Ratings based on 380 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

beautiful hotel in a secluded area

Posted Dec 9, 2016
The staff members were exceptionally helpful with local advice and even provided equipment that we'd forgotten to use for a nighttime walk to see the active lava flow. They have water shoes to use for your short walk down to the falls which was muddy during our visit due to recent heavy rains. The room was immaculate and comfortable The breakfast was simple but tasty and the attending staff were warm and attentive. Overall a pleasant experience. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Relax and enjoy

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, impressive scenery, and oh, so quiet. You are able to relax and really enjoy your time here.
Cons: Maybe a little more variety in breakfasts from one day to the next.
Location: Hilo is a short, easy drive. Botanical gardens, about 20 minutes drive away, are a must see. Or, just enjoy the waterfall and its plunge pool.
Staff are marvelous, room is wonderful, and views are better than anyone could ask for. It is quiet and so relaxing, you may not want to drive into Hilo, except to eat. After several days of hiking through volcanic debris, this place really hit the spot! We especially appreciated the small roof balcony to sit out at night and look at the lights of Hilo
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: It is a nice place to stay next to a gorgeous waterfall. The adjacent garden path is also nice. The staff were helpful and cheerful. I was very pleased with the result.
Cons: The only drawback is that this inn can be difficult to find if you are driving, especially at night. Calling ahead to get directions is recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Excellent service with awesome view. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Great place and staff, mediocre location and frogs

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: Hilo is great! There's a zoo, caves, more waterfalls. Lots of natural beauty.
The Inn is an amazing place, the scenery is incredible and the staff is super nice. The waterfall is amazing, swimming in the lake was cold but fun. There's also a lovely bamboo garden. Breakfasts were light but good. The main disadvantage is the frogs; the area is infested with coqui frogs which make deafening noise at night. The rooms aren't air conditioned, so it would have been nice to be able to open the windows and still be able to sleep. Also, the falls are ten minutes from town down private roads meaning its not as convenient to go out for short times.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel to relax and forget about the world

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Great, quiet emplacement of the hotel. Beautiful sound of nature help you relax and enjoy your stay. Hotel staff is always helpful and nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Beautiful View

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: The view was absolutely amazing. The staff was great and the room was beautiful.
Cons: I would have like to have fresh towels every day, simply for the fact that due to the climate, the towels never seemed to fully dry.
Location: The location is very much off the beaten path. It is great if you want to get away from civilization, but difficult for food after long days out.
The Inn was in an absolutely beautiful location with an amazing view. If we were looking for a place to just relax and get away from reality this place would have been perfect. However, we did a lot of sight seeing and the remote location sometimes made it difficult after a long day. At the same time, I am so glad that we stayed at the inn.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

At the falls.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Unique experience at the falls. Beautiful natural area. Wished there were drinks and snacks available as the ride down the mountain into town is tricky at night. Only a small common refrigerator to use. Good food at the restaurants in Hilo. Not a tourist area at all.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing environment

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Location is secluded away from the city. Room is small and not very clean. Saw some roaches