Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Hotel at the Top of the Hill

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Shower was refreshing.
Cons: People available to get light bulbs and to get advice on places to see if we had a question.
Location: Location was great and 2 thumbs up for the "Pinapple" restaurant we stumbled onto in Hilo. Great food!!
Would not of found the Legacy rental if we didn't have a GPS to find it for us. When we got there, had to double check that the address was correct. The house # was the convincer. There were 2 parking spaces for 3-4 guests. We got there at noon and found nobody there to answer any questions, where we could go until 3 PM check in. We went exploring (had a great time). At 3 PM, still no one at residence. After a few times knocking on door, an elderly gentleman answered and said his son was not home yet but he showed us to the room. Very nice gentleman. Turned out that would be the only time we saw him or his son. The room was small and cramped but OK. Had one queen bed to the left and a computer monitor on the small desk that served as the TV. There was a small closet for thingss to hang up (we didn't). The 10 foot wide by 4 foot wide bathroom had a commode in one side and sink in the middle with a shower stall in the other end. One light bulb near the shower stall worked. The other light bulb over the commode didn't. No one around to ask for another lght bulb either. There were two 110Voutlets in the main bedroom and none in the bathroom. Parking was either in the 2 available slots or down the road on the side of the road. We've stayed in hotels all over the world for the last 30 years. Not trying to be harsh to the owners. I hope the other rooms were better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2017
We had a wonderful stay here. It was quiet and had a lovely garden. I would definitely stay here again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Host was nice but Room was small, furniture was worn and is in serious need of an makeover
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Overnight before flight. Arrived late, left early. Convenient for check-in. Friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

HORRIBLE

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were super nice but everything else was BAD. OMG. They seriously need to get a new mattress. Mattress felt like it was old as the house. I felt the springs in the back, and the bathroom smells like urinal. I couldn't wait to get out in the morning and sooo glad i only had to stay for a day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Stay away from this " Hotel " we had to leave on the first day! The place was horrible the room that we got had 3 windows that you could not close. that night it was raining hard, the list goes on and on so the next morning we try to contact people at the front desk, no body was there we call so many times with no luck Expedia end up talking to them They say that they won't refund our money back because they say it was going to be hard to rented out, we came back three days after! Well the room that we stayed was already with new customer! So this so call Hotel make double profit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet spot on the hill away from people

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
I was not under the impression, when booking the hotel, I was renting a room in the owner's private residence. I thought it was a room among rooms of other travelers. I felt strange staying here, as we've never done that kind of lodging. We got there late at night, slept, and left early in the morning, as did the other guest that was there at the same time. The room we rented was very small, but that's okay, because we weren't there to spend time at the accommodation. The bathroom was not in great shape, but it was functional. The bed appeared old and uncomfortable, but we slept well. The home is on a hill and is very remote and quiet. We heard nothing the entire night. Parking is a challenge for anybody beyond 2 guests (you have to park down the street, down the hill). The father was friendly and helpful in our stay. Real nice guy; I just felt like I was trespassing in his home in staying there. We'd spend a little more to stay in a hotel if we were to come back to Hilo again. But I think this is a good accommodation for people to book. We likely won't ever come back to Hilo, but not because of this accommodation. We saw open hand-to-hand drug sales during the day in several places. We were in Hilo to spend time at the parks along the beaches, and snorkel. The marijuana use in the parks made us uncomfortable to spend time there. We've seen enough of Hilo. If we return to the island, we'll re-visit other areas we enjoyed more.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

No staff

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: rainbow fall.
don't axpect to any kind of help or assistance . No material when or where to go or to see. The place are only for sleeping (not in good condition).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

honeymoon? not here!

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
first let me start by saying that this is not a hotel. this is an appartment with 4 rooms and we got the small room -and they weren't kidding when they said SMALL. there is no orivacy in the toielt, everything is old, no place to put your stuff, the wife actually started crying when she so the room. nothing like you see in the pictures. not recomended!! BUT- first you need to considure that there are not too many hotels in hilo most of the places are appartments. second the location is good. and third the guy who welcomed us was nice... but I'm sorry to say that its just not recomended ):
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hou

My room is quite small

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Living room and patio are good equipped with nice furniture. Nice view from room.
Cons: Mattress is uncomfortable, decoration old and need to be improved. My room is small.