Ratings based on 393 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place next to the falls.

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Nice people, beautiful place in a country atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Exceptionally beautiful grounds, friendly staff.

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: The view, the quiet rural background, the grounds, the breakfast and the great coffee.
Cons: The bathroom is rather cramped and places to hang clothes there would be useful. Closet space is also limited.
Location: Very nice walk on the grounds, a beautiful waterfall and a fine bamboo garden. Hilo offers excellent eating. Best breakfast coffee ever.
Stayed 3 nights. Its a great place to sleep with waterfall music in the background. Breakfast is on a veranda with sweeping view of the falls and vegetation. You do need to be aware that its a way out of town on minor roads but the route is fairly well marked. Still I advise arriving while its daylight. Our room had very pretty hardwood floor and a very good bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved this place!!

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Gorgeous location off the beaten path! Small inn up in the rain forest. The staff is attentive and helpful. The waterfall is spectacular. The breakfast delicious! And the room had the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on while away from home. We will stay here again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

WATERFALL

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Wonderful people and A truly amazing place. A must stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Gatos, CA

Has its own waterfall

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: The location and its service.
Cons: A wider breakfast selection would make the stay still better.
Location: The location is beautiful with the waterfall and its surroundings for hiking and as a center from which to explore the island by car.
Kulaniapia Falls are located directly behind the Inn, and provide the most beautiful location for an unforgettable Big Island experience. If you want to get away from it all, this place is it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

beautiful hotel in a secluded area

Posted Dec 9, 2016
The staff members were exceptionally helpful with local advice and even provided equipment that we'd forgotten to use for a nighttime walk to see the active lava flow. They have water shoes to use for your short walk down to the falls which was muddy during our visit due to recent heavy rains. The room was immaculate and comfortable The breakfast was simple but tasty and the attending staff were warm and attentive. Overall a pleasant experience. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
It rained when I arrived, and I had to leave early the next day for a flight to another island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Relax and enjoy

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, impressive scenery, and oh, so quiet. You are able to relax and really enjoy your time here.
Cons: Maybe a little more variety in breakfasts from one day to the next.
Location: Hilo is a short, easy drive. Botanical gardens, about 20 minutes drive away, are a must see. Or, just enjoy the waterfall and its plunge pool.
Staff are marvelous, room is wonderful, and views are better than anyone could ask for. It is quiet and so relaxing, you may not want to drive into Hilo, except to eat. After several days of hiking through volcanic debris, this place really hit the spot! We especially appreciated the small roof balcony to sit out at night and look at the lights of Hilo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: It is a nice place to stay next to a gorgeous waterfall. The adjacent garden path is also nice. The staff were helpful and cheerful. I was very pleased with the result.
Cons: The only drawback is that this inn can be difficult to find if you are driving, especially at night. Calling ahead to get directions is recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Excellent service with awesome view. I would stay here again.