Ratings based on 3,769 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth western australia

Location is amazing

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Its location right on the waters edge, a superb position
Cons: Most of the facilities
Hotel location 5/5, hotel general condition 2/5, facilities are worn & tired, a fading film star, Staff were really vary good & willing to accomodate our requests.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We loved it

Posted Aug 20, 2016
We will be staying there again. We loved it. We went there to get married and had a water front view that was amazing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from overton nv

nice hotel close to the beach and shopping

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: the view of the ocean
it was a very nice location and room was really nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel close to downtown

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Good view.
Location: Close walk to downtown and easy access to ocean in any direction. Hotel does not have any beaches.
Most every room will yield a view of the ocean from the private patios but some are better than others. We stayed in the Ali'i tower (middle) and had a view of mauka and bay. Nothing fancy about room. Out dated but not the worst I've slept in compared to a baddddd Ft. Lauderdale experience once.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

やはり昔のヒルトン

Posted Aug 17, 2016
昔のヒルトンで納得です。施設やコンセプトが昔を感じさせます。ホテルだけで過ごすのでない限り充分です。宿泊客の殆んどが今回は外国人で、外国人に不安?がある方はお勧めしません。また、スタッフの対応も日本クオリティは求めないでください。旅慣れた方にはお勧めします。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 川崎市

ロケーション◎

Posted Aug 14, 2016
施設は若干古さを感じさせますが、清潔で快適でした。 フリーWi-Fiが無いのは残念。 イルカスイム・体験ダイビング・マンタスノーケルの発着場所の桟橋まで歩いて行かれて、ロケーションは◎です。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Extra day in Kona

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: The staff was very friendly and the hotel is easy walking distance to the shopping/restaurant center of Kona.
Cons: Several people gave the Don's Beachcomber in the Royal Kona a bad review due to the staff, I concur. Lots of empty tables but couldn't seat us.
Location: They seem to have something at the resort everyday. We couldn't go to the Mai Tai BBQ contest as we weren't going to miss the flight home again, sad.
So we missed our flight. We had been staying at a timeshare. Went to Expedia at the airport and booked a room for the night. Staff, Rose, was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean with a view and most importantly AC! The timeshare didn't have ac which didn't sound bad in Seattle but 89 degrees at 96% humidity is no match for a ceiling fan and a floor fan. If we go back to Kona we will probably stay at the Royal Kona.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 日本 仙台

海沿いの眺望が素晴らしいホテルです

Posted Aug 14, 2016
お部屋が大変快適でした。お部屋でwifiを利用すると有料になりますが、バーがあるエリアは無料です。ベンチやリクライニングチェアが用意されていて、海を眺めながらゆっくりと過ごす事が出来ます。 大変素晴らしいホテルでした。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phx

Needs a jacuzzi

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Very nice staff. Great views. Could really use a jacuzzi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Leandro, CA

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Cons: Others have written that the Royal Kona could use an upgrade in the form of new paint, fixtures, etc, and it's true, but it wasn't a make-or-break.
Location: Centrally located close to shops and restaurants.
The Royal Kona is a classic. Like the aging Las Vegas grand dames that were retired for the glitz and glitter of the 21st century mega resorts , the Royal Kona harkens back to a bygone era on the Big Island. The open, welcoming lobby/bar/pool area overlooking the ocean, warms the heart of the no-muss, no-fuss, traveler. It's convenient to town; the staff was accommodating; and the room was clean and comfortable.