Ratings based on 926 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Right next to the shoreline
Cons: Need major improvement
The whole place was under construction, the hotel staff was never there. When you do run into them, they are on the phone pretending to be busy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room issues

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Bedroom had no air conditioner only in living room. It was so hot in the bedroo. Carpet dirty, bathtub dirty, sofa bed was sliding down, closet was used as storage.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Not impressed.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Location was alright.
Cons: Staff was really not helpful.
Location: We weren't there long enough. We moved on!
Staff was not accommodating, friendly or helpful. Room was OK, nothing to make me go back for.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Total rip off

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Dirty, very old, everything is outdated or broken. Pool is under construction for all summer when I asked why Expedia did not have this mention about resort they said "Oh don't trust Expedia..! We are not responsible what they say about our hotel..." Also there were extra changes for every little thing: resort fee, cleaning your room after you check out $150 fee, to use your safe box in your room extra daily fee!!! Ridiculous :((
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by -Management, Hotel Management
I would like to apologize for you recent experience with our hotel. We are in the process of many updates and will reach out to our travel partners to make sure they are displaying current information. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kona, HI

Nice room. Pool was being redone

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pool was being redone and out of order until August. Did have use of one at another hotel but very inconvenient. Room was nice and had a washer/dryer. The view was amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by -Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your patience and understanding during our renovations. We appreciate our guests and are working towards providing the best experience possible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Close to surfing beach. Grocery right downstairs.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
The room was dated and the air conditioning broken. They sent someone to check it but it still blew hot air. There were ants all over kitchen area, the water was shut off the day of checkout by 9am for repairs on another floor. The hotel pool was being remodeled so they did offer the use of a pool of another hotel a driving distance away. On the bill there were unexpected fees as well. Overall I would not recommend this condo nor would I recommend it either.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HI

HUGE FEES ADDED TO BILL WHILE WE WERE CHECKING IN

Posted Jun 15, 2017
Pros: The location was good. Lots to do and see on the Kona side of the Big Island
Cons: Don't spring fees on us at check in! Or at least actually clean the room since we paid extra for it! Hotel lobby was under construction-pool closed
Location: Wonderful snorkeling, Kona Brewery
Good location is about the only positive thing we can say about this place. We used Expedia points to get this hotel for a great deal for one night. Sounded like a great reward, BUT we were assessed $75 in additional fees for that one night - including a $50 CLEANING FEE. That's over double what we originally paid for the room using our Expedia rewards. The room floor was dirty, one of the bathroom towels actually had gray dirt streaks all over it and the overall condition was run down and dirty. NOT what I'd expect for $50 CLEANING FEE! Review would be more positive if not for the extra fees and apathetic staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nelson, BC

Great views, big room, helpful staff

Posted Jun 11, 2017
I stayed here in April with my wife and 10 month old. I had read a lot of reviews about dirty rooms and rude staff so I called the hotel directly to ask about the specific things we needed. I spoke to Samantha at the front desk and she was superb, making sure that I was accommodated. When we got there we were given a one bedroom that was clean but it had no bathtub, which we preferred for our son. Samantha let me take a look at a few other rooms the next morning and we found another oceanfront that suited us. I recommend getting a one bedroom with the bedroom and living room both facing the ocean. There is a sliding partition that separates the two which you can leave open during the day to make the place bigger and brighter. We were a little concerned about sound-proofing for the baby but the sound of the surf is the perfect white noise that drowns everything else out. The oceanfront rooms are meters from the beach, which is mainly rock pools with a small pocket of white sand. We sat in the shallows to cool off and explored the tide pools full of hermit crabs. Turtles parked themselves right in front everyday. There is a surf spot just south of hotel which makes good watching from the lanai. The location is close enough to Kona to be convenient but far enough away to avoid the congestion and partiers of the tourist strip. There is poke in the hotel which is perfect for lunch and always fresh. There's a snorkel cove 5 minutes south. Recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was pleasant! We continuously strive towards excellence and it warms the heart when it is reflected in such wonderful feedback. Thank you!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

Worst hotel ever

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Wouldn't recommend to anybody's, Worst place (Hotel) ever stayed
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Make sure you read the fine print.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Hotel was reasonably close to downtown activities.
Cons: Hotel is very dated. Bed was generally cheap quality, and the in-room AC was very loud. Drowns out any sound of surf.
Extra $100-$150 "cleaning fee" that is tacked-on to your bill and is hard to find in the small print. Check-in is by 5 PM, with no real options for a late check-in. For the price plus cleaning fee, you'd be better served spending a bit more and going to a better hotel/condo.