Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in Hilo

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Pros: Upon check in I was given a warm cookie (nice touch), love the location, amenities, tidepools, walking distance to coconut island.
Cons: Get rid of the bugs.
It was a pleasure to stay at Grand Naniloa Hotel; great property, the landscape and views of the harbor is amazing, I love the tidepools and walking distance to Coconut Island and Liliuokalani Gardens. The rooms was great besides the little cockroaches that I found in the microwave; 2 queens beds was awesome, micro, little refrigerator, coffee pot, I paid for harbor/ocean view but got parking lot and a portion of the harbor. The shower could also use a regular shower head, I got one for handicapped. Free self parking is a big plus!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with sea turtle visitors!

Posted Jun 20, 2017
Pros: The view, the sea turtles, and the open air design of the lobby.
Cons: It could use more parking and the tubs are set higher than the floor, so it is a big step down if you are unsteady on your feet.
Location: Centrally located. Must check out the Hilo Farmers Market for shopping (especially on Wednesday and Saturday) and the shops downtown for gifts.
If your looking for a hotel on the Hilo side of the Big Island, this is the probably the nicest one there is. The Hilo side of the island is not as touristy as the Kona side and doesn't sport the number of resorts it does. This is a nice hotel. The rooms are comfortable, but not huge. If you stay, you need to get the ocean view, because that is what makes the price of the stay worth it. The water hits the rocks below and even up on the 5th floor, you can hear the waves hitting the rocks. The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms were a bit small. It does have a microwave and refrigerator both, so that can help save a bit of money on food if you use it. It is centrally located to everything. 10 minutes to the grocery store, 10 minutes to down town. And the entire coast is littered with small beach parks. We hit up CarlSmith Beach park at high tide (though I would recommend going at low tide because it will turn into shallow tidal pools, and I swam with a sea turtle. You can rent kayaks and paddle boards in the lobby for use in the bay. I think the best part of my stay personally though was the fact that every day we were at the hotel between 4 and 5:30, they had daily sea turtle visitors right outside the hotel. 2 or 3 of them would come into the little alcoves on shore to swim and eat. It was amazing to sit and watch. Made the whole stay worth it for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the water; not far from downtown Hilo area where there are a number of eating places.
Definitely enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Only downside was available parking immediately adjacent to hotel; had to end up parking in overflow parking across the street from the hotel entry point. Not big deal but limited hotel parking for the size of the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Pros: The staff was nice
Cons: A better room
Location: ok
Did not like the room . Window from room to the bath room was very uncomfortable. I have no desire to stay at Doubletree again .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eagle Mountain, Utah

Fabulous setting on the ocean

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: The setting. The staff. The amenities. The ocean. The view. The price.
Cons: The parking.
Location: The location on the ocean is amazing. The golf course with the trees. The park and bridge and downtown Hilo with the farmers market and restaurants.
I stayed at this hotel in the summer of 2016 when I was on the island working when they were in the middle of the remodeling work. It was okay but a little "messy" because of the construction which I understand. The overall location and amenities of the hotel brought me back with my Wife for a second Honeymoon. The setting of this hotel is amazing! It sits out on a point surrounded by black lava rock with a great view of Hilo bay. I snorkeled right in front of the hotel and pool area and saw turtles, sting ray, barracuda, and hundreds of fish. They are still working on the restaurant but the rest of the hotel is finished. I think once the restaurant is open it will be the best hotel on the Hilo side by far. The room was great, the common areas and lobby were really nice, the staff were friendly and helpful and overall the hotel is first class. I will stay there on all my visits.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2017
The hotel itself appears older, not so updated. The room was clean and nice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best place I've Ever Stayed!

Posted May 24, 2017
The 4th floor mini-suite had spectacular views and the serf right below it, just wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well-Kept Hotel Located on Bay

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Beautiful location; attractive grounds; close to airport; large clean bath; nice pool; scenic views; friendly staff
Cons: restaurant is an expensive joke; parking lot is large but not large enough for extra crowd, room cramped,
Location: swimming, snorkeling, boating, fishing, paddle boarding, kayaking, scenic drives, zip line, horseback riding, museum, botanical gardens, lots of other
Our hotel room was clean & had a microwave, small fridge, coffee maker, & safe. The bath was huge - almost as big as our room. The room had a queen size bed that didn't leave much space for our full size suitcases to sit. I ended up unzipping my suitcase every time I needed something, then re-zipping & standing the case in front of the room's closet. My husband & I like two cups of coffee in the morning & my request for extra coffee/creamer/sugar was honored with varying degrees of accuracy, apparently depending on which hotel staffer was on duty. I asked for an extra washcoth each day & got that just fine. We had a balcony room with a breathtaking view of the bay & Mauna Kea mountain. The hotel has modified the shoreline, creating mini coves & inlets where we saw sea turtles, a small manta, a pufferfish, & lots of colorful fish. We spent a lot of time sitting on our balcony watching paddle boarders, snorkelers, etc. Friday night was a pain - the hotel hosted a body building contest & my husband & I were forced to park out in the street far from the hotel. When my husband complained, the hotel offered to have our vehicle parked by a valet at no charge. We were already parked & it was late so my husband declined. There is a restaurant on-site, but it is very expensive & only offers a choice between two entrees. The food isn't very good, either. We found a nearby, locally owned, cafe that stays open 24-7 & offers a wide variety of good food much cheaper.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Diamond Bar

Hilo Vacation

Posted May 22, 2017
Nice renovated rooms. Parking by hotel is limited but lots across the street. The staff was awesome & so friendly. They do get busy & they do their best to try & accommodate your needs. Each rooms has a fridge & microwave. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A sweet surprise

Posted May 21, 2017
Rooms were very clean, awesome View and they give you a sweet treat (chocolate chip cookie) when you check in. I will stay again