Ratings based on 2,163 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Beautiful location but needs a facelift

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Great location, staff was great but the hotel needs updating. Rooms are dated but clean. Extremely noisy if your room is in the near the beginning of the wings facing as noise echoes from the central pool. Could use more food options on property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nevada

Nice hotel with a wonderful view

Posted Jul 24, 2017
My husband and I only stayed one night for the luau but it was wonderful. We got to the hotel 3 hours earlier than check in, and the front desk gal was extremely helpful and got us a room right away! It was a garden view room and the view was beautiful. Pool and slide and bar were very fun. Only downside is that the hallway for the rooms was pretty open and so you could here everyone walking/yelling by the room. Water pressure was a tad weak but nothing terrible. Would recommend to anyone staying here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Kona vacations

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Nothing great but nothing to complain about. Nice staff, good location. Restaurant was closed for renovation and almost zero water activities. No beach but almost the same everywhere in' Kona
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas city, missouri

Greatest Honeymoon Hotel Ever

Posted Jul 19, 2017
I loved the ocean view and wish me and my wife could be in that room forever. Friendly service and we got to ride the trolley for free to different places which saved us from renting a car. The staff is very helpful and the only thing we had to pay for was food of course and a shuttle back to the airport. I recommend anyone who stays here to purchase the beautiful ocean view suites.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good location

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location and setting
Cons: Bathrooms and elevators
The Sheraton is in need of an update. While the location is beautiful the hotel is a bit tired. Our room was comfortable however the bathrooms need renovating. Old style shower curtain bath uninviting not to mention a problem with hot water. On arrival we were informed of a water problem that would be fixed over night. We experienced poor hot water quality for the three nights of our stay. On checking out we discovered a $30.00 a day amenities charge. We were informed that this was for use of the pool, gym, wifi, Internet. Maybe I'm out of touch but aren't amenities covered under room rate when you make your initial booking. Perhaps this should be disclosed online when advertising room rates that there are hidden extras. I would not call use of a pool an extra!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Staff except the pool guy. The hotel is fun.
Cons: Clean carpets better and shower didn't work in our room and had brown water. There is cocking specks in shower that should be scrapped off.
Location: Keauhou speaks for itself.
Overall our experience was wonderful. We had a few issues but the front desk staff handled excellent. The only bad staff was the pool guy on July 13th, 2017 around noon. He was rude to my guest and not nice..zero costumer service. He even didn't give me a town whom I was the one who paid for everything and the only adult. He was rude to me aswell. Not acceptable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from reno

Good ocean view

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Cool lava formations lots of flys and birds in the restaurants pool was great drinks expensive good snorkeling in the bay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from e.g. , los Angeles

I'm not recommended to stay in this Hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
room sticking , others guests food left in refrigerator. The Maid never cleaned up. Big pink stain on the carpet as you walk in . Big cockroach around . We check out 2 days early In the bill we found out they charged for parking. We didn't have car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

A very good hotel for families

Posted Jul 8, 2017
The Sheraton Kona was the perfect choice for taking our 9 yr old grandson on a 4 night stay. He spent a great deal of time in the pools, and there were many other children in the pools as well, therefore he made lots of friends. We also enjoyed the game room several times as well. We appreciated the poolside bistro, didn't need to leave the pool at all! They have recreational activities scheduled throughout the day, I suggest you double check to be sure your chosen activity has not been canceled. Beautiful sunsets. This resort is not on a swimming beach, and it's not right in the heart of Kona. But we easily found other restaurants, shopping, and beaches by driving down the road a bit. The front desk is very friendly and accommodating. Be prepared to pay for the resort fee, parking, and the little extras. Overall a very good resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Did not have hot water. Was told it was a boiler issue and was to be worked on that week but no hot water when we left on sunday. So with that said the room rate was to much. Also skimpy on towels. Otherwise a good ocean view with the Sun setting each night.