Ratings based on 1,977 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Well past its prime

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Gorgeous waterfront view.
Cons: This place needs an update that probably requires more investment than can be economically justified.
Location: It is located in the heart of all the action.
The Royal Kona sits on a spectacular site with a beautiful ocean panorama. In its day I'm sure it rivaled anything on the islands. For the price it's still a pretty good value, but the looks, odors and conditions of this once grand hotel beg for a massive update. If I were to recommend this hotel, it would come with several qualifications. That said, however, you'd be hard pressed to find a location and view to compare with Royal Kona.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Almost paradise

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: The staff were responsive to our requests. For example, a security light from the beach was shining in our room and they turned it off!
Cons: The rooms are dated due to the age of the hotel. But it gives it a cool, retro feel.
Location: Everything you could need is within walking distance - a beautiful walk along the shore.
Sitting on the lanai in the mornings watching spinner dolphins was unbelievably amazing. We captured videos of pods of dolphins of at least 50 and when we slowed down the film, you could clearly see the babies too! The hotel grounds are so beautiful. We loved relaxing at the pool and got great tans while we relaxed there. The food is delicious at the restaurant and Don the Beachcomber's Bar. This was our second time staying at the Royal Kona! The sunsets are spectacular.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

It's not worth the risk. Keep looking!

Posted Feb 14, 2017
I usually dont leave reviews but I dont want anyone else to get to Hawaii and experience or feel what we did. KEEP LOOKING for another hotel! We paid for ocean corner room. Over half our view was the hotel. Room was filthy upon arrival. Covered in dust, stains on carpet and old and run down. We asked for a different room but nothing was available. They sent cleaning up but it did not make a difference. It was difficult to put the disappointment aside and enjoy our trip. Both our dust allergies acted up there was so much dust behind the headboard and on the shutters. We killed 2 roaches in our room which made us creepy and itchy our entire stay. We actually closed the drains at night! I could hardly sleep there. The staff never checked afterward to see if the problem was resolved and no aplogy was given either. At checkout no one bothered to ask how our stay was. The lack of caring and consideration from the staff was disheartening. Good location and food was good also but after a long day sightseeing a clean comfortable room is a must and this hotel does not offer that. Perhaps other rooms are better but please don't risk your peace of mind and your trip at this hotel. It truly is a dump on the inside. Don't be fooled by on line pictures!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nevada City Ca.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Great location. Hotel is old but still nice. Great Luau on the property.
Cons: Pool towels should not be handled by gift shop but taken care of by front desk. Need a better place to get 100% kona coffee before 8:00 in the morning
Location: Great location, close to lots of activities..
Always enjoy Kona, when I stay at the Royal Kona. Been staying here over 40 yrs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO USA

NICE HOTEL ON THE BEACH

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: GREAT LOCATION TO DOWNTOWN
Cons: shower fixtures
Location: the south end location is right next to shopping and food.
SHOWER NEEDS SOME FIXING. RESTURANT IS LOUD AT NIGHT.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Hotel on the ocean

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: On the water, great views, partial balcony views were terrific and a great luau with performers. Loved the pool area.
Cons: Updating the rooms décor to modernize a bit.
Location: Cafes, bars and shops were steps away and a great beach with turtles just a 10 minute drive at the marina.
So glad we picked this hotel and location. It's only 15 minutes from the airport and in the center of everything. We spent every early morning and late night on our balcony. From the pool area, you could even see dolphins.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Best location

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Location is perfect, within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Beautiful views of the ocean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to places to eat.

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Was some mold in bathroom but overall we really liked this resort. I've stayed here three times to date. Great breakfast buffet. Very close to places to eat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Only stayed one night which is not enough. Staff friendly & helpful, room was clean but not modern.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Il

Old resort hotel in the heart of Kona

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: New decor and lots of cleaning
This hotel was decent, but disappointing. The decor is outdated and could use a thorough cleaning. We requested a king bed and received two double beds instead. In addition, the room was terribly loud due to the bars near by the Bay tower. The location is nice, but the hotel is very run-down. Due to the noise and disappointing room, the hotel did provide us with (2) breakfast buffets and (2) nights of parking. It was a nice gesture, but I would have rather stayed at a different property had I known the condition of the hotel.