Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Diamond Bar

Hilo Vacation

Posted May 22, 2017
Nice renovated rooms. Parking by hotel is limited but lots across the street. The staff was awesome & so friendly. They do get busy & they do their best to try & accommodate your needs. Each rooms has a fridge & microwave. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A sweet surprise

Posted May 21, 2017
Rooms were very clean, awesome View and they give you a sweet treat (chocolate chip cookie) when you check in. I will stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maui, hawaii

Nice hotel

Posted May 19, 2017
Enjoyed our overnight stay. Staff was friendly, rooms were clean and hotel was conveniently located to restaurants and shopping
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Allen, TX

Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo has potential

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: The room; the exercise room; the pool; the buffet breakfast; the view from the room; and being on the water.
Cons: Information in the room. Additional dining options, this should be fixed once the renovations are completed. Bar waitress. Sauna
Location: Waterfalls, volcanoes, lava tubes, rain forests, hiking, horseback rides, snorkeling, canoeing, fishing, restaurants, zip lining, helicopter rides etc
Overall the Naniloa has great potential but needs to work on a few things. The main restaurant was under renovation so the only meals available were in the buffet restaurant. Most hotels have a brochure in the rooms describing what amenities are available.Here the staff describes them on check-in and when asked. The room was as described and the daily cleaning was great. We took several wonderful pictures of the view of the bay and of Mount Mauno Loa from the balcony..Sunday morning was so clear you could the telescope observatories on Mount Mauno Loa that I got some good pictures. Since there was not any information left in the room we did not use room service so I cannot rate that. There is an outstanding exercise room on the ground floor that is available 24/7 with many new machines and free weights but no sauna. There is one bar that does pretty good but there was no waitress service when we there. All of the hotel staff that we met and talked to were very friendly and eager to help. Once the renovations are completed and the minor observations noted above are fixed this will be an outstanding hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambria, CA

No Services

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Very little
Cons: More services and dinning choices
Location: The location was OK but very near run down condos and decaying structures
We were very disappointed to find there was no room service, no pool service, one buffet diner with limited choice and constant maintenance noise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rooms are nice great view of Hilo bay.

Posted May 13, 2017
Hotel staff was not helpful on multiple occasions. Drinks at the bar are way over priced even for a hotel in Hawaii.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, ON

Close to airport

Posted May 10, 2017
The staff were very pleasant. The Lobby is gorgeous. The rooms are just okay. They were clean but nothing special. It is a great location if you book any tours with Kapohokine Adventures as their office is inside the hotel lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA

Cute hotel hidden from city lights

Posted May 8, 2017
Our stay here was so great! Our first room was really nice we had a couple issues including bad allergies, so they were nice enough to move us and our second room was EXTRA nice. We loved everything about this place!!! Andrew the bartender was such a huge help with everything!! The whole staff was just great! Mahalo to everyone who made our stay incredible :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, poor management.

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Location. Close to crossroad of major hwys 11 and 19, in the same time - quiet. 724 room has astonishing view on the Hilo bay and even the observatory
Cons: Management. They should think more about customer needs. And, please get rid of cockroaches. It is quite unpleasant.
Cockroach infestation (real, not joking). Newly renovated room has pleasant look but terrible design. Large room has very little useful space. No place for luggage, boots, wet coat. Parking size is too small for hotel. Probably inspired by the bold move by United Airlines, the management found “excellent” solution. On April 16 they introduced the Valet Parking – all close, convenient spaces were reserved for the valet. People who do not want to pay $20 (per day) should park across the street on abandoned golf course parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angelas

Posted May 6, 2017
When we arrived, we got lost from the parking lot and one of the staff ( we forgot to ask his name) very friendly and helpful to guide us to the lobby. Thanks to him! We greeted with chocolate cookies from Susan. Thank you and it's delicious! The room is clean and have nice view. Close to all restaurant and attraction places. The bar is great with dancers performances and singing entertaining . We will definitely come back to this hotel again!