Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brentwood, Tn.

A lovely hotel with gorgeous beach .Great service.

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: good restaurants and bars with great location and gorgeous beach
Location: well located on Kohala coast..
excellent experience with very good food in the restaurants. There is a beautiful beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Honeymoon Paradise

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Best Beach & Best Luau show on the island!!! Very friendly and helpful manager & staff, Beautiful hotel, Wonderful service. A paradise in paradise !!
Cons: Would have loved to see some affordable gifts at the shops, extended beach/pool and bar/food hours, and some romantic couples activities!
Location: Perfect secluded location on the Kona side of the island, not too far from Kona airport, Kona town, and Waimea valley. Best beach on the island !!!
I am out of words to describe how fabulous and perfect Mauna Kea Beach Hotel is! My husband and I stayed here for a week for our honeymoon in January(perfect weather). The very welcoming lei greeting by the staff, beautiful koi ponds, mesmerizing ocean views from our room & bath, gorgeous landscapes, Oceanside pool, gym & tennis courts, unique and traditional artwork & décor, pristine private beach, mouth-watering food, amazing cocktails, manta ray lookout, beautiful flora, and even parrots - this hotel is the "perfect" Hawaiian experience. Very relaxing, secluded, and peaceful resort - ideal for honeymooners! As far as surprises: we not only got a bottle of champagne waiting for us when we checked into our room and free desserts at the Manta and Copper bar, but also one day late checkout at no cost and an invitation to a wine reception. A huge thank you to the manager, Kansas, who was very friendly, kind, accommodating, and made us feel so special. Each restaurant has breathtaking views and a different vibe and chefs; hence making each experience unique. Amy (concierge) was awesome. She made sure we got tables with the best views at the restaurants! Fun fact - This was the first hotel on this island. I can't emphasize enough how glad we are that we did not choose any over-crowded "big name" hotels and found this hidden gem. Absolutely cannot wait to go back for some Mauna Kea MAGIC again!!! I definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Nice hotel, close very nice white sand beach

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: view, food, service
Cons: one old female staff in Manta restaurant is not nice, lie to us and reluctant to provide service. Others are very nice.
Location: near airport, hoping centre, big island shave ice
We stayed there for 5 nights, very beautiful view. It's very nice have b'fast there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Paradise, Luxury, Relaxation

Posted Dec 21, 2016
These are the words that come to mind thinking back about our recent stay at Mauna Kea. Very well maintained property, quiet and efficient staff, beautiful beach and surroundings. Pricey but to be expected considering it is Hawaii and taking into account the hotel's history. It is very isolated, so having a car is highly recommended. Overall, an unforgettable experience and we would gladly come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA.

Great access to water and exclusive

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Quiet and private
Cons: Needs updating, at 50 years old it is time
Location: Discovering the small towns and art, scenic drives,and the Mauna Lani shopping center
Great room , restaurant and entertainment in lobby. Great waking beach,swimming and surfing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over rated older hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
We booked a garden view room which turned out to be extremely noisy. The ventilating system on the roof of the golf club house made so much noise that we did not enjoy our balcony. Constant traffic from service vehicles added to the noise pollution. The Copper restaurant was a disappointment with high prices for very small and common place servings. The very loud amplified entertainment also added to the noise pollution issues. We could clearly hear that music through the closed door in out eighth floor room. The room layout though large, was not practical. The closet space was a long way from the dresser. The menu at the main restaurant was very ordinary so we did not try it. We ate most of our meals away from the hotel. We booked based on reputation and were very disappointed in our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 26, 2016
great, will definitely book again! everything was as describe, good staff, great views, great rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Most Amazing resort!

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
Probably the best resort we have stayed in, in all our travels & we have been around! We were upgraded to the beach front suite which was absolutely stunning, luxurious & very very spacious, not to mention the ocean views & sounds of waves crashing to put you to sleep each night. The private beach is superb & like the resort itself is not overcrowded like many other mainstream resorts.i would come back in a heart beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Friendly attentive staff, good food isolated location and a beautiful beach
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in the world!

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
Most amazingly beautiful place with impeccable comfort and service...only thing not perfect is that the price is beyond our means for all but a very special occasion...Spent our honeymoon here in 1972 and have come back for significant anniversaries since..Never disappointed!