Ratings based on 798 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel close to the airport and the shore.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Good restaurants are nearby. The streets are lined with banana trees. Inexpensive way to get the flavor of old Hawaii.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Posted Jul 20, 2016
This place was cheap and cheerful, but in faded condition. The pool was out of order and wifi not working in the rooms
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The location was very good.
Cons: The carpets need to be cleaned or replaced. The hotel needs painting. The problem of the air conditioners wetting the carpet needs to be fixed.
Location: The hotel is close to the airport and close to the waterfalls in Hilo. It is also next to the bay and beautiful parks.
The hotel is aging. The carpets are old and dirty. Water leaks from the air conditioner in the room so that the carpet near the air conditioner is always wet. There is limited parking. Even though parking is free, you may have to park on the street some distance from the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thailand

Good Value and Location

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Older Banyan hotel. Basic. Wi-Fi connection is challenging. Staff trys hard to accommodate. Walking, biking, distance to shopping.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs to be re done, beds were very moldy!

Posted Jul 17, 2016
This hotel is close to the bay front and very nice Japanese gardens. It is very nice to stroll along the streets. Unfortunately, the beds are very damp and moldy. I slept on top of the blanket, so I wouldn't smell the mattress. The carpeting is old and an eye sore. The staff are very nice and always greet you when you come in. It's a very local hotel and there are many good things about it, it just needs to be re done.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from corona

A decent stay for the price

Posted Jul 15, 2016
This hotel has nice front desk people to greet you and easy check in. The hotel itself is quaint and in need of remodeling. The beds are comfy and clean and the air conditioner drowns out any noise for a good night's rest. There are roaches so don't leave food out. The hotel is close to many nice beaches. Not a fancy stay just a place to sleep.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from V

My hotel was right buy the beach and pool

Posted Jul 15, 2016
I really like my room I was buy the pool and beach and my hotel was clean and nothing was wrong with it...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seoul

Super friendly staff, super outdated facilities

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Staffs in the reception are very friendly and helpful. A convenient store is right next to the hotel with reasonably good hot food.
Cons: Renovation, renovation and renovation, please.
Location: Beaches and nice local restaurants are within walking distance.
The overall atmosphere is very welcoming. The check-in process was speedy and pleasant. But as soon as I put my one foot on the stairways to the room, I had to regret. From the carpet, I could imagine how bad the room would be, and unfortunately, I wasn't wrong. The room was reasonably clean considering how old everything in the room appeared, but it doesn't smell very nicely and I couldn't wait to check out next morning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Worst hotel ever! Bugs in bed and manager thinks it's normal. He even wanted the security guard to kill the bugs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better than I thought.

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: The price and location.
Comfy beds, clean, AC worked well, good location, friendly staff. A little run down and smells a little moldy, but that is expected in wet Hilo.