Ratings based on 565 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF

OK....HOTEL... great location/ view of the beach !

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: LOCATION, VIEW....A BEACH WAS NEXT TO PROPERTY...
Cons: I DID 'T APPRECIATE...HAVING TO DRIVE....TO ANOTHER LOCATION..1.5 Miles to check in??? I HAD A RENT A CAR...WHAT IF I DIDN'T??? EXPEDIA..NO WARNING!
The Hotel was located in a convenient spot, near the main downtown area etc...a short drive to the pier ..other restaurants etc... The staff was professional...etc... I think for what I $$$ (200 @ night ? Was too much) I have traveled to kona ...for over 10 yrs...& HAVE Stayed at different types of locations in kona _ this was the first time!! I had to "check in" at another hotel location?? Approximately 1.5 miles... !! I had a rented a car so...I guess.... no worries ... But what if I didn't!!! Expedia..provided No info /warning ect.... about this _ having to check in at another hotel location ( a sister hotel??) Thus my experience ..on this trip with these accommodations..I RATE as just OK.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Kona Reef has no onsite Management so Kona Bali Kai down the street manages. Samantha is awesome and very responsive. This is not a hotel but condos and some are privately owned- so we dealt with construction noise next door. Beds are hard as a rock but everything else was great. Washer and dryers in units and all kitchen necessities that you can possibly need. Close to town but far enough away to not deal with it if you don't want to. Great location and great views!!!! No sand beach which is typical for Kona.
1 out of 5
by Andrea

No stay at all

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
The property may be amazing but we'll never know. We booked through Hotels.com and I then placed a call to the property directly to confirm our booking and get instruction for late check in. We arrived and got our rental car, arrived to the property at about 10:40 PM , found the posted # to call, were given the run around, placed multiple calls to them, and 40 min later left the property after being told we had no reservation. The manager finally called at 1:40 AM but we had found alternate lodging and let it go to voicemail. Hotels.com has refunded us and the Castle properties has stated their general manager will be in contact. Horrible experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great location;cleanliness& upkeep depend on owner

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: The location was amazing. I loved that it was right on the beach and that all rooms have at least a partial view of the ocean.
Cons: Cleanliness and maintenance/upkeep of the condo was a major issue for unit B-33. More than 4 towels for a party of 3 for a week is needed.
Location: On the ocean &walking distance to restaurants, shopping, and farmers market. Easy access for snorkeling and SUP but lots of lava rocks
This is our 2nd time staying at the Castle Kona Reef. The room from our 1st experience 4 years ago was very clean and well maintained with a lovely ocean view even from our garden view room. Our room on this trip was disappointing in regards to cleanliness and poor upkeep/maintenance. The bathroom tub had mold along all the molding and the shower door tracks were corroded, rusting and filled with mold. The sink in the bathroom was not clean and had soap scum on the faucet and grime between the faucet and the wall; including other people's hair trimmings. It was disgusting to say the least and I complained. The staff took down the information and reduced our cleaning fee. The kitchen needed maintenance with a broken handle on the microwave and the dishwasher falling out of the wall every time we loaded it. The bedroom closet doors were broken and would not close properly and would not stay on the tracks. The bedroom appeared clean as did the living room, kitchen and dining area. The view and location however, was amazing! We had a garden view room but nearly all rooms have at least a partial view of the ocean. We loved drinking coffee and eating breakfast on the lanai and ending our day with a beer watching the ocean hit the shore. Overall, I recommend staying here but must caution that the rooms will vary greatly depending on owner and whether the condominium takes care of the cleaning and upkeep or if the owner does. I do not recommend staying in unit B33.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Management doesn't care

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Had to move to another resort because no water in shower. Lost ocean view,laundry,walking distance to Kona. Fillipe Domingo (manager at both resorts) won't return repeated phone calls. I don't understand how a hospitality manager can completely ignore his guest.
4 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Passing the buck is what they do best.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
This was my second stay here. Also my last. Paid a huge cleaning fee and didn't get it when I was supposed to. Had to go 2 days with no toilet paper. Used dirty towels for 5 days. Staff is impossible to get a hold of. They won't return my calls or emails about the problems. Also, the Place needs serious upgrades. Stay at any of the hundreds of other places on amd around Ali'i. Don't waste your money here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kona, hawaii

don't recommend

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Close to restaurants walking distance that part was great
Unexpected $130 charge for deep cleaning. As far as I'm concerned when we moved into condo B21 no deep cleaning ha been done The verticals sliding door facing the Lanai in the street where in the closet. The owners have not paid the phone bill so we had no phone no Wi-Fi. We've been moved toB02 nice room but still obviously no deep cleaning has been done. We expected Cable in there wasn't any in this condo. Do not stay there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Room had a great view. Could have been a little cleaner around the floors. Smelled a little musty. But that is hard to get away from in Hawaii. Employees super nice and helpful. Location is good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We had a beautiful view of the ocean

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Our plane arrived at night. Even though their check in staff were out they had a way for us to get into our rooms. Loved the kitchen and washer dryer.
Location: Right next to the public beach. A short drive from the tourist shops/restaurants. Not far from a Walmart/grocery store.
We loved everything about this room. It had the best view at night. The sun would set perfectly between two palm trees. It was beautiful.