Ratings based on 1,185 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet relaxing hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Location, nice beach and pool, complimentary shuttle to Fairmont Orchid
Cons: Dining and entertainment options
I had a nice relaxing stay at the Mauna Lani. Enjoyed the beach, jacuzzi, and beach yoga. The bed had the most comfortable bed pillows, not the big puffy kind. On the downside, the dining and entertainment options are limited. The bar/restaurant especially needs an update. The hotel felt pretty empty at night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los angeles

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: the room
Cons: staff could be more helpful to their clients
Location: 40 mins to Kona
rooms were nice, hotel staff helpful, after 5 days at the pool we were only approached by a waiter once.. it seemed that people at the pool would like service and none was available... 5-6 waiters crowded at the bar have family discussions and would not wait on cutermers.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small resort on the beach

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Cons: An all-day coffee bar.
Location: Golf, hiking, swimming, scuba diving, snorkeling, fishing, bike riding, running
We stayed here for our 30th anniversary. It's a small luxury hotel on the Kona side of Hawaii. The room was beautiful with nice amenities; robes, slippers, lots of towels and a lanai. The bed was very comfortable and the area around the hotel was quiet with a somewhat nondescript pool compared to other hotels in the area. Nice snorkeling beach with free equipment available. Also, paddle boards, kayaks and bicycles were available for use. The restaurants were very expensive. There was a bar and grill on the pool deck, the Canoe House $$$$ and a breakfast room. The Honu bar is an uninviting, sterile room inside the hotel. The staff of the hotel were excellent and made our stay very enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. John's, NL

Beautiful hotel with breathtaking view!

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Loved the convenience of The Shops so close by. It was so easy to pop up for water, fruit, etc. The spa was divine and loved the fitness studio.
Cons: The only thing they need to improve on is to provide a coffee station in the morning so you could pop down for a complimentary coffee in the morning.
Location: The hotel provides golf, fitness studio, spa, and of course The Shops are nearby but you need a car if you don't want to spend your time by the pool!
We had a very enjoyable 11 night stay. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. Really enjoyed the morning breakfast buffet (view and all). The free pedal bike service was a nice touch and the free transportation to and from The Shops was an extra touch that goes above and beyond. The staff were so friendly and eager to make your stay as rememberable as possible. The food was always fresh and plentiful with added touches to accommodate those with food allergies.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel close to beautiful beach.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Room. Staff.
Cons: Polish up the elevator brass and coerosion. Get rid of the resort fee. Offer free coffee in the lobby in the morning.
Location: Snorkeling. Kayak and paddle board. Strip mall with great shops and restaurants. Hang by pool.
The staff of Mauna Lani are pleasant and helpful. But I felt like I was getting "nickeled and dimed" at every turn, which I did not like. One morning my partner got up early and wanted to sit in the lobby with a cup of coffee and read. The breakfast spot would not sell her a cup of coffee "to go", but wanted to seat her for breakfast. The food is very expensive. They also charge a "resort fee" of $25.00 a day on top of the reservation. This just seems wrong to me. Roll the "resort fee" into the room price. This also seems like a great hotel for conferences (expense account) and maybe not so great for couples. The rooms are lovely, but parts of the hotel seem a little worn.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Absolutely wonderful resort!

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Best vacation ever! Rooms have great views and excellent service. Can't wait to go back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

very dated hotel, 80s flashed back

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: location is excellent
Cons: food and decoration
Location: many shops nearby
I booked this hotel in a rush, but trusted it is an Expedia VIP+ hotel pick but I was very disappointed for such an old hotel with very dated decoration I received no VIP+ perk at all, normally VIP+ hotel will give free perks to Expedia Elite Gold Plus member, but this hotel did not even bother mentioning and neither giving any perk
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Okay hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2016
While the hotel was nice looking, it was very far from everything else outside the resort. The beach was very rocky and we could hear all the conversations in the rooms next to us. I would definitely recommend renting a car if you plan on going outside the resort as taxis as at least $75.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Very nice hotel. It's expensive and a little far away from Kona but otherwise totally a perfect place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

新婚旅行

Posted Nov 22, 2016
新婚旅行でハワイ島に行きました。とても楽しみにしており、予約時に新婚旅行であることを備考欄に記述し、なおかつ、前もってホテルに直接電話し、その旨を伝えておりました。Garden Viewのお部屋を予約していたのに、実際のお部屋は庭どころか、駐車場を面してて、非常に残念。 また、日本人の受付カウンターで、チェックイン時、”朝食はこちらのレストランに行ってください”的な案内をされたのですが、皆様要注意。まるでプランに含まれているかのような案内をされるのですが、実際は含まれておらず、もちろん無料ではございません。そのような案内をされるのであれば、一言、朝食はプランに含まれておりませんがの、一言があった方が丁寧なのではないでしょうか。 それ以外に関しては、とても気持ちよく過ごしました。 ホテルのウミガメが甲羅干しに来ることがあると言われるエリアでは、実際に出会うことができました。 ビーチでは、シュノーケリングセットを無料でレンタルしており、ちょっと遊ぶ程度であれば気軽に楽しめます。 チェックインでいただいたレイがとても素敵で、その後の旅行中はずっと身に着けていました。 (フラワーのレイではなく、男性は木の実(ククイ?)のレイで、女性は貝殻のレイでした)