Ratings based on 2,381 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Quiet except for planes around 3:00 a.m. Beautiful landscaping Clean Close to some good eateries Makai'i!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: The ladies at the front desk were very helpful.
Location: Nothing, only the beach.
I could hear my neighbor on the phone at 4:00 am, not impressed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Just what we needed-clean and comfortable

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Staff, cleanliness, comfort
Location: In Hilo near liliuokalani gardens
We booked a room at this hotel at the last minute, when our island adventures had us farther from base camp later than we had planned. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, comfortable and AIR CONDITIONED. Exactly what we needed. The hotel is across from the Ice Pond, has a nice pool and does have a restaurant although we did not try that. Some reviewers have commented on traffic noise in certain rooms and I could see where that might be an issue. We had a "garden" room which was well insulated from any noise. Beds were comfortable. The hotel has a very nice Koi pond. Keep your expectations in check-this isn't a Four Seasons-but I'd recommend this clean, comfortable and reasonably priced hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: I liked this hotel. see experience above.
Cons: Rooms a bit dated. Instructions for remote A/C and refrigerator usage. Multiple language, in-room reminders as to where smoking is acceptable needed.
Location: Walking distance: park, fishing, water access; 24 hour restaurant (Ken's); sundry store; on site pool, garden, laundry; bike distance Japanese Garden.
It is evident that Management/Ownership cares for their hotel with all kinds of attention to detail: Laundry room - machines are good quality, folding table and soaps available. White painted lines at the edge of stairs, to assist with safety. Giselle picture/paintings, including some from Gaugin (?) whom visited Polynesian Islands many moons ago. A clean, tidy, and honorable museum is located within the hotel, and a word of the day is displayed at the front desk. Pool area and garden areas are in good condition and pleasant. (In fact, wished I had stayed another day to enjoy the pool.) Not so good: neighbor's smoking on the balcony/walk ways...smoke came into room, which defeats making use of the slanted window blades for fresh air. Restaurant is a nice addition, however, our one waitress, forgot multiple parts of my order and created a long wait to eat in addition to this. Location is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Perfect stay!

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Staff, size, cleanliness, quaintness, location, comfort of our room, the view, everything really!
Cons: The pool could be open for longer hours. But, that is not a deal breaker since the bay is right across the street.
Location: great location and walking distance from a lot of nice areas to explore.
The staff exuded aloha! We had a great time. Room and hotel were very comfy and clean. We will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Good value, comfortable hotel.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable furniture in a cheery lobby, good for visiting. With a koi pond to boot.
Cons: I was there for a reunion. We tried to chat in the pool area in the evening, but it closes at 6 and we weren't allowed to drink alcohol.
Location: Several restaurants, both cheap and fancy. A beach nearby where we swam and saw sea turtles.
Spent a week there. Great place, I'll stay there again if I ever go back to Hilo. Adequate but not fancy rooms equipped with a coffee maker and small refrigerator. Two chairs and a small table outside the room facing a garden courtyard. Great place to have a cup of coffee in the morning and a beer or two before bed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Hotel room we had was adequate, particularly for the price compared to other hotels. The hotel ground are nice but it is too close to the airport and industrial zone (our room was close to a factory and we could hear trucks coming in and leaving late at night and early mornings)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Location, common areas
Cons: Cleanliness of bathroom, restaurant staff.
Location: Nice beach parks close by.
The hotel was nice and clean outside, the location was nice, a couple of miles away from some nice beach parks. The room was ok, it seems a bit old but other than that it's a standard hotel room. My wife wasn't too happy about the cleanliness of the room, especially the toilet which didn't seem to have been cleaned properly. The staff at the restaurant for the breakfast was a bit rude, never offered coffee refill and wouldn't bring us orange juice (didn't offer the option to purchase it if it wasn't included). Overall a good value for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Cons: Getting suitcases down the stairs was a hassle.
Only stayed one night to catch a very early flight. However we will use it as a main base when we return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

enjoyed the hospitality

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: nice and clean
Cons: the plug-ins in the rooms could have more direction on the useage.
Location: waterfalls, helocopter rides. good food, downtown market, friendly people.
Easy to find location. People where friendly and helpful. A little more direction needed for the power supply outlets in the rooms. Thanks for a courteous stay.