Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2017
Beautiful environment. Nice host. Delicious breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great B& B close to Volcano's National Park

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Nice B & B close to the national park. Not the easiest to find but the entire area is remote. Lori. the "innkeeper" was great. Breakfast was nice- I was told Hawaii law prohibits them from cooking you a full breakfast but she set up a great breakfast and we made our own waffles. The bed and room were comfortable. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unexpected diamond.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Host friendliness, cleanliness etc.
Cons: Hot tub open later
Location: Lava, volcano, hiking
Found this B&B somewhat by accident. We were a little nervous as we don't normally like B&B experiences. The host and facilities were excellent. So was breakfast and the advice of where to go to see the lava and volcano.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great Bed & Breakfast in Volcano

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Breakfast, friendly staff.
Coming from the Kona side, we were caught off guard by how much cooler it was in Volcano. With most of the homes not having heating or cooling, keep in mind that the home will reflect conditions outside. After wrapping our heads around this fact, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The beds have a heating pad, so you can preheat your side of the bed. The breakfast provided was delicious and the hosts were the most friendly and helpful. They even provide flashlights in your room for if you want to take a hike to see the lava. We would highly recommend staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle area

It's all about Volcanoes

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location - and breakfast was wonderful.
Cons: The Enchanted Forest room is private but it is a bit small.
Location: Great hikes (try Pu'u Huluhul. Some good food (try Café Ohelo).
If you want to spend some quality time at Volcano National Park, this is where you need to stay. In 10 minutes you can drive over to the Jagger Museum and look down upon the fountaining lava in the dark of night. And then in 10 short minutes you are back to the warmth and comfort of your room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rainforest Delight

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
Regina the hostess was awesome. Breakfast was delicious and picture perfect. Cool at night so bring a jacket. 2 miles from volcano national park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Super cozy B&B

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Like staying at someone's home with yummy breakfast and friendly hosts!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Outstanding - treated as part of the family

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: - outstanding staff reading every wish from your lips - many recommendations for sightseeing, hikes and tours - good, diverse breakfast
Location: - close the "Volcano National Park" offering a lot of great hikes, gorgeous scenery an informative museums (visitor center) - Hilo, rain fores
I spend five nights in the “Wild Ginger” room in the “Lava Pond Lodge” in December 2016. The whole stay could be described using simply one word. Fantastic!! I felt like home and being integrated in the family. The housekeepers Regina and Darius are gorgeous. You could expect a great breakfast with fresh fruits and special items every day and on top of that good chats disclosing many secrets of the island regardless if you need information about tours, sightseeing, restaurants or want to now facts about big island. The room is well equipped (fire place, large bathroom, large closet, TV and entertainment system as well as access to a fridge with complementary beverages). The atmosphere is very welcoming and even expected difficulties with late arriving (I arrived late, after 9:00 pm) were no problem at all. I could completely recommend the lodge. Besides you will be located close to the “Volcano National park” offering great hikes, museums and astonishing sceneries. Furthermore, Hilo and great nature sceneries (lush rain forest with spectacular waterfalls, old plantation land, and different natural beaches (black or even one green sand beach) are in the vicinity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellevue,WA

Good location next to Volcano NP

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Great place only 10 minutes drive from Volcano NP Wonderful host and breakfast! Minor little things to imprudent in the room: no curtains or flaps or sin was waking up very early because of the light The room is a little cold would appreciate additional blanket.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels