Ratings based on 2,126 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2017
Beautiful setting and grounds. Will stay there again on my next trip
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in good location

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Location and amenities
Cons: Elevator was out one day and we were on the seventh floor
This is a very nice hotel. It is conveniently located to get to attractions. They also have a complimentary shuttle so you would not have to drive if you didn't want to
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel next to the beach

Posted May 22, 2017
Everything was great. Room was lovely. The only part we did not like was that the wait staff at Rays by the Bay restaurant were not very friendly. Service there was not great. All other staff at the other food areas were very attentive and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

we really enjoyed the hotel, hotel staff and locat

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: I loved the area. Quiet location, but lots of things to do not having to drive to far. Volcano National Park, 2 Step snorkeling, the absolutely fabul
Cons: No charging for parking. Lower the costs for equipment rental (snorkel gear) as we already pay a usage fee per day. and not so pricey for meals and dr
Location: watching manta rays from the hotel, snorkel, eat where the locals eat, ...Lau Lau at Super J's, Manago Hotel for chops and fish
staff are exceptional. Room was large and comfortable, with a partcial mountain and ocean view balcony. we ate at Rays, pricey food and drink but very good. We rented a cabana at the pool for a day with the package deal and enjoyed it completely, wonderful meals, wonderful drinks and gorgeous view. Only item was the service - we had to go up to the bar to order drinks and lunch. Alexander and Stacy at the towel and rentals at pool are FABULOUS!! Helpful, friendly, smiling and take the time to know you! Hotel is older, but clean and comfortable. NOW, that being said. Paying $15 a day for parking AND $30 a day use fee is a little over board. Guests should at least be able to PARK for free. The classes that Rolinda Bean teaches are so much fun. (and free) we just LOVE this Lady. She loves her home, and her heritage and it shows when she talks. two of our party took her Ukeleli lessons, 4 of us the hula lessons, and 2 of us making Leis. Those three people I mentioned make me and our group wanting to return!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Booked 2 rooms both rooms plumbing didn't work

Posted May 16, 2017
Stood here for the second time in the past year two completely different experiences. Bath tub clogged up first day had to all shower and get ready in the second room we booked 2nd day the toilet went in the other room had to share toilet. Other than that everything else was ok. My biggest complaint has to be the restaurant never have I ever felt discriminated against like that we made reservations went down early to the bar area and asked if anything was open could we be seated we sat there for 2 and a half hours and watched about 12 tables sit there unoccupied and even pointed it out and asked. then when we sat down the waiter came took our order and never seen him again no table settings and a stack of menus on our table and I watched him go to other tables 5-6 times had to get up and take settings off another table it's a shame because I brought my mother for Mother's Day and told her all these great things to have this happen I guess it is what it is last time I stay at this hotel or a Sheraton in general
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Great Stay at a wonderful hotel

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: staff, amenities, location
Cons: bathrooms could be updated
Location: manta ray tour
We were visiting Hawaii on our honeymoon this past week, and we had a wonderful stay at the Sheraton in Kona. The staff was wonderful, particularly Erin, who checked us in and started the whole stay off on a great note. They gave us a cute shell lei and drink tickets since we were celebrating our honeymoon and made sure to make us feel very welcome. The hotel ammenities were amazing-- great pools that are open 24/7, an awesome water slide, cool activities and a game room. Located not too far from the main town on a beautiful bay. We had a great view from our oceanfront room.There isn't really a beach to speak of, but you can drive into town for that. The pool was good enough for us here. The room was comfortable and clean-- only complaint is that the bathrooms are a little dated. I really really wish we had another day to spend, because the manta ray dive that happens right outside the hotel sounds like a life-changing experience. We were sad the spa was completely booked, but we should have planned ahead (it was mother's day after all). Gives us a reason to come back :) And we will definitely stay at the Sheraton again when we return. Erin, we hope you are still the smiling face that greets us when we do :)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Totally not worth the amount we spend to stay here

Posted May 12, 2017
So there are different types of rooms here. Rooms with partial ocean view, rooms with ocean view and rooms with ocean facing view. We payed to extra to get a room with ocean view. This is just a freaking scam. We barely had any ocean view, it was mostly a garden view. When asked the staff about it they said we had one of the best ocean views in that category, if we wanted a better view we have to upgrade to the ocean view which was another 70$ extra a day. And you have to pay about 35$/day resort fees for stuff you do not even get to use. On top of this, the hotel is nothing like it looks in the pictures. It is pretty old and is about 20-25 to Ali'i drive which is where you find most restaurants. The only good thing is the concierge serve they have. They were very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from canada

Hotel with history and close to downtown shops

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: The staff and location of the hotel and amenities..pool was fantastic
Cons: The musty smell and the restaurant cushions were not in some seats cause they got wet but we were still seated there. Not impressed
Location: We were able to take a trolley or car we had rented into town for the day shopping and taking in the local historical buildings. National parks
We had a lovely stay at the Sheraton resort and found the rooms very large and clean. There was a musty smell and our beds were not too comfy. But the smell could be from the weather earlier from the rain. The staff were exceptionally pleasant and welcoming. We were great full to meet Rolinda where she told us stories of Hawaiian culture and traditions during the lai making and bracelets and tour of the hotel grounds. Aloha mahalo
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington

older hotel...but nice

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Great views, very friendly staff
Cons: More in hotel options for dining
We had a very nice stay, however our first room had a problem with the hot water...like there wasn't any ☹️ But Veronica at the front desk was very helpful and our new room was great!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing ocean view

Posted May 9, 2017
My visit and stay was amazing. And deff would recommend again