Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced but okay.

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: We stayed here to be close to the volcano park - for early morning and evening access, and it was that.
Cons: The breakfast, just add some jam or something to put on the toast and maybe a boiled egg.
Location: Location is good - a residential area in the small volcano village near the Volcano park.
I think this was a solid budget accommodation, if the price would have been lower I would have felt that it was good value. The room was small but clean and comfortable, the bathroom clean as well. The common space was not particularly inviting, musty smelling, the breakfast a bit marginal, if these were improved the price would be fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Nothing good to report

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Directions, breakfast, price
Location: Town of Valcanoo close to Volcano National Park, so location in proximity of park ideal.
Location very difficult to find, not everyone has a smart phone for assistance. Bedroom small but bed comfortable. Breakfast so so. Hospitality fine. Accomodation WAY OVER PRICED.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Walnut Creek, CA

Stay in Volcano

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Pros: The layout of the house was very nice but the rooms offered guests were small.
Location: The first night we drove to Hilo for Starbucks. The second night we did eat at a local restaurant the Lava Rock which was very nice.
It was okay for a base. However, the room was musty and small. The bathroom was outside of our room and okay. Our first breakfast was muffins,coffee, juice and bread available for toasting. There was yogurt in the fridge and sugar cereal ( a child would enjoy). The next morning all that was available on the table was bread to toast. It was a strange and disappointing offering. It was sufficient since we were out all day. I would not go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

chalet tropical

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: L' accueil à la fois discret et prévenant de Kate. Une maison pleine de charme et apaisante. Un excellent café.
Location: Un peu éloigné des restaurants, dans un quartier résidentiel à la végétation luxuriante. Le parc des volcans extraordinaire à voir jour comme de nuit.
Nous avons bénéficié de l'entière disposition des lieux: un chalet cosy en pleine végétation tropicale.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by William from Califfornia

Ok for a short stay

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
Everything is Ok with this hotel. But the breakfast was a very simple. They should make something better for guests. We only had cereal, and my wife could not eat that or drink milk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hiroshima JAPAN

The paradice

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Location: You can get the Volcano National Park( Kirawea) easily because of the nearness.
It was hard to find the location. But, the owner staffs were so kind and gentle because our informed lateness to check in was allowed and they were waiting for us. The room was so prepared and beautiful. I had a nice stay at the Mara Farmer Inn-Volcano. I hope that I can stay there again with all of my family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Close to the Volcano!

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Tucked away and near the volcano.
Nice little place, wooden with lots of character. Guests are nice... good place for a quick stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Armelle from Hermosa Beach

Greatly located

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels
Nice wood cabin B &B in the middle of the tropical forest. 2 miles away from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park entrance. We had the suite, which is on a mezzanine and we were scared that our fearless 3 year old could jump over it so we had the kids sleep in the closed bedroom. Our bedroom was not separated by a door from the downstairs common area. But that was ok since we were the only guests. Only the host came to set up breakfast table in the dining room at 6:30 AM and that was fine. Bathroom was very clean but towels smelled of mold. I guess it's so humid out there that it's hard to get things to dry properly. Breakfast was A big A+ with freshly cut papaya, ananas and other tropical fruits lovely dressed. Every morning something different was served, croissants, toasts, scones. We would recommend this place to families with children but not toddlers due to the mezzanine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jeff from Schweiz

Ruhe

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels
Wer Wert legt auf Ruhe und Abgeschiedenheit ist genau richtig an diesem Ort.Eigentlich ist das Tara Firma Inn kein Hotel, sondern ein gutes B&B.Achtung: Ohne Auto keine Chance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by kuma5 from 仙台

ボルケーノ5人家族旅行

Posted Dec 27, 2013 on Hotels
ホノルル2泊、ハワイ島3泊しました。 キラウエアの周りは街灯がないので、夜7時に着いたときは真っ暗でした。スマホのGooglemapsがなかったら行けなかったかも。 ジャングルの中のログハウスで、2階にベッドルームが2部屋とバスタブ付きのシャワールームがあり、清潔で、とても素敵でした。 ジュースやミルク、シリアルなども自由に食べていいと言われました。朝はフルーツ、パン、ジャムなどを頂きました。 アットホームで、日本で言う民宿のような感じでしょうか。子ども達はとても喜んでいました。