Ratings based on 396 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Cheaper hotel but not great quality, everything outdated, even digital clock had half the lights out so hard to tell time, louvered windows allow sound/noise to carry throughout hotel--no privacy, loud frog chirping 24/7, took 10 minutes for hot water in shower, small bugs, thought I booked ocean view but didn't have ocean view--very glad it was a short stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Old fashioned-- awfully stinking

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Not worth of cost. Bed is not comfortable to sleep. Corridor stinks
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Average

Posted Nov 19, 2016
No wifi very slow internet and room not very clean
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WAIANAE, United States of America

Posted Oct 31, 2016
It was ok, nothing great. Its the old Uncle Billys hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Was there for 10 minutes and asked for a refund

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Botanical gardens were amazing
Room was dirty bugs were crawling everywhere very nasty
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

If I absolutely HAD to stay...

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: i think the only thing i enjoyed was the rate.. but i got what i paid for. *sigh*
Cons: the entire hotel room could be improved. mole sickness is nothing to mess with.
Location: it did have a good location, close to the airport and the park next to the ocean coast.
This property was definitely below my expectations. A number of issues arose during my stay. I only stayed here, because I was staying an extra day and needed to find an inexpensive room in Hilo (yea..i know right). When i checked, I was given a single room that was not my expedia booking. I tried to overlook it, but the bed was uncomfortable, almost dented right in the middle of the whole thing. the room was very humid, and I get the whole island experience of leaving the windows and doors open to feel the hawaiian experience, but it was a bit much. I turned on the AC unit hanging from the wall, and swore there was mold in the unit (and all over the room). I again dealt with what I could.. after all is was only for one night. I actually packed my suitcase because i didn't want anything to crawl into it. I went to my car and slept for 30 mins.. I went to the front desk and was given a different room. away from the loud frogs all over the interior corridor garden. it was loud! I felt a bit better on the other sie of the hotel, but still got limited sleep. let's say i slept in one position and showered with sandals on. Luckily I packed a pillow case to use. only used the towel if i had to. This hotel needs a MAJOR renovation. If you can handle one night.. good luck. I did it, and probably won't do it again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Hotel was adequately convenient. Needs more parking stalls.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kailua Kona, HI

Worn, but Comfortable

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: The pool and the garden view.
Cons: The plumbing. Took a while for the hot water to kick in.
Location: Ken's House of Pancakes for breakfast!
The hotel is old and needs some work. But our room was clean and comfortable. The view of the garden was just beautiful (there were ducks the next morning). Nice deep pool by the ocean. The staff were friendly. And there was free coffee in the morning. At this time there is no on-site dining, but there is a convenience store and lots of restaurants near by. Will stay there again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Fair for the price

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Cons: renovation might help a lot
I would say that the hotel quality is fair for the price you pay. We were searching for a cheaper solution to sleep over one night and Pagoda Hilo Bay Hotel is definitely one. The room is large with a little balcony. When you come in humidity in the air and maybe little moldy smell surprise you. But this is tropical forest, right? The bathroom and generally the room could need some renovation, but is acceptable. It would be probably also good time to change the carpet. You can definitely hear the frogs (also some active neighbors) but that is normal when your hotel is surrounded by gardens.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

I guess when you're under a tight budget it's ok.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: It's located in a nice town in hilo near a nice park but at night very scary to walk around.
Cons: New carpets, open restaurant, renovate the place
Location: Hilo town, Rainbow Waterfalls, shopping.
The room was on the first floor facing a garden. At night the noise of the coquito frogs was unbelievably loud. Never ever experienced that before. The Pagoda Inn gives their customer ear plugs without a charge, that's how loud it is. The room smelled like mold and I felt kind of grossed to sleep on their beds and sheets. It was an ok stay for someone who is under a tight budget. You get what you can afford.