Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can't be beat!

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Everything! Great beach, amazing rooms, good food, excellent service.
Cons: More In-room information about services would help. There's a Bose system but no info on use. No obvious way to find the daily TV guide on the TV.
Location: Koala has the best best beaches in all The islands, and we've been to them all. Golf course looks amazing but we didn't play.
It's the nicest place we've stayed in the island. Once you're there you don't want to leave, other than to walk on the beach, maybe over to Hapuna. The hotel staff go above and beyond, and don't have their palms out - they naturally help when they can.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Beach & Rooms

Posted May 7, 2017
Everything is first class at the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Great beach, but not the Carribean of course. Probably best of all Hawaii. Food sucks. Worth staying for the beach. It's a nice place. Did not play golf so I don't know about the course.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful but more of a family health club resort

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Beautiful, but more of a family health club resort. We were staying for our honeymoon after a destination wedding on Oahu. We were disappointed to have broken air conditioning for 2 days, with out any accommodations or apologies from the staff. I booked nearly a year before our stay and informed the staff it was our honeymoon. Staff assured me the experience would be specialized and all servers would know why we were there, so we could be seated in more private sections, but no of this happened. Overall very expensive for average service and below standard accommodations. The beach was beautiful, but then again what part of Hawaii isn't. We will not be staying at this resort again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brentwood, Tn.

A lovely hotel with gorgeous beach .Great service.

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: good restaurants and bars with great location and gorgeous beach
Location: well located on Kohala coast..
excellent experience with very good food in the restaurants. There is a beautiful beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Honeymoon Paradise

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Best Beach & Best Luau show on the island!!! Very friendly and helpful manager & staff, Beautiful hotel, Wonderful service. A paradise in paradise !!
Cons: Would have loved to see some affordable gifts at the shops, extended beach/pool and bar/food hours, and some romantic couples activities!
Location: Perfect secluded location on the Kona side of the island, not too far from Kona airport, Kona town, and Waimea valley. Best beach on the island !!!
I am out of words to describe how fabulous and perfect Mauna Kea Beach Hotel is! My husband and I stayed here for a week for our honeymoon in January(perfect weather). The very welcoming lei greeting by the staff, beautiful koi ponds, mesmerizing ocean views from our room & bath, gorgeous landscapes, Oceanside pool, gym & tennis courts, unique and traditional artwork & décor, pristine private beach, mouth-watering food, amazing cocktails, manta ray lookout, beautiful flora, and even parrots - this hotel is the "perfect" Hawaiian experience. Very relaxing, secluded, and peaceful resort - ideal for honeymooners! As far as surprises: we not only got a bottle of champagne waiting for us when we checked into our room and free desserts at the Manta and Copper bar, but also one day late checkout at no cost and an invitation to a wine reception. A huge thank you to the manager, Kansas, who was very friendly, kind, accommodating, and made us feel so special. Each restaurant has breathtaking views and a different vibe and chefs; hence making each experience unique. Amy (concierge) was awesome. She made sure we got tables with the best views at the restaurants! Fun fact - This was the first hotel on this island. I can't emphasize enough how glad we are that we did not choose any over-crowded "big name" hotels and found this hidden gem. Absolutely cannot wait to go back for some Mauna Kea MAGIC again!!! I definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Nice hotel, close very nice white sand beach

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: view, food, service
Cons: one old female staff in Manta restaurant is not nice, lie to us and reluctant to provide service. Others are very nice.
Location: near airport, hoping centre, big island shave ice
We stayed there for 5 nights, very beautiful view. It's very nice have b'fast there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Paradise, Luxury, Relaxation

Posted Dec 21, 2016
These are the words that come to mind thinking back about our recent stay at Mauna Kea. Very well maintained property, quiet and efficient staff, beautiful beach and surroundings. Pricey but to be expected considering it is Hawaii and taking into account the hotel's history. It is very isolated, so having a car is highly recommended. Overall, an unforgettable experience and we would gladly come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA.

Great access to water and exclusive

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Quiet and private
Cons: Needs updating, at 50 years old it is time
Location: Discovering the small towns and art, scenic drives,and the Mauna Lani shopping center
Great room , restaurant and entertainment in lobby. Great waking beach,swimming and surfing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over rated older hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
We booked a garden view room which turned out to be extremely noisy. The ventilating system on the roof of the golf club house made so much noise that we did not enjoy our balcony. Constant traffic from service vehicles added to the noise pollution. The Copper restaurant was a disappointment with high prices for very small and common place servings. The very loud amplified entertainment also added to the noise pollution issues. We could clearly hear that music through the closed door in out eighth floor room. The room layout though large, was not practical. The closet space was a long way from the dresser. The menu at the main restaurant was very ordinary so we did not try it. We ate most of our meals away from the hotel. We booked based on reputation and were very disappointed in our stay.