Ratings based on 1,293 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Lovely spot, not too resort-y

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The staff, the pools, beach, sunsets, location. All wonderful!
Cons: The food and the beds :)
Spent a lovely few days here with my husband and toddler. The staff were wonderful, sunsets epic, snorkeling beautiful, and experiences unforgettable. I am not a resort person, but this one was really reasonable. Or maybe I never saw how big it actually was! The food was not the best - ate from the poolside bar, breakfast buffet, room service, and the Sunday night crab feast. And the bed was wildly uncomfortable. But I can't tell you how kind all the staff were. For a resort I was shocked to see and interact with the same people daily, and be remembered. Pamela, specifically, who checked us in and out was so lovely and accommodating. The pools and hot tubs were amazing, the ocean was just incredible. I will never forget witnessing a sea turtle right offshore, munching on algae. I'm so grateful for the wonderful vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Great place to stay. I was overwhelmed by the wonderful service provided by the staff . Very friendly and helpful people . Facilities are very nice and the food was also very good . I would for sure plan to go back .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing it was like have five resorts all in one!

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Wonderful place for vacation! Paradise! All you will ever want or need! The spa was amazing and a one time WATER therapy called watsu in a lava tube found no where else! Loved this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Loved the room & the grounds. Beautiful area & helpful staff. Beach and pool area very nice-lots of beach chairs & cabanas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Tranquil Hawaii Resort

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Location was in a beautiful garden/beach setting, long walking paths, nice pool, pretty beach, breakfast buffet, fantastic staff. Fitness center.
Location: The hotel location is beautiful and shares the property with another upscale hotel, golf club, condos. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby.
Mauna Lani is a modern resort set on very special historic, landscaped grounds, on the beach. Our large room was very pretty, impeccably clean, and comfortable with a seating area, bar and frig to hold snacks and drinks. The room had a fantastic view with large balcony, overlooking gardens and ponds, the beach and beyond, the turquoise ocean. Miles of walks along the shore and through natural, landscaped ancient ponds. The beach is a horseshoe shape with breakers on each side and calm. crystal clear water. The hotel is a nice size. Not over run with crowds of people. Free covered seating by the beach, free bikes to use, snorkel gear. Golf course/club on site, daily fitness classes, activities, kayaks, paddle boards for rent. Plenty of tours and optional activities available if you choose to do them. Nice bar by the pool and ocean side dining. Shops and restaurants nearby. We bought our snacks and drinks at a nearby grocery and sat out to watch the sunset and ceremonial torch lighting and listen to live Hawaiian music in the evening. A sumptuous breakfast buffet of every food imaginable was included in our package every day, outdoor dining overlooking the garden. Nice pool, great separate fitness center with additional lap pool, spa. Yoga on the beach. Fantastic staff. Pretty quiet, serene, not a lot of action at night which was fine with us. Just a really lovely place to unwind in total comfort and Hawaiian beauty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Excellent vacation resort

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Outdoor facilities and overall environmnet.
Cons: Hotel is huge. If there could be more signs, that would hep us get around to more places.
Location: 30 minute to airport. Hapuna Beach State Park which has a super nice beach is five minutes drive ($5 parking fee). Waipio Valley is 1 hour drive north
The hotel is about 30 minutes north of Kona Airport and immediately adjacent to the beach (although the beach is a little rough for swimming). The outdoor facilities are perfect for family vacation and very children-friendly -- apart from the swimming pool, there are three spas of different depth and temperature. They are open 24x7. There are plenty of lounge chairs around the pool and the staff change towels regularly. Near the beach, there are hammocks for free use. The hotel has restaurants of its own, a small culture center and a business center (although I didn't use the later two). A live band plays in the lobby every evening. There are different programs, i.e. morning yoga class -- a pity that I was too lazy to explore and just found my comfort on the room balcony or in and by the pool / spas. The hotel design and decoration is very tropical and has high taste. Some room hardware, i.e. vanity countertop, is however, a little outdated, but I guess the hotel was built several years ago, and the upkeep was quite good. In the same resort area, about five minutes drive away, there are restaurants and shops. Hotel staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient. We felt welcome and relaxing in this environment. Stayed for two nights, and really wanted to stay a little longer. Hope to return here for vacation another time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Location: Kind of far from Kona airport...about $75-80 each way by taxi. Also, kind of far from major sites like Volcanoes National Park. Hilo would be closer.
Had a fantastic experience. Food and drinks are pricey, but that's to be expected in resorts on the islands. We arrived around 11 am or so, before check-in time, so our room wasn't ready. We went to the poolside cafe/bar to get lunch and within just a few minutes the hotel called to say they put us in a different room that was ready, because we're Expedia VIP customers and got free internet and a better room (i.e., better view of the sunset). Very nice property, steps from the beach, close to the golf course, and resort shuttle that takes you to various places on the property (but not the airport).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice and comfortable. Seen better, seen worse.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
This is a good hotel, we really enjoyed our stay and overall I would recommend this resort. There are signs however of lack of investment coming though. Walls in the communal areas looking a litte patchy, wear and tear visible on fixtures and fittings etc. They just need to stay on top of this otherwise it could spoil the overall experience before too long. Three additional suggestion would also be 1) Use the main atrium for something a bit more dramatic like a bar. At the moment it just has a load of trees and some cheap looking chairs. In the evening some small entertainment with no audience as it's not a place guests go. Non of this adds to the hotel. It just looks like they are filling empty space. 2) All the restaurants should stay open until at least 10. The fact nearly all stop serving by 8 kind of cuts your evening short. 3) I'm not a decorator so I don't know what the solution is but the hallways for the rooms look like your entering low rent social housing. The rooms are fine when you enter them but first impressions count and at the moment the impression is bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, good location

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: nice hotel, nice beach
Cons: probably improve their restaurant's food quality
Location: good location, surrounded by a lot of restaurants.
of course it is not a cheap hotel. but when you visit there you will think. it worth it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Rochester Hills MI

Beautiful Beach - nice hotel - family friendly.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Family vacation. Spent 4 nights of 10 in this hotel. Beach setting is very nice.