Ratings based on 814 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Provo, UT

Excellent

Posted Jan 14, 2017
My husband and I absolutely loved the hotel. The bed was so comfortable which helped out my husband who has back problems. The room was beautiful. We were upgraded to ocean view upon arrival. Their breakfast buffet that was included in our stay was excellent. Cannot say enough good things!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Outdated and moldy

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Cons: Full renovation Management training
I am an avid traveler with a full range of travel experiences, from camping out in the mountains to staying at luxurious 5 star hotels. The Mauna Lani Bay Hotel is an outdated hotel that is in desperate need of a facelift. I felt as though I time warped back to the 1970's. Please don't be fooled by the digitally enhanced photos of the room. The room we stayed in that was "upgraded" to a suite was moldy and small. They placed us in a room that should have been conjoined with another but they placed a pack of golfers next to us that were loud, obscene and degrading. My wake up call for the last 5 days (of 8 days) were these men waking up at 6am talking loudly and yelling. You COULD HEAR every word even a sneeze and sniffle, that's how thin the walls are. Our concerns went unheard as we complained daily about the noise and requested to be moved. I left our annual Hawaiian vacation in need of R&R that I did not recieve at this resort, after paying $4,500! Would not recommend! The food was great. No complaints there. But the drinks were very pricy. I paid $18 for a mixed drink! If you golf, you would be pleased with the grounds and can possibly look past the outdated look and consider it a bit of Hawaiian charm. Also, consider the $30 daily charge that does not offer any extra benefits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Rooms were quiet and got nice and cool.

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Would come back again! Staff was very accommodating. Excellent food. Great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Honeymoon at the Mauna Lani

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Location: On-property beach access, easy drive from the airport (<30 minutes), easy drive to Kona as well as some of the island's best snorkeling
We loved our 6-day stay at the Mauna Lani Bay Hotel. The property feels like classic Hawaii. I like the fact that when we were in our room, we still knew we were in a tropical place by the decor. It didn't feel like a typical chain hotel room from the mainland that just happened to have a view of the ocean. The staff was OUTSTANDING—genuinely friendly and always happy to answer questions and engage with us. We were there around the holidays and the crowd was nice and very low key. Mostly adults at the time, and noise was never a problem. I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blounts Creek, NC

Nice hotel!

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Best vacation ever. Staff was great, excellent value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from silicon valley, ca

Beautiful rooms with balcony

Posted Dec 23, 2016
I was at the end of the hotel with a sunset view every night. Overall the hotel staff were prompt and courteous. The breakfast restaurant staff except for the hostess station was good. The maid service and housekeeping was faultless. The front desk and bell stand were always gracious and offering assistance without me having to ask. The location is 30-40 minutes from Kona and Hilo. The area around the Hotel has grocery shopping, general shopping and restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, B.C.

Lovely hotel. Nice beach. Very comfortable rooms.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Overall a very nice place to stay. I would definately go back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portland , OR

Average hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2016
The room was noisy , I recommend renting a car since the hotel is pretty far from the outside activities. The buffet provided is expensive. Moreover, the waiters are really rude. I recommend choosing other places which will give a better experience in your vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Beautiful open air hotel on the beach.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: The daily hotel fee get you internet, beach gear, workout room access, bikes to sign out, beach loungers, local shuttle van, and valet parking.
Cons: Bring back the coffee shop/bar.
Location: The ocean and related activities, golfing, nearby shops and restaurants are all within walking distance.
Great snorkeling, best mai tai's on Hawaii, good ocean view restaurant, helpful and friendly staff. Have been on all the islands, and several hotels, but this is my favorite. Although not a golfer, seems popular with the golf crowd. Nice workout club, tennis courts, and spa. The grounds and nearby historic fishponds make for pleasant strolls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kennewick

Enjoy the hammocks!

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Great location. Very comfortable hotel. The staff is awesome. Restaurants are pricey but very good. We ordered from the menu instead of having the buffet (after having it once) and enjoyed our entrees. Grounds are lovely! Ponds, fish, even eels! Cabanas and hammocks at the beach just steps away. We'll come back!