Ratings based on 2,878 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Adequate for our needs

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly staff
Cons: Parking, update air conditioning system and elevators
Location: In the edge of the town of Kailua, very convenient to all the stores and restaurants, a good beach and surfing
We picked this hotel for its convenient location and good rating, and in general it was a good choice. The hotel is dated, but kept well, but it did not provide on site parking. We were told that they had run out of parking for the day, even though we checked in around 4 pm, and that we could park in a public lot. That lot had a sign that cars would be towed after 2 am, and the staff said that "rarely happened". We ended up parking at another lot for a fee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hi

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Old building, but clean, hard working staff. Overall a good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Easy to find, comfortable stay

Posted Mar 26, 2017
The hotel was easy to find and the location was wonderful. Close proximity to many amenities. We were out for the day both days so we didn't use the pool, although it did look inviting. Would definitely stay again and recommend to family and friends.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mill Valley, ca

Budget class hotel in Kailua town.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
The location is great. The hotel is dated, but very clean and comfortable. The breakfast at Splasher's was particularly good. All in all a great experience. Expect motel type amenities and you'll be delighted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan

All the comforts of a second home

Posted Mar 25, 2017
I have enjoyed each stay at the Kona Seaside for the past five years. The staff have been thoughtful and conscientious and have genuinely helped me on more than one occasion from finding a room for me when the area of Kona is fully booked to allowing me to cancel a double booking at the last minute. Although some may look for a little more luxury, I have been more than satisfied with the cleanliness and comfort of the room (housekeeping does an impressive job), to the overall landscape and views of the ocean and mountains. In essence, I find I look forward to returning each time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to many attractions

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Good experience as usual. Only negative is parking. Not enough spaces to accommodate patrons.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel if you're on a budget

Posted Mar 23, 2017
The hotel was very clean, just very basic! The bathroom was super basic with no counter space! This is a nice enough hotel if you're on a budget but if you want to relax and have a comfy room for a weeks stay I wouldn't pick this! It it right in the middle of kona so very accessible for everything!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Close to everything, older but well-maintained, clean, spacious
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Great location!

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Nice pool, great location, friendly staff.
Cons: Noise level from street traffic is bad, but unless city comes up with bylaws concerning motorbikes etc roaring around, hotel can't fix it.
Location: Shopping, restaurants, beaches, snorkelling, luau across the street. Brewery a Block or two away.
Literally steps from beach where snorkelling is great. Lots of restaurants, stores etc. Had one complaint and it was solved immediately. No smoking laws in Hawaii so loved that!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from western australia

Close to beach and shopping

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Close to everything, comfortable and clean, good value for price