Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Maciej

Very nice, spacious, neat with a big garden

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
The house and the garden were really amazing. Common area was really spacious and the whole house is generally neat and well looked after. Iron, soap, hair dryer etc. all available. There was also a parking space. We arrived quite late (after the check in hours) so the owner left the keys for us and her phone number (there was a telephone inside the house that we could use which was convenient as we are not from the US). The owner explained everything to us and was very nice. We were there in February and actually had the whole house to ourselves. However, they don't do breakfasts anymore unlike it's stated on hotels.com . The only thing we didn't like is that on the clean bed sheets and covers there was also an electric heating blanket on top, which didn't have a cover on and felt unhygienic as it was probably used like that before. We used a small heater in the room that kept us perfectly warm at night. In general, we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the place :)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

No more breakfast offered

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Tranquility. The place is located almost the bottom of the road which you feel almost in the middle of nowhere so no noise at all.
Location: There are a lot of things to do around Volcano National park. Make sure you buy some food in Hilo as the number of restaurants and shops are limited.
We booked this place because it was advertised as a bed & breakfast but we were told that they no longer offer breakfast. Well it's OK as anyone who stays this place should have a car (otherwise you can't reach) to get some food but I thought the way they advertised on Expedia was misleading. The place was a huge house with 6 or 7 bedrooms with ensuite and had a large garden. For our first night we didn't have other guests and the place didn't seem to have had guests for a couple of days before so the whole house was very cold when we arrived. There were a few fire places but we didn't use them because we simply didn't like to cause any trouble. So we ended up turning on a few small convection heaters in our room and the lounge which were not that effective to heat that huge house. When another guest arrived and used their room's heater the electricity breaker went off which made us to call the owner to reset the breaker. She obviously looked unpleasant being called after dark and told us to reduce the heaters, which was obviously not a welcomed instruction. Maybe the place does not have such issue during summer or when it's got more guests but we were not quite happy with the way they dealt with the situation. So overall the atmosphere of the place itself was nice and Volcano is the place definitely worth visiting but I would look for other place for my accommodation if you don't like to struggle with the cold house.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no stay

Posted Jun 25, 2016
cancelled in plenty of time (almost two weeks) before scheduled arrival and did nit receiver a full refund Two night at $424.56 and was told I'd only get a refund of $146.66. Cheated out of almost $300.00. Robbery!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Felt at home

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Lovely place, I wanted to experience what is to live in big island with the comfort I had at home, and I got it. This is a beautiful house surrounding by nature in the country side of the mountain, very close to the volcano national park. If you don't mind sharing a house with other guests this is a great deal and very good experience. The room had it own bathroom. Other rooms can accommodate more people, before making a decision you should call Mahi, very helpful and excellent people and customer service skills. Definitely for the price and experience we would return here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Private and quiet Big Island retreat

Posted Mar 11, 2016 on Hotels
This is a home, not really a hotel. We were the only guests during our stay. The caretaker (who lives offsite) gave us excellent tips on visiting Volcanoes National Park. The setting, while remote, was exactly what we wanted - quiet and private. Our breakfast was "make it yourself" with items supplied in the refrigerator. Downside: Had to purchase the coffee. We were really pleased with the speed of the WiFi connection; we were uploading our pictures to the internet, and at other places we stayed, the connections was too slow to do that. The house was pretty cold, but that is to be expected as the house sits at about 4,000 ft elevation. All in all, a very good value and we enjoyed our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Damp cold and smelly bedroom

Posted Dec 26, 2015 on Wotif
Impressive large family house with beautiful deck and garden. Well presented with a lovely lounge and dining room and all decorated for Christmas. The manager was very helpful and friendly with lots of tips on where to visit, buy lunch etc. Well located for visiting the Volcano area but the bedroom was cold and damp and smelly. We slept fully clothed in long thermal underwear and fleeces! The dehumidifier that was roaring away should have been replaced long ago and switched on a lot more. The bedding was very old, the bath towels too. Small investments would make this a nice place to stay but as it was, it wasn't.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from v

Finding paradise

Posted May 1, 2015
Always came home to a tidy home ((stayed 2weeks) loved the coffee and the fruit each morning, Mahi always had sis festoons for us to do and eat out at. Local inside information. Went to see the volcano eruption, hadn't erupted since 1968? The lodge is very big and beautiful.. Hidden back in the countryside everthough the frist drive at night might seem far or like your lost it's easy after the first trip 4.4 miles excactly off hwy 11 off wright rd just fallow it up there's a left bend in the roads then about 1 mile there's a rt turn then a small country one lane travel it 1.4 miles look for the st sign that reads sleepy hallo slow down it's the next left driveway pull pup to the main entry unload then park into the marked parking area, don't forget to take your shoes off, local tradition..... Enjoy your stay as we did...... Aloha
5 out of 5
by Wilhelm from Vienna

luxury near Halemaumau

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
The best Location (comfort, value for Price, garden, terrace etc.) I found in 3 weeks on the Islands. remark: the Location is hard to find, a detailed map on the link would be appreciated
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blackfoot, Alberta

Hidden Beauty in the Rainforest

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: The hostess was so helpful, the rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and breakfast was great. You felt very welcomed and at home at Halana Hale.
Cons: Just a couple ruts if you dirve out the 1 way, but not only way to exit.
Location: Volcano Village a short drive away has grocery stores/gas station, art gallery, variety of restaurants, gift shops, and nearby is Volcano National Par
The hostess gave accurate directions to get there, was very informative of which way was the best to travel depending on the weather, what to check out on the way there and back. Also what there was in the area to do, and what places we could go to eat while describing them perfectly. Breakfast was very enjoyable, and trying new things was awesome. To us it was a short drive off the main road thru the rainforest that was so enjoyable. The variety of plants, and smells we all enjoyed getting away to someplace quiet and peaceful. All of us had a great 2 nights sleep, the beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. I would definitely stay there again, and suggest staying to anyone going to Hawaii, especially if they are visiting the Volcano area to spend time there. For it was so convenient to stay there and see everything in the Volcano area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels
The owner is very helpful with info about the National Park and other sights in the area. The location is very convenient to the National Park, about 10 minutes from 'downtown' Volcano, at the end of a long, very secluded road. You get a room, with a lock on the door, but otherwise, it is like sharing a large house with a bunch of other people - there were about 15 guests when we stayed. I imagine the quality of the visit changes considerably when there are fewer guests. The walls are thin, so at times you can be very aware of the other guests. The breakfast - fresh fruit, coffee, rolls, yoghurt - was good enough. Don't expect a lavish buffet spread and you won't be disappointed. The best things about the place are the location and the friendly, knowledgeable owner.