Ratings based on 244 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Not too far from good restaurants and Volcano Park
Very small room with low ceilings ( can hit your head even if you are under 6 feet), the building is old and musty smelling. A bit misleading as it was an expensive hostel type room.
4 out of 5
by Steven

Cozy, Economical, and near volcano

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
The guest house is located very close to volcano national park. It was a good base from which to explore the park and the surrounding area. It's about 40 min from Hilo. I opted for a room with shared bathroom. It was reasonably priced. The room was small yet cozy, comfortable and clean. I only had to share a bathroom with one other room and it was adjacent to my bedroom. It didn't feel like a shared bathroom. The property was super clean (including shared spaces). The well equipped kitchen was great for meal prep. The staff were friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quit hotel for relaxation

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
Easy check-in and check-out. We stay at the upgraded room. Great room design and layout.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Emerson

Good value

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
He Volcano Hale was a great value for the money. The property is old but clean and practical. As long as you accept the fact that this property is for budget conscience travelers, you'll be happy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice Hotel near the Valcano National Park

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the Volcano National Park
This hotel was very close to the Volcano National Park entrance. If you plan on going to Jaggar Museum in the night, then this is a perfect place to do so. The room was very neat and we had a shared full kitchen and dining area. The shared bathrooms were very neat as well. Please plan on going to the hotel in day light, it is very difficult to find the hotel in dark. We collected the keys when there was still day light but we had to go to different building and it was a little difficult to find the address in dark. The volcano village is a cute small place. The rainforest was a different experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Nice stay but

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Nice hotel, nice room. But wifi was very awful ("Premium Wifi" was described but there was no "Premium Wifi, only one Wifi" said the manager)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kona, Hi

Close to the volcano

Posted Dec 10, 2016
It is close to the volcano and priced well. I do wish the check in was on site though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean, cozy stopover.

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Friendly, Clean, Convenient
Cons: None
Location: Volcano National Park and Thai restaurant. Try the "Lava Flow" Pina Colada.
This was a nice, clean, cozy stopover. Very conveniently located next to the volcano national park.