Ratings based on 1,004 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Nice staff. A bit tired. Good for Hilo. Great base to explore the volcano
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Got an upgrade to Oceanside. Simply lovely!

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Room
Cons: The pool
We stayed for only one nite. However, the view of the ocean and ponds was delightful. A short walk to sand island. A lovely walk under the banyan trees. Simply lovely. Really enjoyed the stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2017
The drinks are overpriced and not made well or quickly. I spent 10 mins waiting for a margarita on the rocks. She put sugar not salt on the rim
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maui

Older hotel, but well managed and good location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Best little hotel in Hilo. My 3 kids like swimming in the pool, fishing in the back, the little coconut island and walk thru Japanese gardens. Such a pleasant place! We had a car and could quickly drive to nearby sites like Rainbow Falls and Bay Front shopping. Breakfast buffet at the hotel is easy solution for families. And my son and I ate plenty of yummy crab at the seafood buffet too. The Waioli bar is a relaxed place to hang out. Staff is always cheerful and helpful. Rooms are quite clean. Parking is free and easy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Personable and professional staff, very welcoming and quick to get me checked in and on my way. Clean rooms, and excellent housekeeping services. Very pleased with this hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Room was dusty & not enough towels we had for acclimate 4 people..................!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice hotel with modest price. Nice view

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Huge room compared with the hotels in O,ahu also parking is free. We had a gorgeous view of Hilo bay.
Cons: a little cleaner.
Location: Great location. Ken's Pancake is very close. Located right on Hilo bay.
Lots of Aloha. Like the old Hawaii hospitality used to be. Older hotel but very nice for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Yes
Close to everything. Quiet and was extremely pleased with staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kailua kona hawaii

hotel stay

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Bed was comfortable. they also tried to honor request.
Cons: Management communications
I will let you know that this hotel still needs some maintenance. My room bathtub was broken and unsanitary. I told the person in charge and they said they would correct the situation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel right on the water

Posted Jun 30, 2017
The staff at the Hilo Hawaiian were extremely friendly and helpful, the hotel is very comfortable & well maintained, and the location is gorgeous. I did have s problem with the air conditioner in my room, but the staff immediately took care of it & moved me to a new, upgraded room. Easy parking, great beds, amazing views, central location, and quiet atmosphere. I'll definitely stay here again anytime I'm on the Big Island.