Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Waterfall View

Posted Aug 4, 2016
The room view was breathtaking! However, a little small, but very comfortable still the same.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Beautiful hôtel and garden

Posted Jul 29, 2016
We had a wonderful stay ... The room was clean , beautiful and efficient . The waterfall is so beautiful, romantic and you just can't help but to look at it over and over . The nature is everywhere and at night you can hear the frogs which add a lovely sounds to the surrendering jungle ...I will come back and I am happy I discover this little paradise .
5 out of 5
by Andrew from Southampton

A truly unique and wonderful stay!

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls is unique. Set in a tranquil setting about 15 mins outside of Hilo, it boasts extensive grounds and it's own waterfall! Staying here feels more like staying with friends. The staff are friendly, the breakfast freshly prepared and delicious. We were given good advice about local attractions and restaurants, and one of the highlights of staying was swimming in the pool beneath the waterfall - so refreshing and truly a unique experience. If you are visiting Big Island you must stay here!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Spectacular Location, Wonderful Staff

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Beauty, peacefulness, staff, spaciousness, waterfalls.
Location: You can swim in the pool at the waterfall, and/or use their kayak and water equipment. Downtown Hilo is about 15 minutes away.
We were so glad to have chosen this inn. It was unique, beautiful and very comfortable. The deck for meals overlooks the extraordinary falls, and the grounds peaceful and spacious. Our room was also large and very comfortable. The staff is fantastic - Jasmine does everything she can to make your stay pleasant, and the rest of the crew very friendly and helpful. It's about 12-15 minutes outside of Hilo, so you have a view and are surrounded by countryside and farms. Lovely drive up there. It's definitely the best place in Hilo.
5 out of 5
by Joan from Maryland

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent grounds and waterfall!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Great view from room

Posted Jul 8, 2016
We booked this the day of because our resort we were booked at for week did not have a full week for us. This was kind of a blessing in disguise because we got the chance to stay at this wonderful place. The waterfall is amazing and it was great to fall asleep to the waterfall sounds and the frogs. The sheets on the bed were absolutely amazingly soft and comfortable. I thought breakfast was great however wife is on a limited food choice diet so it was just so-so for her but if you don't have any food restrictions the food is fantastic. I would recommend this place in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
by 이지연 from 서울

깊은 숲속에서 자연과 함께~

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
위치는 정말 깊은 숲속에 있습니다. 시내에서 30분은 들어와야 해요~ㅠ. 한집에 공용공간으로 거실과 부엌이 있고 각자 머무는 화장실 딸린 방이 있습니다. 아무래도 다른방 손님들을 신경써야하니 호젓하게 일행과 머무르는 느낌은 덜합니다. 이곳의 장점은 뭐니뭐니해도 쿨라냐피아 폭포입니다. 아무도없는 폭포호수에서 수영과 카약을 즐길수있는데. . 이건정말 쉽게 경험하기 힘든거죠~! 폭포를 몸으로 느끼고싶다면 추천합니다~!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Wonderful time at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls!

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Having read the reviews I expected theThe Inn at Kulaniapia Falls to be a nice place to stay, and our experience certainly exceeded our expectations. To get to the Inn involved a scenic 20 minute drive through narrow paved country road and beside a coffee plantation. When we arrived at the Inn we were presented with a delightful location overlooking the spectacular falls and pool below. The staff at the Inn were ever so helpful and friendly, and the accommodations were very comfortable. After settling in we headed off to drive to the Mauna Kea visitors center (about 1hr drive) to see the sunset, and on our way back we stopped at Hilo for dinner. The next morning I got up early to go for a run down the country roads, after which I was joined by my wife and son for an pre-breakfast swim in the pool below the waterfall. While the water was a bit cold, the swim was one of the highlights of our trip and I would certainly recommend getting up early for the experience. After the swim we were served a delicious breakfast on the deck of the Inn, that overlooks the spectacular scenery of the falls and pond. Would have loved to stay longer! The WiFi was the fastest of any we experienced during our Hawaiian trip. While breakfast was delicious, for dinner you really need to head back towards Hilo as dinner is not available at the Inn. This was not an issue for us, as we had dinner on our return from Mauna Kea.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Beautiful place

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: The beauty of the nature around the hotel, the staff, the way the room was arranged.
Cons: An air conditioner system would make the rooms more comfortable.
Location: The hotel is outside the city. At the location, there are trails. With a car, you can get to any place in the island, easily.
Extremely nice settings. The hotel is in a private property, with luxurious vegetation, a very beautiful small waterfall. The staff is attentive and very friendly. Our room and bathroom were small but this was not a big problem since they have an attached living room and kitchen that guests can use. The breakfast was good with fruits, a soufflé and pastries. It is difficult to find in the first time you go there but they try to help you to get there. Their internet is very good and we could check our e-mail without any problem. They do not have air conditioning and, since Hilo is very hot and very humid, can be a big problem for people coming from dry regions - we, for example.