Ratings based on 1,813 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chico, CA

Beach dream

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: The beach is the best - hotel rooms are nice, maid service is great, facilities are beautiful, food was great
Cons: I'm not a complainer - I loved and appreciated my vacation so much.
Location: close to waimea valley, beach, snorkeling, boogie boarding/body surfing, golf, frisbee, fun!
Amazing beach - I can't say enough about how lovely the water, snorkeling, boggie boarding, chairs and umbrellas, scenery were. The hotel feels welcoming and nice to walk around - it has a sheltered feel because it is on its own but you can walk to the sister resort or take a short drive grab a pizza and Cafe Pesto. We honestly didn't feel like leaving or doing much besides enjoying the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Massive, dated, decaying, great beach and pool

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Beach was great! Pool was great!
Cons: The customer service was terrible, in 2 ways. Nearly every employee ranged from apathetic to rude. Terrible lack of service at the poolside restaurant
Location: Beach. Pool.
Good: Beach Pool Bad: Customer service Dated buildings Decaying buildings
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Check for large conferences before booking

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: No other hotel can beat the view of Hapuna Beach. They also have the largest pool compare to many hotels in Hawaii
Cons: I stayed at this hotel many times and each time I find that the staff at the front desk are not very friendly. All other staff are very nice.
Location: It's the best to swim at Hapuna Beach and snorkel at the cove by the hotel.
I stayed at this hotel many times and each time has been very pleasant. However, there was a large conference with hundreds and hundreds of people at Hapuna Prince and Mauna Kea Hotel at my visit this time. Guests were loud and not very polite. If you want to enjoy this beautiful hotel quietly, I encourage you to call the hotel in advance to make sure they are not having a large conference.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful location and Facility but lacked the spe

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Food
Location: Right on one of the most beautiful Beaches in the world
cial attention and features to make it outstanding. Food was medicore and a lack of dining options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel. Great pool and best beach

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Staff always pleasant. Big rooms. Great housekeeping staff. best beach on island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautifull place. Great Beach

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Only drawback is limited options for dining, but food very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancaster, CA

Nice hotel but high prices for food

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Very nice property: excellent conditions, quiet, friendly staff. However, hospitality can improve. First they charge you for every little thing (in addition to the high daily resort fee). Next the food has very high prices (to the point of being ridiculous).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, AK

Excellent hotel, especially with the beach

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: the beach
Cons: May need some room updates done
Location: the beach is great
Excellent hotel on a great beach, the beach makes it even better. Treated very well by staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Lovely Hotel, location is wonderful!

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Cons: The signage could be better. I could see the pool and beach but it was a bit of a maze to find the way down. Also, finding the way to parking.
Location: Location is great! Close enough to see Waimea and the north coast.
I found everything to be more than expected! Clean room, wonderful atmosphere and accommodations, great food, friendly staff. Wish we would have arrived earlier and planned more time here!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2017
The hotel space would have been nice but it seemed like a war zone. Very little furnishing in public spaces. I later found out there are plans to renovate and it seems like they had emptied the place in preparation. Definitely NOT a four star property!