Ratings based on 3,509 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Ocean Front

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: The location of being right on the ocean. Nice pool on the ocean front. Big bar and restaurant on the ocean front with great views.
Cons: Would be nice if the bathroom had a exhaust fan.
Location: Short walking distance (1 block) to several shops and restaurants in the downtown area.
Staff very friendly and accommodating. We had an "ocean front" room, and we loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Great place to stay, wonderful view, lovely staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2016
The hotel must have been nice in its hay day. Really wish they would upgrade their facilities because the ocean front location is great!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Ocean view

Posted Feb 8, 2016
We booked a Ocean View and upon arrival upgraded to a Ocean Front for $30/day more, well worth it. We found the padio door was broken and called the desk they immediately send repairmen to fix it. I was a little disappointed in a couple of minor things. They provided only paper cups, no glass for drinking. The fridge had to be moved because the outlet was shorting out. Very clean comfortable room, great view of ocean, very good A/C, we enjoyed our stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Fantastic location.

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location!
Cons: A bit run-down but most everything was functional (the bathtub drained slowly was all!).
Location: Easy 5-10 minute walk to Kailua-Kona waterfront with shops and historical buildings.
We stayed 2 nights at Royal Kona, room 178 on the ground floor. Excellent location right on the water. The bathroom was a bit run-down with '70s type decor. Room basic but functional. Wi fi for $10/day worked well for a Skype meeting I had. Parking was convenient and an additional $10/day. Beds were comfortable. There was a small refrigerator. Easy 5 minute walk to the waterfront and historical sites in Kailua-Kona. But the amazing location overlooking the ocean was the best part!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melb

Good location and great view

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Close to local shopping and it is within walking distance to great restaurants and bars. It is within 20 min drive to airport and nice snorkelling spots. Room is spacious and balcony quite large. Has massage centre onsite and long opening hours. Drinks from the onsite bar is reasonably priced too and you get a great view of the ocean. Overall very happy with the experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ロイヤルコナリゾート

Posted Feb 4, 2016
初めて宿泊しましたがコナ空港から近くショッピングにも便利な立地 値段もお手頃で非常に良かったです。 また次回も宿泊したいと思います。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Feb 3, 2016
wifiが無料であれば良かったと思う。パーキングもホテル宿泊客は無料にして欲しい。 プライベートビーチは小さいが魚もよく見えたし綺麗で良かった。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington state

Great location

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Location, Don the Beachcomber bar and restaurant, lagoon, and pools.
Cons: Needs updating. Building is getting run down. Since there isn't shuttle service, it would have been nice to have had help with transportation needs.
Location: Everything we wanted to do was within walking distance. Shopping, food, stores. Tours would require help with the arrangements.
Older facility, but great location. The rooms were clean, but have seen better days. Our safe was old and would not work. We did waste time with security and maintenance trying to fix it, but it simply needed to be replaced. Don the Beachcomber overlooking the water in the hotel had excellent food, service, and beverages. The lagoon was our favorite hang out for snorkeling and floating in the ocean. The hotel pool was nice, with a kiddie pool and food/beverage service overlooking the ocean. It was a comfortable walk to town and shopping. Everything we needed was close by. I'd stay here again, and I would request the same room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Customer service
Location: Great location to Kona.
There was no one at the front desk when we arrived to check in at about 4:00 PM. Waited for 5 minutes, and then went in search of someone to help us. Found someone in an office and explained the situation. Within in three minutes three desk clerks appeared. The coffee pot in our room did not work. Went in search of coffee. Dining room would not give us a cup of coffee, but said we had to buy it. Went to front desk in search of someone who had the authority to get us a cup of coffee. Again told we had to buy one. Desk clerk said she would send someone to our room to fix the pot. The pot was finally replaced. A simple cup of coffee would have been a far better solution. How cheap can you get?