Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice spot close to the park

Posted Oct 14, 2015
We stayed in the Liko room and it was nice for our four night stay. The only down sides were the smell in the bathroom and some minor annoyances with Windows being closed by housekeeping while we were away. The bathroom smelled pretty potently of sewage or septic. The last morning it permeated our room and was unpleasant. We would also leave fans on and Windows open while we wet away each day to help keep the room from getting so hot. When we got back, all the windows would be shut and the fans off and our room unbearably stuffy. I understand trying to conserve energy but it made the room quite unpleasant know the evenings. But it is a great location and not a bad price for its location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very nice placw for the price.

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Location: It was a big challenge to find the location of the chalet especially after dark. It is not connected to the office.
To my surprise, the room was dry not humid and the chalet has a nice common dining area and the shared bathroom was well maintained and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary. Alberta

Great Hotel close to the volcano

Posted Apr 7, 2015
This was a great little hotel. The room was up to date and clean. The little balcony was great. We enjoyed the hot tub. We only stayed one night but it served our purpose very well. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Arrived to a cosy, warm and clean room. The bathroom was clean. They had cable TV which was nice at night, but there was no remote control for the TV. The bed was comfortable, there was an extra quilt thankfully because it does get cold in the middle of the night. The lodge is about 10 minutes from the volcano national park which was nice and convenient. Overall a nice experience, will come back and recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver island canada

Great location

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Great location for night time viewing of the volcano ... Definitely a highlight of the visit. The place met our needs, good place for a late arrival and early departure. Excellent place for families due to several rooms and a common kitchen. I would stay here again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Clean Basic Accommodations

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness was much appreciated, as was the dehumidifier. There was excellent value for price paid and good WiFi.
Cons: The bed was too soft for me. I'd appreciate some basic spices in the kitchen (salt, pepper and maybe even crushed red pepper?).
Location: Volcano National Park has many options. We went three nights in a row to see Kilauea glow and it was different each night.
My husband and I stayed at Volcano Hale, built in 1912, in the Ohia room. The room was clean, the bathrooms were redone and clean. The kitchen was redone and clean. The kitchen has a gas range, 2 coffee makers, microwave, toaster oven. A dish drain, dish soap, sponge and two kitchen towels (replaced daily) are provided. The towels (bath, hand and face cloths) in the bathroom are plentiful and clean. The building has nine sleeping rooms and three bathrooms. The property was not fully booked while we were there and there was never a problem finding an open bathroom. We expected to feel of parental age compared to the other guests. However that wasn't true. The other guests were from Japan, Canada, Germany... and the US. Everyone did their own dishes, ate their own food and was quiet at night. We could not have asked for better co-guests. I'd give higher ratings if the bed were firmer and didn't give me a backache and if there were a few easy chairs available in the common areas.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Good budget accommodation

Posted Feb 3, 2015
We enjoyed our stay and would stay again. Our room was small but nicely appointed, and the bed was comfortable. The shared bath was large and modern. The only downside is that there is no soundproofing so when someone else is in the washroom, it's like you're standing right next to them.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HNL

Beware the separations

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Before considering this place, make sure you understand the lay of the land in the Volcano area, and the bunch of Volcano properties. The properties are scattered and not easy to find. I wouldn't have stayed here with friends who had to stay at a property away from us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cal

Why are people so rude?

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Nothing.nothing. nuttin
First and last time doing a share. I dont want to get up at 530 and hear you and the old lady fighting. Will get private room next time. Volcano blows. Just keep going to the other side. Csn seeeverything on the drive over.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta Canada

Old Hawaii home

Posted Jan 14, 2015
This old house will do for a quick stay but the bed and pillows are very hard