Ratings based on 4,132 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great ocean view

Posted May 26, 2017
The beds were not comfortable. There was body hair in the shower that was not ours. Kind of disappointed
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Faded Elegance.

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Refurbished room was good except for balcony area which badly needed new outdoor carpet. In-room safe was nice. Garden areas were well maintained.
Cons: Overall facility needs much maintenance. Very disappointed to find little improvement since last stay at this property approximately 10 years ago.
Location: Great access to downtown shops and restaurants.
Okay but found hotel, accept for refurbished room, in poor condition. Given its location, this property should be much better. When it first opened it must have been grand. Pool, bar, and restaurant hours need to be extended. Restaurant food is average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto

Great people, good location, stunning views

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Location, amenities
Cons: Rooms are very nice, but could use upgrading
Booked this for my dad who loves staying at this property. He purchased the corner suite, which he says is just stunning - gorgeous room, terrific views. The staff had to book him in an outer building the first night, but moved him for the rest of his 9 day stay to the main tower, as they say it is a little less noisy at night (music from another property, not theirs, can be an issue). This wasn't his request, I thought it was really nice of them to consider what he might prefer. He was able to watch the nightly luau festivities on the beach from his balcony, and look out over the sea, and just loved it. Only issue on the trip: he had a bad fall slipping in the tub/shower - which evidently has no rubber mat, no grab bars. So - due for an upgrade! But the staff was very solicitous of him, came quickly to help, followed up to make sure he is okay. I get the feeling they are not just worried about repercussions (and of course they would be) but are genuinely nice people who care about their guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Views!

Posted May 13, 2017
I have stayed with the Royal Kona in the past and did return because of the views. I think that the rules are a bit strict. We were sitting on the ledge by the water and we're asked to leave. Security proceeded to follow us until we were back in our room. We felt like children who were made to go inside by our mothers. We were not disturbing anybody being loud or causing any trouble and they were very rude. Also the restaurant is EXTREMELY expensive eat somewhere else if you are on a budget. Overall it is a great place to stay the views make everything else tolerable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pennsylvania

Posted May 8, 2017
I like this hotel and this is the second time I have come but I was extremely disappointed to find cockroachs in the room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Great Location, but needs updating

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Location; On the Ocean
Cons: Very dated and old
Location: Walking distance to many restaurants
The hotel is in a great location, but is in serious need of updating. The whole property looks tired, from the rooms to the ocean-side restaurant. We booked an Ocean-View room. After a long day of travelling, our Ocean View room came with loud music coming from a restaurant across the street. Even with the lanai door closed we could still hear it! Asked to be relocated to a different room. Only one available was a parking-lot view, but at least it was quiet. The staff was gracious enough to refund us the difference in the room rates. Overall I would not stay at this hotel again until it gets a major facelift. At least not for the price we paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2017
The location was perfect in terms of distance from airport, distance to town and restaurants. The facilities were great. Would definitely return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, great for weddings

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Staff were friendly.
Cons: Sound proofing room.
Location: Right near the main tourist drag of Kona so lots of restaurants and places to check out.
I'm saying that it's great for weddings because the wedding party seemed to be going pretty strongly until it ended. The rooms have very little sound insulation and the party had a very powerful sound system; I'm sure some of the guests had tinnitus the next morning. Overall the room was reasonable, if a little bit older. The location, however, was quite amazing for anyone who wants to check out Kona without driving. All they need to do is setup a bike rental system and you might be able to get away with a short vacation without a car. Which, for anyone who's been the big island, knows is nearly impossible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2017
Great return stay (nearly 10 years later) at this gorgeous hotel! Always love the mai tais, pool and lagoon, andfrwat location with so much to do! :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: has a great feel about it.
grand charm from the 70's. lovely position right on the rocky waterfront. we got the see the dance show and hear the music from our balcony. carpark was handy and all at ground level close by.