Ratings based on 4,062 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Location, pool, lobby, bar.
Cons: Rooms need updating.
Location: The town of Kona is in walking distance.
This hotel needs a body-lift. It's run down. But I like the location and price. It's clean and comfortable. The lobby area is a great place to get out of the Sun and relax reading a book. The pool is nice, but no poolside service, the bar is close by. Views from the rooms are great. It's a short walk to town. There is a fun restaurant next door called Huggo's on The Rocks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

NIce hotel with beautiful views

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: very beautiful grounds and comfortable communal areas.
Cons: From our room the luau twice a week was a bit invasive on our peace.
Location: Lovely position on the edge of town so very easy to walk in for restaurants, shops etc. definitely on the best side of the island for weather patterns
Good pool and bar area. Shame the very small protected beach area was out of bounds for a few days due to rough sea. Good but expensive breakfast but close to an ABC store where you could buy less extravagant breakfast items. Room was large with a good balcony and serviced very well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Great pool and wonderful staff.

Posted Mar 23, 2017
We stayed in a corner king room and is was spacious and comfortable. My teens loved the pool and it was right in the middle of Ali drive. I had no troubles at all. The breakfast buffet was good. Our trip was effortless on my end.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wasilla, Alaska

Were in tower by town, to noisy from bands until 2

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Grounds, staff, pool area, close walking distance to Kona.
Cons: Overall maintenance.
Location: Expedia had an office in the lobby and tour buses and trolly picked up at hotel entrance. Short walk to great food and shops. Island Circle Tour good
Kona has grown since last visit 10 years ago. We were in the tower by the bay and town on the 5th floor so 3 outside bands kept us up every night to 2AM. Room and inside of building needs maintenance and repair. Room clean, loved the pool and grounds. Luau was great fun and food. Staff were very nice and helpful. Would stay again if room was in the far tower and the rates were right. Walked to great food, snorkel rental, and shops. Problems with parking spaces available but had one each night. Need free internet and parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Nice Hotel with own lagoon, oceanfront

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: old Hawaiian style design- lobby is beautiful- waterfalls, Hawaiian prints, etc
Cons: needs some paint and repair, new chair covers in lobby , etc. just a general spruce up
Location: within walking distance to restaurants and sites
everything was great, treated us special because celebrating anniversary,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Location, Location, Location

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Great location, excellent staff and food.
Cons: Tell customers ahead of time about the renovations you are doing to your hotel.
Location: Everything in Kona town is closed to this hotel.
This is a modest hotel in a prime location on the water in Kona town. It is walkable to everything in Kona, shopping, bars, restaurants. Have stayed here several times. Has excellent food, great lounge, coffee shop and pool all on the water. Normally, I would rate the hotel higher than I did this trip but the tower I stayed in was undergoing renovations that interfered with a restful stay. The hotel needs the upgrades but when you are paying a high price for a modest room you expect that you will be able to enjoy your stay. Construction crews where everywhere, yelling at each other from different floors of the hotel, on the elevators with bins of debris, parking their carts blocking the entrance to our tower, building materials everywhere. The lock system was changed on my son's room without notice. We just came home after dinner and the lock was changed which meant we had to go all the way to the front desk in another tower to get a new key. A notice about all the locks being changed was slipped under people's door the next day. It is a shame that customers are not told that the hotel is undergoing renovations when they book. They are charging top dollar for the room which is outrageous when you are inconvenienced in this way. Too bad as the staff is excellent and it has always been one of my favorite places to stay. If you choose to book this hotel in the near future ask about renovations and ask to stay in a different tower that is not undergoing renovations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh , PA

Great location

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Location Location Location
Cons: Dated look of rooms and hotel hallways
Location: Walk to town, everything is close. All other resort hotels are isolated.
Great location, walk to town and restaurants. Beautiful site, great sunsets from room or restaurant. Room furnishings somewhat dated but clean. Expedia desk at hotel great help planning tours.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Less noise in the immediate area (air conditioning, generators)
Location: Walking distance to shops, restaurants
Great location, clean room, however air conditioning very loud which caused a restless sleep
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Good location

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: The bar and restaurant areas were enjoyable. Ocean views with crashing surf was relaxing and interesting to watch.
Cons: Rooms could absolutely be updated and fresh paint is needed everywhere from rooms to hallways to elevators. Lots of bumps, bangs, scratches, dirt, etc
Location: Walking distance to boat activities, restaurants, shopping, local market and amenities.
Walking distance for restaurants, shopping, and amenities. Wonderful views of coastline and mountains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Beautiful location, views!

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Everything! I'll definitely be back!
Cons: The pool is small but the lagoon more than makes up for it. The lagoon is subject to being closed during high surf but keep checking with staff.
Location: Kona has the best shopping and restaurants! Breakfast at Bongo Ben's (macademia banana pancakes are awesome), Umeke's for fish or Poke.
I was here ten years ago, the hotel was good then and is even better this time! We had a corner king oceanview and the experience was fantastic! The patio was enormous and wrapped around to include the ocean and the bay. The proximity to all that Kona has to offer is a definite plus, with music from multiple venues there to experience from your balcony every evening. Swimming and snorkeling in the lagoon is wonderful, especially for a novice snorkeler or someone who hasn't been in the water for a while to get their swimming 'legs!' I love the luau! Very Ohana! I may consider staying in a mountainside room next time to have a quieter, more zen experience (since I am out and about all the time anyway).