool. Maid stole my hairdryer from our room. No ceiling fan and only two drawers for clothes. Food was very over priced. Tile floor in room, no throw rugs, very bare...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, Virginia

An architectural masterpiece kept up to date

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Pros: The Mauna Kea Beach Hotel is architecturally one of the great buildings of the 20th Century. It is beautifully maintained and up to date.
Location: We enjoyed the beach from time to time and also drove to nearby historic sites.
We stayed two nights and ate in each restaurant at one time or another. The menus were varied, each had a beautiful setting and knowledgeable attentive staff. The recent renovation has kept all facilities in the hotel beautifully up to date.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 29, 2016
awesome beach. protected from elements, great snorkeling.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cayucos, CA

Fabulous location

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Beautiful beach, classy hotel, no crowds.
Cons: Service in the restaurants.
Location: The hotel is on the best beach. Great food at Cafe Pesto nearby - excellent fish sandwich. Old Hawaiin temple on the way.
A classy, lovely hotel with a fantastic location. A perfect place to relax on the beach. Nothing like the mega resorts - no tours, no conventions. Clearly deserves its reputation. Lovely art. We spent more time on the beach than we expected because it was so great. Loved the manta rays and the art tour. Meals were pricey and service not as good as I would expect, but there are good restaurants nearby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Great place to relax and get away from crowds and cold weather. Feel of old Hawaii