Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cozy but lot of non-functional Appliances

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Cozy & cute, close to Kilauea, but oven, microwave, coffee maker, refrig, fireplace & kitchen lights not working. All could have been repaired. Foton for 4th person was really a foam mattress on the floor. Beds were doubles, not Queen size.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Artist Cottage was wonderful.

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: The location was perfect for visiting Volcano National Park and everything about the cottage was very inviting.
Cons: The bed was very soft.
We were pleasantly surprised when we drove up to the Artist Cottage. We were met by the owners daughter who showed us around the cottage. They had even provided food in the refrigerator for breakfast. It was so relaxing to take our time in the morning and we could sit and eat without having to go to a restaurant or grocery store. Everything was very clean and had many paintings done by the owner. We would definitely recommend the Artist Cottage to anyone visiting the area of Volcano.
4 out of 5
by Shoshana

Visiting Volcano NP

Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
Location is great being five minutes from Volcano NP. Comfortable with all amenities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, cozy cottage 5 minutes from volcano.

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Location: Volcano and green sea turtles which are a half hour away. Volcano is 6 min away.
This place is very clean and more than what I expected! Definitely feels like home and very well stocked. Bonnie and Bob are great hosts. Would love to stay here again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southwest area of Florida

Great place to stay.

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Very pleasant &relaxing. It's own little. piece of paradise.
5 out of 5
by Jie from california

Very good experience

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
it was a very good experience. Bob & Bonnie rented out their cottage, which sort of like airbnb style except we had the entire house for ourselves.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Very nice cottage near Volcano Nat. Park

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: It is very quaint and in very big forest.
The cottage is very cozy with everything you would ever need for breakfast or a quick lunch. You were so near an active volcano, you though you could feel the heat. Five minutes from the Park entrance. At night you are only ten minutes from watching the glow of the volcano.
4 out of 5
by Julie from Irvine

Nice folks

Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
Pleasant stay. I enjoyed listening to the rain on the cabin roof overnight. It was a great location near Volcano National Park. Good advice on our arrival - to go see the lava glow that we would've ohterwose missed. They were accommodating of our two children and even brought over homemade cookies! If you're looking for resort or business-class chain hotel, this is not for you. if you're looking to hike around the volcanoes, see some cool art, and stay in more comfortable accommodations than a national park with the rest of your family, this fits the bill nicely.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Das B&B ist auf einem absteigen Ast

Posted Feb 28, 2015 on Hotels
Bei dem B&B bei Bonnie und Bob handelt es sich um ein freistehends Haus (Condo). Wir waren 3 Nächte dort. Wir waren erstaunt zu erfahren das wir unser Frühstück selber machen mußten, bei einem B&B erwarte ich normalerweise ein Frühstück serviert zu bekommen. Dafür war der Kühlschrank sehr voll mit Lebensmitteln, leider auch teilweise schon abgelaufen. Es gibt keine Spülmaschine, so muß man das Frühstücksgeschirr auch noch selber spülen. Kinder kosten 20 USD zusätzlich pro Kind/Nacht. Volcano war sehr kühl (63F), erst am 2ten Abdend hat Bob uns des Gasofen angemacht. Sonst friert man heftig, zweimal kam auch kein warmes Wasser zum duschen. Bonnie hat uns sehr herzlich begrüßt und auch verabschiedet da kann man sich nicht beschweren, leider ist das Haus und auch die Vermieter schon etwas älter ggf. liegt es daran das die Unterkunft nicht so sauber war. Messer oder Geschirr waren teilweise schmutzig, staubig und im Haus roch es muffig. Das Haus ist schön und liebevoll eingerichtet es gibt auch sehr viele nütliche Dinge im Haus, doch leider ist das Objekt auf einem absteigen Ast.
4 out of 5
by Ruth from USA

Cute cottage in a good location

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at the Artist Cottage. Good location - close to Hilo, VERY close to the Volcano Nat. Park, and 2 hours drive to Kona (with lots to see on the way!). If you are a clean freak, this is probably not the place for you. It's like staying in someone's house, which is different than a generic hotel room. It is neat and clean, as long as you don't look in all the nooks and crannies! All in all, we really enjoyed our stay here! Lovely location, extra amenities like slippers, bathrobes, refrigerator stocked with breakfast foods, and the gas fireplace was much appreciated too!