Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Michael from Annapolis, Maryland

off the beaten path

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels
Owner was very informative and knowledgeable. Gave great tips on places to go and things to see. Places to eat in Volcano. are scarce. There were no other guests there w hen we were there. The house is large, clean and well appointed. Skip the free breakfast and get it at Cafe Ohia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great host, eh bed and breakfast

Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels
The best thing about this bed and breakfast is the manager. She knows every aspect of the island and can give you advice on what to do, and where to go. If you have never been to the Big Island, I would highly recommend this location just for her knowledge (as well as the location). However, breakfast is mediocre at best - it is store bought, pre-made food and the coffee (considering you are on Hawaii) was pretty bad. The rest of the bed and breakfast needs a good thorough cleaning - there were dust bunnies in the bathrooms - and the carpet was damp from humidity. So if you have been to Hawaii before, skip this bed and breakfast. If you have never been before, stay here a few nights to learn what to do from the host.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2014
wonderful,beautiful beach, excellent location, I will recommend to my all friends.
5 out of 5
by Francine Alexander from Kailua Kona

Peaceful, amazing oasis set apart from Volcano tow

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
Overall, this must be close to heaven. It is very Hawaiian, so be prepared for slippahs-off, laid back, papaya breakfasts. Mahi was a lovely hostess and when there were no other guests we were given the privilege of full reign of the house. The house is about 6000sq. feet, complete with backyard swing, lawn, trail into private rainforest, 3 wood burning fireplaces, 2 person tub, TV and full kitchen. It was just wonderful, peaceful and the best medicine for whatever ails ya!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Large and comfortable

Posted Aug 28, 2014
The host was wonderful and helpful. The place was huge. It would be great if you want to book multiple rooms. Check out their website directly to see all the possible rooms you can book.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kailua-Kona, HI

Peaceful, but not suitable for allergy sufferers.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Cons: The carpet should be either completely removed or replaced.
The house is at the end of a quiet road, and has nice large common areas. Most of the rooms are quite spacious and have nice Hawaiian quilts. Our original room (the Kea'au Room) had a strong smell of mildew and was quite narrow. The manager (we never met the owners) moved us to two adjoining rooms which were nicer. However, there is wall-to-wall carpeting throughout the house (except the kitchen and one common room), and Volcano is a rain forest. Our son had the worst asthma attack of his life, and had to stay on the lanai or in the kitchen. Each time he tried to go back to his carpeted bedroom his asthma got worse. We had to leave very early the next morning, but the caretaker left out breakfast food for us. Unfortunately, the milk was spoiled (the best before date was from almost two weeks previous) and the cereal stale. Perhaps if we had been there later for the caretaker to prepare the breakfast, it would be have better. Even though we paid for a second night we decided to leave after the first.
5 out of 5
by Jen from Australia

Quiet, comfortable and convenient

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels
Although the drive to the accommodation seemed to be long, the lush surroundings, comfortable house, pleasant and helpful manager and access to many of the natural attractions of the island made it very enjoyable. You, obviously, need to have a car to take advantage of the location.
5 out of 5
by Jorge Amaya from Mexico

Excelent place to stay!

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels
Just 5 minutes away from Volcano village, excelent service, makes you feel as home, will stay again.
5 out of 5
by Richard & Peggy from Bethlehem PA

Volcano best of trip visit

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels
An amazing location which is only about 5 miles from the volcano national park. The size of the home is very large. Great recommendations were provided for meals and sites to visit. The grounds were filled with beautiful flowers and trees.
5 out of 5
by Conchita from SF

Home away from home

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed for 2 nights in late April 2014. We like the place immediately once we found the house. It took us quite sometime to locate the house as it was dark and we were not sure if we were in the right place as it was in wooded area and away from the main businesses. The host is very kind and welcoming and went out of her way to prepare special food for me when she learned that I was on special diet. The property has its own rain forest! We felt like home so when we left, we forgot to leave the tips.