Ratings based on 2,915 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the water and shopping.

Posted Apr 26, 2017
The hotel was sort of retro cool. It was nice to have AC in the room considering most of the island eschews AC. Didn't like the parking situation, but an overall good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Friendly staff. Spacious, clean room with comfy beds. AC is a bit louder than I'd like but it works great. The toiletries are a good quality brand I've seen in higher end hotels. Not enough parking, so if you return later in the day you may have to park around the back behind the restaurant - it's not far, but still a hassle. On the other hand the hotel is close to everything in Kona, so you can strategize by doing any driving activities in the morning then staying local in the evening and walking (or going without a car altogether). I did see two cockroaches (very briefly and separated by several days) but apparently Hawaii is full of them no matter where you go, so two shy roaches in the course of a week in an otherwise clean hotel isn't worth raising an eyebrow over. I'd still stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Parking Is Awful!!

Posted Apr 23, 2017
The parking was truly terrible :(. We paid for it and the lady said she'd move her car right out front. Turns out not true, we had to park on some restaurant 's parking. It was behind the hotel and we had to carry our luggage up all the stairs to get back to the front of the hotel. Moreover, she was just rude. Ask her any question (there's no empty parking spaces outside, can you please help? Or breakfast should be included, where should we go?) and she responded as if we were kids. The room was ok - the AC was loud and the bathroom didn't have a lock. But it was clean. And the hotel is right in the middle of everything - beach close by and restaurants around. We just needed a place to crash for a night so it'd do but if you're looking for more than that, this wouldn't be my recommendation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portland, or

Loud and gross

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Thankfully I only needed to stay here one night as we got into Kona late at night with a two year old. It's musty, super gross, and incredibly loud. Also, everyone complained about the parking situation, so expected not to find a spot, etc. But we got a spot, and they charged $5 which isn't listed anywhere. I barely interacted with the staff, but they were fine when I did. Walking through the halls feels like a mental institution. Doors are paper thin. So much noise outside of our room on the street. Maybe a nightclub or something? It was a Monday night but the party lasted until about 3. I was very grateful to have brought a sound machine which helped drown it out a touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Convenient spot

Posted Apr 18, 2017
The hotel was nice and close to several amenities. No resort fees. Nice overall!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Perfect hotel for a quick stay - great location. Staff was friendly and awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to water, most of it not accessible

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Good location and a nice place but staff weren't as inviting and the rooms pretty old, super tight. Although there were 3 (+child) of us in the room, only 2 breakfasts were included, odd. Ocean views possible from 3rd floor and above. Location is the best thing going for this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san Francisco, CA

Good location.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
They will always leave less towels than needed. The first day they cleaned they did not replace the toiletries and coffee or leave toilet paper.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

One night stop over hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Cons: Parking. Better air conditioning.
I would recommend this hotel for one night if you have an early flight out. They do not have enough parking and this is a MAJOR issue. If you come in late it is likely they will not have a parking space for you. The room was clean but not overly comfortable or well appointed. It is close to the old part of Kona and easy to get to the airport.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Adequate for our needs

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly staff
Cons: Parking, update air conditioning system and elevators
Location: In the edge of the town of Kailua, very convenient to all the stores and restaurants, a good beach and surfing
We picked this hotel for its convenient location and good rating, and in general it was a good choice. The hotel is dated, but kept well, but it did not provide on site parking. We were told that they had run out of parking for the day, even though we checked in around 4 pm, and that we could park in a public lot. That lot had a sign that cars would be towed after 2 am, and the staff said that "rarely happened". We ended up parking at another lot for a fee.