Ratings based on 2,062 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Pool, Wonderful Staff, Awesome view

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: the staff was alert and attentive, the pool was great, the view was wonderful to wake up to every morning
Cons: more signage on where and how to get to locations. the architecture and hotel layout is A-symmetrical and unique architecture.
Location: its Hawaii... enough said
Had the best Vacation staying at this Hotel. Great Pool, Wonderful Staff, Awesome view
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

nice hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: comfortable setting and building
Cons: add a chair to the room
Location: just a short drive to town and a shopping center very close as are a couple of small beaches
easy to find location with spectacular views. Nice enough room, but only had 1 chair and 2 beds, limited seating. The ocean front room had a nice balcony only feet from the edge of the lava. This hotel has a very nice well kept pool with a very large slide, but lacks any beach very close, a thing to keep in mind on this island. Also it is a fairly long drive to most of the sites on the island, expect to drive or take fairly long tours.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Not a typical Sheraton.

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Old hotel that needs to be updated. The bathroom fixtures were extremely old. The bathroom smelled moldy. The room was never really cleaned properly. Dirt and dust on the old outdated carpeting. No room service and the restaurant food was not very good and was overpriced. We always stay at the Sheraton. Disappointed with this stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great views, but lacking customer service.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
I had to call six times before I got to the front desk person. There was no answer each time before. Check-in process was not congenial, no smiles, no hospitality. Amenities were not explained. Property was beautifully located, but staff were not friendly. We visited the pool, pool bar, rental equipment, front desk for general inquiries and the only employees that showed any welcome or friendliness was Matt at valet (extremely warm and at your service) and our housekeeping attendant 3/19. No aloha spirit for such a beautiful property.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Couldn't get hot water for four days. Routine maintenance on day three of our stay led to only luke warm water for the next four days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Viscount, Sask.

Very beautiful resort

Posted Mar 18, 2017
We loved our choice of resort for our stay on The Big Island of Hawaii. Food at all three eating places was excellent. There was only the one restaurant for Dinner and you usually needed a reservation. There was one restaurant at poolside for lunch. Two open for breakfast. Service at front desk was awesome. Debra at the front desk at check in was fantastic. Loved our stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean Comfortable and Close to Snorkeling

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Location! Nice Staff, Clean
Cons: More Hawaiian art, artifacts and activities. The interior courtyard is a little bereft of
Location: Most of the activities other than snorkeling and kayaking are in Kona - so need a car or taxi to get around.
Stayed for Two days/nights. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable and the garden view rooms are pretty quiet. The grounds are large - good for walking around after dinner. Being on the coast is a real treat - views of the sunset, and whales /dolphins if you are lucky. Enjoyed the access to the ocean for snorkeling from the north part of the property. The pools and water slide are great for children - even us big ones :) The luau was fun. Meals are pricey - but that is Hawaii.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF, CA

nice ocean views.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
The hotel was in a great location, great views! but the staff was not very attentive. They didn't clean our room the first day so we had to call every day to get It cleaned. We forgot a few toiletries and called to have them delivered to our room, staff never showed up. no room service. That was a big deal for us. Hotel rooms are outdated and pillows are awful to sleep on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Beautiful grounds

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Didn't spend much time at the hotel, but the grounds were beautiful. Lots of history there and signs explaining what things are and what they mean. Bathrooms in room could use some updating. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Can watch manta rays swimming in ocean from Rays on the Bay restaurant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Gorgeous facilities, extremely dated rooms

Posted Mar 9, 2017
We loved the pool area, hotel restaurant (although brunch is overpriced at $28/person buffet), and lobby area of this hotel. I had read prior to our stay that the rooms were dated, but what we found was surprisingly bad. The hotel is very clean, but rooms are in desperate need of a remodel. I thought the lumpy beds, very old tile in the bathrooms, and old wood paneling on the guest room walls was uncharacteristic of a Sheraton hotel. I would recommend the Marriott Waikoloa over this in the future as they are just completing a comprehensive remodel of all guest rooms.