Ratings based on 984 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Resort hotel $$$$

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Amazing location and view from hotel. Hotel and property were kept nice. Pool area and pool staff were great!
Cons: Pricing on food/drinks. Service in restaurant bar area.
Overall nice hotel, but it is a resort so be ready to spend $$$$. Attended a wedding at Sheraton Kona. Beautiful outside wedding area. Standard room with mountain was OK. Ours was overlooking the pull up area for cars and right next to elevator. We would start hearing the elevator ding about 5 am everyday. Do not get room by Elevators. Room was well kept and bed was nice. Bathroom was a bit outdated. Cable TV was in/out with bad connection. Coffee pot was terrible. I think this was on purpose so you would go buy the $5 drip coffee at lobby stand. All food seemed very overpriced for quality provided. You could either do the $30 breakfast buffet, or buy something heated up at coffee stand (breakfast burrito $12, egg muffin $10). Lunch was only served at poolside bar with expensive limited menu ($18 burger/fries, $16 for 8 chicken wings). Dinner option was Ray's. Very beautiful restaurant for hotel. View was amazing. The dinner menu was small and seemed expensive to me. Service was lacking big time. The last night we were there, credit card system and food ordering system went down. No backup system in place. I walked around and saw 16 open tables while we were waiting over an hour to be seated. Drinks were very expensive across the board ($12-14 for specialty drinks, $7-9 beers). There were 4-5 open beer taps by end of week. Poorly managed. Will definitely stay in Condo next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dated

Posted Jan 12, 2017
The hotel is very dated. I'm sure it was great in 90s. The room service is very slow. Once called, they came after 50 minutes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Not happy at check out they racked on fees we were not told of or used will not recommend due to cost not for reasons of staff they were friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice hotel close to snorkeling spots and beach

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Beautiful location; very friendly staff; easy to get to beach, restaurants and shopping center by trolley
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Two night stay

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: amenities, pool, trolley to the beach etc.
Location: beach and proximity to shopping area incase of needs not provided at the hotel
Hotel met our expectations, staff very nice and helpful,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Hotel right on the ocean.

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Excellent swimming pool! Rooms are outdated. Food is super high priced for what you get.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great view and location . Needs major updating!

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Hotel staff was not helpful. Hotel looked dingy and dumpy. Spa horrible service. I had ants amd bugs all over my bed!!! I told the manager, still waiting on a call back from the general manager. I paid $3,600 for 2 rooms. 1 for me, 2 for my nanny and was so disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Management is not good enough

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Beach is nice, swimming poos is also good.
Cons: Hotel staff communication need to be improved.
Location: There is a shopping mall with restaurants. Near a very nice snorkeling scinic site.
Bath towels are missing after cleaned the room, we were even unable to use WIFI one night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

This used to be a nice place.....

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: What it used to be, which is only a memory from what it is now.
Cons: Amenities, Beds, Pillows, Towels (Better and more than 2 a room), More than one restaurant opened at a time, building condition, comfort
Location: Nothing for 20 min by car in any direction.
Four years ago when I stayed at this hotel is was a bright and vibrant place, full of activity and intrigue. Being located 20 minutes in any direction from anything I had come to enjoy the service of its many restaurants, bars and scheduled activities (performances etc). I was first disappointed when I arrived after a late flight and found out the hotel no longer offered room service since it had been sold to the Marriot a year or so later, and sadly this wasn't the only change. When I got up to the room and sat on the bed I found they had been changed to spring mattresses that seem to not only transmit movement but amplify it if you happen to not be sleeping alone. The pillows which looked large, soft and inviting also deflated the moment they were touched into little more than a lumpy sheet. All that aside I settled in for the first night. Upon waking up the next morning after an extremely restless sleep I was awoken by the sound of leaf blowers clearing things from the sidewalk at 7 am.....this was another unwelcome trend that would continue for the next 17 days. All that aside I started my day all be it with no creamer in the room to be found I headed downstairs to grab a coffee and was greeted by a sub-par $5 USD drip coffee, I guess I should have read the menu better the latte was only 20 cents more. Either way I was soon distracted from that enjoying my $9 USD equally sub-par breakfast sandwich only to find when I headed back to the room my key card no longer worked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bow, WA

Nice hotel that is family friendly.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Kid friendly and offered a variety of activities, plus local knowledge.
Cons: The rooms could be updated a bit. I don't need much in a room, but the bathroom could have had a little nicer feel (more towel racks and some paint).
Nice location in a quiet setting. The facility is self contained, and offers a good variety of things to do for adults and kids (pool, water slide, manta rays, kids room, dining, luau) plus a free connection into town. The concierge was helpful in assisting with day trips (volcano, snorkeling, etc.). Good location for a first trip to the big island.