Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Fantastic

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: The outdoor fireplace was broke.
Location: Not many places to eat nearby. Pick up food and enjoy being at the cottage. Great location to go to and from Volcano National Park.
The place is beautiful. it is a cottage in the rain forest. Everything about is was excellent. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania.

Hawaiian experience

Posted Sep 26, 2015
The cottage was so charming. They thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable. It is your own little paradise and close to volcano national park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A slice of heaven

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Wonderful place to stay. The owners have thought of everything to make you comfortable. I want to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cottage close to Volcano Nat'l Park.

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Had long drive from Hilo during rush hour in the pouring rain. Had no problem finding cottage in Volcano. The lights were on and we found the cottage to be very warm and welcoming. There was fruit on the counter and milk for our cereal in the morning. Beautiful rainforest surrounding the cottage. The whole cottage was decorated and felt very zen-like. Enjoyed every minute here and would love to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Rainforest Retreat

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Lovely cottage in the rainforest. Good size, everything needed for a comfortable stay - kitchen, pantry, linens, hot tub, books, videos, basic cable and Wi-Fi. Very convenient to Volcano Village and the National Park. If you want to spend a few days in the Hilo area, this is the place I would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Liha from Chicago

Very peaceful and wonderful retreat

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Pros: The quiet and the fact it was a cottage. It felt like your own home.
Cons: The place is perfect!
Location: It is located about a mile from National Volcano Park. Some nearby restaurants. Near enough to black sands and green sands beach.
Nestled in the rainforest preserve - the place offers tranquility and peace. It feels like a home away from home. You will not want to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve from Portland, OR, USA

Shangri la for a couple

Posted Jan 22, 2013
Pros: Clean and very classy.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Remote yet convenient.
Just as perfect as advertised. The only caveat is that we had three people staying there (one sleeps on the couch). The kitchen table only seats two. So don't plan on eating as a threesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New York

Bliss in Volcano

Posted Jul 2, 2009
Coming from a hectic city as New York, we found the cottage to a perfect getaway from everyday chaos. The cottage is in the middle of the rain forest and has absolute privacy, it's beautifully designed to have a lot of natural light, the outdoor jacuzzi is an absolute highlight. We won't go into all the details but highly recommend the cottage!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Lake Hopatcong, NJ

Cozy cottage

Posted May 6, 2009
This is *not* a hotel. nor is it a collection of cottages. It is a single cottage tucked away in the forest near the peak of Kilauea. It is a wonderful place to get away from it all. Drive into town to pick up groceries at one of the two mom & pop general stores, bike into Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, and enjoy the remote location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, CA

we loved the volcano mist cottage

Posted Apr 16, 2009
The volcano mist cottage was the highlight of our vacation on the Big Island! We loved falling asleep to the sound of the rain gently pattering on the roof, and waking up to the sounds of the forest in the morning. The cottage had everything you might need and more. Plus the private hot tub, outdoor shower, and fluffy robes made the place feel luxurious!