Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from alberta, canada

Tropical Seclusion

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Everything. Peace and quiet. Very relaxing
Cons: nothing comes to mind
Location: Volcano national park is very close by as is the village of Volcano
2nd time around at these cottages and i'll be back. Stayed at the Hidden cottage this time and I liked it even more than the Singing Forest cottage. Very well designed, built and very homey from the little wood burning stove to the spa style bathroom and shower. It had all the comforts of home with a full kitchen and utensils, pots and pans, etc. The nicest touch was the hot tub out back in the tropical forest. A deck out back to relax on as well. Nothing but birds singing during the day and crickets at night. Only regret was only staying 2 nights
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location close to volcano national park

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Volcano national Park 5min away, Hilo 40min away or so.
Quiet location with all the needed amenities, hot tub on the back deck was ideal to relax after a day or two of hiking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: Location. I was like paradise
Location: It is extremely close to Volcanoes National Park and about 30 minutes from Hilo.
Brenda was extremely personable and helpful. The cottage was like a tropical paradise in the middle of a beautiful setting. The amenities were wonderful...everything you would want for a getaway in paradise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Carolina, USA

Perfect location

Posted Sep 19, 2015
The cottage was the perfect place to stay while visiting Hawaii Volcanoes Nat'l. Park. It was located within 2 miles of the park, nestled in a wooded community, giving you complete privacy. The cottage was very clean and had all the amenities to make for a comfortable stay. The kitchen was well equipped, the bathroom had a walk-in shower and a lovely wooden tub. There was also a hot tub on the deck and a fireplace to warm the cottage. A washer and dryer was also available. We had quite the downpour and had to leave the park early, so it was nice to have a place to stay that was comfortable and convenient, so that we could return later in the evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cheryl from Burlington, WI

A beautiful aloha experience!

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: Clean, zen interior, hot tub, comfy bed
Location: Volcano Park and town
We reserved the cottage for an overnight on the east side of the island and wished we had made plans to stay longer! The outside hot tub, isolated and quiet area with brilliant stars, birds singing in the morning were a wonderful escape! The creative loving care in the interior design made our brief stay special! We will return but stay longer!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vicky from Melbourne

Lovely cottage in the heart of Volcano

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Nice setting, big bathroom, hot tub on the decking and big comfy bed.
Cons: Information about how to get there from the owner.
Location: In the heart of Volcano, 5 min to the Volcano National Park.
We stayed in this cottage for two nights as a base to explore the Volcano. We love the big bathroom and the hot tub on the decking. The cottage has everything you need, just like a home of your own. While we had a pleasant stay, it was difficult to find the place as we never received any information like how to get there and where to locate the keys. It is suggested you contact owner for all the necessary information prior your arrival. Also on our booking it is clearly stated that continental breakfast was included but there were nothing at all. Had we know before we would pick up some stuff in Hilo, so that was a big disappointment.
3 out of 5
by Jacqui

Ok

Posted Oct 16, 2013
We booked the singing cottage but were upgraded to the hidden cottage, as we later found out this was to accommodate another travelers bookings, nothing to do with us. The upgraded cottage was very nice but this was distracted from as there were no curtains. Whilst being interesting and in theme with the cottage it wasn't really practical given the proximity of the neighbors. We therefore asked to move back to the original booking of the singing cottage which was actually very beautiful and had curtains! I had expected at least an apology for changing the booking in the first place from the owner or even help to offer to move over but there was no such hospitality. The attitude from the owners was pretty mediocre, even rushing us to leave. The singing cottage was exactly what we wanted, the spa pool and facilities were great, personally it could have been a little cleaner. It is a good location to the volcano, hopefully you won't find yourself in the mids of a government shut down like we did! We would recommend the singing cottage but not the hidden cottage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belgique

Upgrade au Big Tree Sanctuary

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Les équipements disponibles, la belle propriété, les moustiquaires
Cons: Aucun
Location: A plusieurs kilomètres du premier restaurant, magasin, station service, au coeur d'une forêt tropicale. A quelques kilomètres du parc des volcans.
Nous (jeune couple) avons été upgradés au Big Tree Sanctuary, une propriété immense avec jacuzzi, sauna, grand jardin avec plan d'eau, barbecue, grande terrasse en bois sur 3 côtés de la maison, 2 chambres, 2 salons, salle à manger, feu ouvert, cuisine toute équipée, 3 salles de bain dont une avec bain à remous, moustiquaires partout, lave linge et sèche linge, vélo d'appartement et télescope ! Nous n'avons malheureusement pas profité de tout cela puisque nous y passions seulement une nuit. Nous sommes arrivés alors qu'il faisait noir, c'est vraiment perdu et un peu flippant dans ces conditions mais pour un groupe d'amis ou une famille souhaitant passer plusieurs jours en pleine nature avec tout le confort cela me semble parfait !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sabine from Erlangen

Romantisches Cottage

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Tolles Bad, schöne Innenausstattung, das Cottage war zur begrüssung mit frischen Blumen-Arrangements geschmückt
Wir haben die 2 Nächte in diesem romantischen und toll ausgestatteten Cottage sehr genossen. Ein idealer Ausgangspunkt für Ausflüge in den Volcano nationalpark!