Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Havasu City, Arizona

Very nice room and pool. Easy walk to town.

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on CheapTickets
Very relaxing, quiet and close to town without all the noise
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wis

Nice hotel close to ocean

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Amy was awesome, she coordinated our activities in such a timely friendly manner enabling us to enjoy our stay without worrying about schedule or planning. The room was great only steps away from ocean with breathtaking views. Thanks for a great vacation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great condos near town

Posted Jan 14, 2017
This was our 5th stay at the Kona Reef and it was excellent as usual. Great ocean view condos with a pool and just a short walk to town make the Kona Reef our go to place in Kailua-Kona. We'll be back!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Condo was not the one shown online when we booked.

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: The condo has an awesome location. Short walk to downtown Kona, pool area is not extravagant but nice, and the beach is right next to the condo.
Cons: In extreme need of a renovation. The furniture, fixtures, and flooring were years past needing replaced. Not up to hotel standards of clean.
Location: As stated in what we liked, the location is great.
The condo we were given was not the one pictured. We would not have booked it if they had been. Condos should be listed individually so people know what they are committing to. We were there at a high travel time, and no other condos were available. We had to make do. The room has a physical key, but the lock is old and flimsy. You do NOT get a key to the dead bolt. Room security feels inadequate. There were maintenance issues that are easily fixed, but not addressed. The back of the toilet is broken and glued back together, the washing machine sounds like it is going to come through the wall on rinse cycle, racks in the dishwasher need replaced, fixtures were worn out. There is a Home Depot in town, really no excuse for any of this. The furniture in the entire condo was tired, sagging, and bruised. The carpet was stained and needed shampooing. The doors on the bedroom closet did not stay on the tracks. That said the patio was a great place to hang out and eat meals, and the overall location is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Kona Reef

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Location. Room was nice and clean.
Cons: Don't let a few rude people ruin other people's time at the hotel.
Nice during the day, people respectful and quiet. At night however, there were a bunch of younger people who were loud and obnoxious after the quiet hours. Would have been nice if there were security around....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best, Old, dated.

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Very dated timeshare property, ceiling had black mound where walls met. The room we had B15 had a 4 foot piece of wood to secure the windows on to the patio closed as we were only 1 floor up and at the same level as the local park where sometimes homeless people spent the night. In all fairness they never bothered us but never felt totally relaxed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: It's an older resort but they are trying to keep it up with fresh paint and nice landscaping. Easy walk into the town for happy hours and dinner, so could drink and NOT drive.
Cons: It's an older resort. Cushions on chairs on the lanai need replacing, buy new mattresses instead of adding cushions. (but the bed was comfy) In general, buy new silverware, matching glasses, etc in bulk and put them in all rooms. But, everything was ok and had extras like beach equipment and coolers.
4 out of 5
by Kathy from Wisconsin

First time near ocean on Hawaii

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
This was a very nice condo that we stayed in. Staff was friendly and amenities were nice. Do be careful of where you try to check in. There are several offices on site renting out the condos. When we arrived the main office was closed for lunch so we went to Costco and returned about 90 minutes later. Desk lady was gone again and didn’t return for about 20 minutes. She then rudely told us that we need to go to a different office. Paperwork did not say anything relating to this so do not be afraid to check the timeshare office. Once in there, everything was amazing. They staff was very friendly and accommodating. The public beach next door is dangerous and not sandy. The very first day my buddy stepped on a sea urchin and had many spines in his foot which put a damper on the trip. Be sure to use caution or bring a thick soled water shoe. Great pool and grill area and super nice condo with porch/balcony.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Hot room in a great-location condo showing its age

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: location, patio was spectacular, spacious living room area, they let us check in a little early
Cons: Bathroom needs a face-lift, new towels and sheets, new mattress on the bed, AC in the bedroom, upgrade/refresh cooking/flatware
Location: Not in on the strip but a short walk to the central Kona area restaurants, bars, etc. Beach nearby with rough serf for boogie-boarding.
We booked this because it was reasonably priced, near town, and had beach-front rooms. The condo was sort of shared between residents, time-share rentals, and hotel rentals. The unit we had was definitely showing its age: extremely soft and hard to sleep on mattress, really thin towels and sheets, sliding patio door that didn't lock. The worst part was the bedroom in the back didn't have an AC and was too far from the living room's AC or the trade breezes to keep cool. There was a thermometer in the room and it was regularly 80+ degrees which is fine for us in the day but not while sleeping. The condo staff was mostly nice. We didn't utilize the cleaning staff because the brochure was unclear whether we'd be charged an additional amount per day for this service. Internet was also an extra charge (charge for internet what century is this?). Long story short - we probably wouldn't stay here again (certainly not for a special occasion like a honeymoon) but if you're looking for a good value hotel that is nearby the town with a nice oceanfront patio, this might suffice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location and beautiful view

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel location excellent, facilities very good, rooms were clean. Overall I was very happy to stay at Kona Reef Resort.