Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Petaluma

Waikoloa Colony Villas

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: I can't think of anything I didn't like, we didn't want to leave.
Cons: The barbeques could use updating, as some of the burners didn't work.
Location: A Bay, is the closest beach with Ocean Sports. Mauna Kea Beach (snorkeling), and Hapuna Beach are my favorites. Dolphin Quest at the Hilton Waikoloa
Beautiful resort in the Waikoloa Area. Check-in was at different resort, that was very hard to find. We had to call for directions, even using a GPS. Our unit was clean and comfortable, with everything you could possible need for a stay in paradise. The pool area and hot tub were beautiful and clean. There were 4 barbeques and tables adjacent to the pool. Our unit had beach chairs and an umbrella as well as a boogie board to use. This is a great value not having to rent them. There is a shopping center and a wonderful market nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Alaska

A Piece of Paradise

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: It felt like home and we made some of our favorite memories around the dinner table each day. We also saved a lot of money by preparing our own meals
Cons: The maintenance of the asphalt resurfacing was a bit stressful because we had to find other parking and had to walk to get to our room with luggage.
Location: It is in a great location for shopping, restaurants, and sightseeing, and centrally located for exploring all parts of the Big Island.
We stayed for 15 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff was exception in their service and prompt attention to any needs which arose. The grounds were beautiful and very quiet. The location is very close to a variety of services and activities. We will definitely plan to stay here the next time we come to the Big Island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Dave Schneider, Hotel Management
Aloha Catherine! Thank you for your review. We're so glad you felt at home during your stay and that you appreciated our great location, as well as were well taken care of by our staff. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to our construction, and appreciate your patience while we invest in improving our property. We can't wait to welcome you back to our island haven again! Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Wonderful family accommodations in lovely setting

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: comfortable for a family, fully equipped kitchen, lovely environment
Cons: eventually, perhaps could use a bit of updating
Location: beach has activities like paddle boarding, kayaking and whale watching tours. Lava Lava Club nearby to unwind with a drink, right on beach.
From the warm welcome from Danette at the reception in the Shores to our departure experience, the process was painless. Wonderful accommodations for a family with a fully equipped kitchen where we found everything we could want to prepare meals. Proximity to beach and two lovely pools in gated community with nice walking paths. Loved having coffee in the morning on the lanai and watching the birds forage on the grass and surrounding shrubbery!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

An excellent property.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Huge space, very well planned lay out, helpful staff.
A very well maintained fabulous property and it exceeded my expectation, highly recommended !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a nice stay on the big Island

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness, amenities and quality/friendliness of the Hotel Staff
Cons: Appliances and some furniture are starting to show their wear, making washing dishes or even finding a comfortable way to sit at the dining table hard
Location: Lots.. and recommend going to the nearby beaches, and heading south to Kona for day trips
Great location, great sized units and all amenities as required for a very pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Out of the way of places of instrest. Need a car

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The rooms were very nice
Cons: need transportation
Location: Shops near bye
Hard time checking in after hours Got a parking summons for not parking in right place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious condo on golf course

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Nice quiet grounds that are very walkable. Grocery shopping is close by.
Cons: Be aware that check in & out are at a different condo complex office with posted office hours and a gated entry. Plan your travel times accordingly!
Location: Golf, beach, petroglyph trails
Nice view of golf course, well maintained landscaping, and two pools provide nice quiet surroundings. Petroglyph trails, beaches and golf are all very close by. The condo itself is a very spacious two-story, with all bedrooms upstairs. Big kitchen with lots of seating. The beds, linens and all upholstered furnishings are tired, but serviceable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington

Great place and staff

Posted Sep 4, 2016
This is our second trip back to the Big Island. We loved the Waikoloa Colony Villas the first trip that we made sure we booked again this pat trip. It's like home away from home. The office staff is very accommodating. We had a slight problem with the unit we were first given. The fridge want working right. Danette at the front desk, immediately gave us another unit! We will for sure return here on our next visit with our extended family.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brief Overnight Stay

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
The registration clerk was excellent. Extremely nice and helpful. Only stayed overnight late arrival/early morning departure. Didn't make use of any amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii Island, HI

Quiet and peaceful

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Orbitz
My initial thought at check in was weird. Check in was at a completely different condo. The upside to that initial experience was unlimited DVD rentals. That was cool. As we drive to the property in which we stayed I was immediately impressed at the cleanliness and decent landscaping of the entire property. When we entered the condo, it was clean and furnished well. The downfall was the outdated television in living room and master bedroom. It was the only reason why I did not rate an excellent across the board. Other than that, there are two pools so it was never crowded. There is a fitness area but we didn't get a chance to check it out. It's quiet and peaceful and a walking distance to kings shops (we always drove cause it can get really hot).